We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best breakfast in Cabarete”
Review of Cafe Claro

Cafe Claro
Ranked #17 of 131 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Claro is the local's secret find for fresh and friendly breakfast and lunch dishes served with a smile. All orders are made from scratch with homemade love. All fruit juices are made in-house. Vegetarian friendly. Kid friendly with all the arts and crafts to keep them busy for a full meal. Signature meals and signature drinks. World famous Banana Almond Pancakes with Rum Maple Syrup. Handcrafted gazpacho, wraps, salads and sandwiches. Only a few steps from Cabarete Center and the Beach. 8am to 2pm Tuesday through Sunday. Reservations recommended especially on Sundays.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Cabarete”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The front staff here are amazing from the minute you walk in regarding service. The menu has a great selection including healthy options like "Tofu scramble"
This is my fave breakfast place in Cabarete without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check this place out for breakfast...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went there 4 or 5 times while I was in Cabarete. Definitely worth a visit.

Michaela, the server I saw most, is super friendly and always made my visits really wonderful. The menu has a great variety and I enjoyed everything I tried. The bottomless coffee is a wonderful bonus.

This place is great if you are looking for a laid-back meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresOfMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great pleace to have great food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Claro is a nice little restaurant in Cabarete. It is not easy to find but ask the people and the know to tell you where it is.

Breakfast is delicious in this place espesially the frenchbananabread and the pancakes.
I really went there many times just to eat those toast and pancakes.

But the other food they have is also very good. Coffee is good and the fresh cinola jus is great. Friendly people!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda020666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really friendly staff and creative menu. At the east end of town. Worth the walk. Pancakes are great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The breakfast at claro ranges from ok to very good. The atmosphere is fine, if you don't mind being tucked away from the beach. There is no wifi and no view. The food just makes up for it. I don't think it is worth the hike.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pghprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Claro also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Cafe Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing