We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second Best Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Claro

Cafe Claro
Ranked #24 of 122 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Claro is the local's secret find for fresh and friendly breakfast and lunch dishes served with a smile. All orders are made from scratch with homemade love. All fruit juices are made in-house. Vegetarian friendly. Kid friendly with all the arts and crafts to keep them busy for a full meal. Signature meals and signature drinks. World famous Banana Almond Pancakes with Rum Maple Syrup. Handcrafted gazpacho, wraps, salads and sandwiches. Only a few steps from Cabarete Center and the Beach. 8am to 2pm Tuesday through Sunday. Reservations recommended especially on Sundays.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

In Cabarete. Vacabar still gets my vote as number one but Claro is a close second. Located near the super market at the end of town this garden spot is not easy to find. Once you do you are treated to a beautiful setting, excellent food and friendly staff. The banana bread French toast lived up to the hype. So sweet on its own you do not need syrup. Great huevos rancheros as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Claro is a cool little restaurant hidden in a beatiful property. I ate there for breakfast three times and each time was great! The coffee was strong and unlimited, the service was great, and the food was yummy! I had the green goddess, the American breakfast, and the breakfast casserole dish ... all awesome. Thank you for making us feel special for wedding!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I only tried the breakfast so I don't know about lunch. I had the Puerto Rican Pie the first, and it was amazing. The only problem I had with it was that I couldn't finish it. The next meal was a spicy burrito that was very good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joshuaparker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

very welcoming, friendly service. The food is outstanding! Everything from their fruit and yogurt to pancakes and bananabred french toast is just fresh anf very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelfan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must for breakfast / branch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent choice of food, always great service with smile, one of our favorite places for breakfast or branch when in Cabarete. You can have cereals, fruit with yogurt or the traditional breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages), with fresh juices, coffee, tea ... you name it, they have it all. And one of few restaurants that actually have a kids menu. Not that we have small kids, but that is what I sometimes get because the adult portions are too big for me :) By the way the special pancakes with bananas I had last time were sooooooooo yummy! Thanks Sandy and the staff

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank demi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Claro also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Cafe Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing