We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable trip!”
Review of Porta Del Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porta Del Mare
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spent a week at Porta del mare and I did not want to leave! The place is amazing! right on the ocean with also a pool and hot tub! The rooms are realy nice and I also really like the style of the place! It was such a fun trip! It felt like a family right from the first day!
I will defenetly come back again next year but for longer this time! ;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Andree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have been to Porta Del Mare from July 30th to August 13th and did not want to go back home! I will not forget those vacations, ever! Claudia and Annie are the greatest hosts in the world! They will show you around if you ask them to or provide names of good places to go depending on what you feel like. Furthermore, the units are nice and cozy.

You want to kitesurf, the beach is right in front of you. This is the best spot! You feel like surfing? You are at 5 min by cab/car from Encuentro beach, You feel like having a drink, a snack or a nice dinner, you will find several bars and restaurants nearby, right on the beach. You can get there by walking on the beach or I suggest the experience of taking a motoconcho who will drive you to your destination with pleasure. Also a "must" in Cabarete, horsebackriding on the beach or in the mountains. Magic!

Those vacations were unforgettable! I intend to go back soon and visit my new friends again. Count on me!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danièle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The best choice to by on vacation and the best quality / price..... Dont miss it....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mireilletremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Porta Del Mare......Amazing place for all kind of vacations that you wanna past here a Cabarete!!! You are right on the spot for the kitesurfing....!!! Walking little bit on the beach, and you arrive in the downtown of Cabarete with all the restos and bars....The place is beautiful...Appartements are nice and very clean. You have to most perfect view in the backyard with the pools and the beach!!!! Let the wind tell you the secret of the perfect life here!! I here since may 28th, and all it's soooooooooooooooooo nice!!! Great people here, nice mood...relaxe and enjoy!!! Come see all that soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I've stayed here multiple times. This place is ideal for kitesurfers and beachcombers alike. Porta Del Mar is centrally located to the downton area and the local surfing beach; making it a convenient place to stay. During the day you are in the midst of the daytime activities. And at night you asre only a short moto ride or beach walk from town. You don't always have to be on the move. Porta Del Mare is located directly on the ocean; meaning the waves roll right up to the sea wall. There are 2 main pools and a BBQ as well as bunch of lounge chairs. The place is safe, clean and suave. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: request the front, ocean-facing units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Great oceanfront location, steps to kitebeach. Property manager will show you around and provide helpful tips. Barbecues on friday night were fun and a great way to meet others and locals. Overall a great vacation spot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMountainDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed in the two bedroom apartment with a friend and we absolutely loved it! Location wise it was perfect as we were a stones throw away from kite beach with a gorgeous pool overlooking the sea and just a short moto ride away to town, so it was very easy for us to get around! The service was great, always asking us if we were happy or if we needed anything, our apartment was always cleaned, the quality was superb and found it to be great value for money it terms of luxury, location, service and cleanliness! The two bedroom was spacious, with all the newest amenities (tv, kitchen etc) and very comfortable beds!! I would highly recommend people to stay here as it offers everything a person needs and for sure will re-book when I plan on coming back to Cabarete. Our stay in Cabarete was great and we for sure have Porta Del Mare to thank for that!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.0 mi away
Beach Palace Cabarete
Beach Palace Cabarete
#13 of 48 in Cabarete
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.1 mi away
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Residence Suites at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.2 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Del Mare

Address: Calle Principal, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del Mare is not only a place to stay, it's a place where atmosphere is a criteria. Everyone on site are super friendly and helpful. We are right in the middle of the Kitebeach action. Kitebeach area has grown a lot over the last few years and became a nice little community with where you can enjoy a nice healthy meal or a happy hour cocktail whilst enjoying the view of the Best Kiteboarder in the world. All our apartments have a balcony ocean front. We are 5 minutes away from the popular Surf Spot "Encuentro" and around 10 minutes walking distance from town. I strongly recommend our famous BBQ by the pool at sunset with fresh sea food coming from the fisherman next door... a MUST ! Our awesome staff will be happy to set it up for you so you can sit back and relax... Pleasure guaranteed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing