We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area”

Front Loop Cabarete
Ranked #21 of 135 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International, Healthy, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Comfortable lounging and dining spaces on a wooden deck or in the sand under the coconut trees ... Savory meals and tropical drinks made with the freshest produce at great prices all day long... A spectacular view, an infinity pool and a jacuzzi ... Friendly multilingual staff and community spirit ... These are the ingredients that make up the Front Loop Cafe & Grill. The Front Loop Water Sports Club powered by North, Fanatic & NSP for Windsurfing, Kiteboarding and Stand up paddle is onsite as well as the newly built Le Reef Beach Condos. All our water is UV filtered.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After 1.5 weeks in Sosua and Cabarete, I'd vote this as the best dinners I have eaten in the area. Dishes really have character and taste that are way better than in all other beachfront places.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank backseat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Owner at Front Loop Cabarete, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your review. It is really encouraging! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had to walk on the beach in order to find the Front Loop Cafe. Taxi drivers don't know this place by that name. Apparently, it used to be called "club Natalissimo" for years, so that's the name they know. There is no sign on the street side, it sits on the beach between Palm Beach condos and Villa Taina.
To add to the confusion, waiters were all wearing "Viet Cafe" t-shirts, and I was presented with a Viet Cafe menu. After talking to owner Caroline, everything became clear. The Front Loop Cafe is indeed open for business, but as of November 2013 they are helping their colleagues from Viet Cafe, who had to relocate due to renovations. So if I got this right, you will find the Viet Cafe menu from Thursday to Sunday, and the Front Loop menu the rest of the week, at least until December 2013. The Viet Cafe staff is also there, mixed with the Front Loop staff.
So I ordered from the Viet Cafe menu, fried shrimps and calamari for starters, very good, light crispy batter, tempura-like. The sauce was very spicy, but so good. For the main course I had the dorada, also very good, cooked just right. The sauce that came with that was also very spicy, but so good I couldn't resist it. Peanuts in that sauce so if you are allergic beware.
Service had its ups and downs, waiters having to get used to the Viet Cafe menu. And it was a very busy night, the place being meters away from the Jazz Festival stage. Caroline made the whole experience worthwile with her charming presence. Once again, complimentary Mamajuana after that nice meal.
Went back during lunch time just to see the atmosphere, and it's cool to see the children in the pool while parents are eating.

So I recommend you try this place while in Cabarete. I can't tell you which menu you will find once you get there, but the overall feeling is that this place is well run and as a side benefit it seems to have the coolest music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mon_onc_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Owner at Front Loop Cabarete, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, for your helpful suggestions and clarifying our location. Indeed, the Front Loop now hosts the Viet Cafe (previously next to Velero) Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings except from 22 Nov - 10 Dec 2013. At all other times, the Front Loop Cafe menu is available. We do apologize for the service which was indeed inconsistent that evening. We hope you enjoyed Cabarete "et au plaisir de vous accueillir a nouveau"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Front Loop has a couple of features that make it a great stop. First is the location. Beach seating including the option of couches or traditional table and chairs, great views of the kite surfers, and interesting activities set up like a slack line and trampoline means that kids (or adults) are often bouncing around. The fajitas here are not to be missed – so good, so fresh! Great place for lunch, breakfast was pretty good, but paled in comparison to the fajitas. Very relaxed, casual.

1  Thank kaja82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Owner at Front Loop Cabarete, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your review and telling us what you enjoyed at the Front Loop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Try the lunchtime specials , usually two courses for 250$ rds.
This is Greta value but the drinks and coffees can give your wallet a bit of a sting- but the seating is comfortable, it's at the quiet end of the beach and its a great view

2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Owner at Front Loop Cabarete, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant has a great atmosphere right on the beach behind the Le Reef condos. There is
an infinity pool right by the restaurant and hammocks and comfortable couches to lounge in while you enjoy drinks or food. The prices are very reasonable and they have a good variety of sandwiches, burgers, pasta, and meat dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline P, Owner at Front Loop Cabarete, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Your review is very appreciated .. thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Loop Cabarete also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Front Loop Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing