We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cabarete

“Yep!!”
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Micki had the famous Papi's Lagostinos, I enjoyed the Dorado.

Service was good, co-owner John stopped by for a quick visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank DENNIS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redolphe, Owner at La Casita De Papi, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2020

Dear DENNIS E,
Thanks for dining with us and the review. Glad you and Micki and enjoyed your meals and it was a pleasure speaking with you.
Hope you’ll join us again in the future!

Warm regards,
Papi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 991 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Prawns in Papi sauce were amazing, service was quick, attentive and efficient, and eating on beach makes it a great unique experience, especially when everything else handled so well. Third trip back and although priced at higher end of other beach restaurants, we will return again without hesitation!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 699keithc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redolphe, Owner at La Casita De Papi, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear 699keithc

Thanks so much dining with us multiple times and sharing your experience! That’s fantastic and I’m so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed each one. We look forward to your return and have a wonderful New Year!

Warm Regards
Papi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

La Casita de Papi is by far the best restaurant and best food in Cabarete. It is beautifully located on the waterfront where the two owners created a beautiful atmosphere.
The food is fresh and excellent, from langoustine’s in their famous “al papi” cream sauce, to imported angus steak, perfectly cooked tuna steak and so much more.
Highly recommend this place, we’ve been coming to Cabarete for a while and Papi has become our go to place. This trip, we’ve been to Papi 5 out of our 6nights spent here.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank raffabicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redolphe, Owner at La Casita De Papi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Dear raffabicci,

Wow! Thanks so very much for dining with us 5 times this week and even more, for making the casita your “go to place”! We are honoured and very happy to continue serving you with each return to Cabarete!

Most sincerely,
Papi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

Amazing food and atmosphere, came here multiple times in our week in Cabarete. The Papi sauce on langostine and shrimp are must-try!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank X9524COryanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redolphe, Owner at La Casita De Papi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Dear X9524COryanm,

Many thanks for dining with us multiple times during your stay! That’s a wonderful compliment and, we hope you’ll continue to do so on future visits to the island!

Warm regards,
Papi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

We were checking the reviews on this website, but after we wait more than 2 hours for the food, nothing taste the same! No comments about the waitress... no helping and pretty much justified everything instead of giving something extra to the table after the long wait

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank KIKISUN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redolphe, Owner at La Casita De Papi, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Dear KIKISUN123,

I do want to apologize for your dinner coming out so slowly. Three things happened that night that I would like to explain:

1) You came in immediately after a table of 26 had just ordered. As you know, our open air kitchen is small and it takes time to serve 26.
2) Our server for your table is new and she forgot to write the “time" your order was taken on kitchen request so, how long you were waiting was overlooked.
3) Once I found out how long you’d waited I came to your table to offer a free desert and coffee but, unfortunately, you were already gone.

Again, please accept my apology. It was a series of unfortunate events.

Kind regards,
Papi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing