We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langastinos are to die for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Langastinos are to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We walked past Papi's several times the previous night and the smell of garlic and other spices wafted out to the beach convincing us we had to try it while in Cabarete. Glad we did! Baby lobsters (langastinos) are their special and they cook them in a paella pan with an amazing sauce. You will not regret ordering this (your thighs may though!)

We also had the ceviche and it was out of this world! We make our own ceviche at home and we give them kudos - their ceviche is better than ours!

Since this is a nicer restaurant, be prepared for kids to place flowers on the table and beg for money. The waiters were really good about telling them to go away but there's only so much the staff can do when seating is out in the open on the beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammy_the_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    175
    52
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the Top 3 Restaurants on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This restaurant is excellent. The seafood is very fresh and out of this world. They have a great selection of appetizers and a small but fantastic entree menu. The shrimp "a la papi" is absolutely amazing: whole shrimp served in the skillet in which they were cooked with cream, parsely, french liquor, butter, and other herbs. The longostinos a la plancha with garlic were to die for. Literally, I think I would get this dish for my last meal if I were to die. I consider myself a seafood connoisseur and this place is pretty much as good as it gets. The food is slightly pricey but no more expensive than a good seafood meal in the States. Its a must try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveler954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I were visiting relatives inland and usually spend a few days on the North coast. This was one of the restaurants mentioned by our hotel manager. The place was okay, the norm for what I've experienced with Dominican restaurants in different parts of the country.
We squeezed down a little gritty corridor between other shops, excused ourselves past a few singularly engaged staff and then easily slid into a table on the beach around sunset.
The beach side was again standard beach restaurants, clubs, shops, right next to (other side of several palm trees wrapped in colorful fabric) a neon, disco ball decorated, bass thumping bar. The balcony looked nice but we preferred our feet in the sand.
The restaurant music strained from the beach speakers over the deep bass next door. We were engaged by several beach sellers at the table for cigars (twice), colorful sparkly night time battery operated flowers and fiber optic fountains. Several beach dogs did actually roam through the table area with no attempts by the staff to remove them. Even the staff had visitors as a well dressed man carrying a messenger bag spread bubble wrapped drug samples on the table behind us of all sorts of tablets and pills, only catching a bit of his sales pitch for the benefits of stress reducing aides.

The food ordered was the arugula and parmesan salad, conch ceviche appetizer, fish quenelles and then camarones a la papi finished by the restaurant made vanilla ice cream on a carmelized wafer. The conch ceviche salad was tasty in the vinaigrette and the arugula was fresh with large gratings of parmesan. Papi's shrimp was good in the cream sauce, great being a stretch, nicely presented in a large blackened aluminum skillet, and the ice cream was flavorful and a nice end to the meal.

Overall, a nice place to go if not expecting dining contingent with the price and if you are familiar with what that equates to in dominican.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrippyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

On the beach, feet in sand while eating sipping wine, and devouring EXCELLENT Italian food. If that sounds good to you, go here!

The service was also very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Cuisine & Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We love an evening at Papi's. Dine one the beach or on the lively balcony. You have never tasted grilled shrimp 'a la Papi'' chef special. And, the lobster! Someone advised us to share a seafood platter but we always order our own, so delicious and great side dishes. Always lots
of fun and great people so check it out - you will amazed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miPod2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing