We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super, natural site”
Review of The Caves

The Caves
Ranked #12 of 37 things to do in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This group of connected rocks and boulders provides an interesting site for divers.
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“super, natural site”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a great place to visit in Cabarete. Several of us had some apprehensions about caves to start but the caves are not scary; they're fascinating. Levi was our guide and he's excellent. He talks about everything from botany (he points out numerous local plants and we even sampled some edible ones) to politics to conservation. Both pools that you can swim in are lovely. The water must be 20C or more - very easy to get into. Cost is $20 or 800 RD and it will be helping conserve the caves and the surrounding park.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morris867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    13
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My third time visiting, the caves are really cool and the horseback ride into the mountains is very good too. Both Wilson and Levi are excellent tour guides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Caves”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The water was nice, but some places you walk through dark walk way and go down deeper into caves. But when you get there it is worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpecialOps56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

You have to go and visit the Caberete Caves. We had a good guide who took us around and showed us the various trees and plants (saw an avocado tree for the first time in my life). He told us also about the wildlife and all the efforts they are trying to do to combat deforestation. We also visited 3 caves and swam in 2 of those. First time experience swimming in a cave and I have to say: it was a blast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and adventurous - ASK FOR LEVI”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Let me start by saying, "DO NOT PAY FOR THIS EXCURSION THROUGH A HOTEL OR ANY TOUR COMPANY." You will end up paying at least double to quadruple the regular price. A local told us about these caves and told us how to get there. From Sosua/Puerto Plata, head towards Cabarete on highway 5 (that's east), and turn right onto Callejon de la Loma. The street sign is a little hard to read, but when you see a sign on the left that says "Orange," turn right into the direction away from the ocean. Go all the way down the busy street to the end of the road. At the end, you will see a lagoon and a booth to purchase your tickets. Even if you don't have a car, taxi drivers will take you there for a fraction of the tour price. The next MUST DO is to ask for Levi. He is an amazing, friendly, and very knowledgeable tour guide who speaks better English than most people in the United States. Tickets are normally $20/person, but we haggled our way to $15/person with promise of a good tip. Levi started our tour by showing us the botanical garden and the "Canadian ruins." Lots of interesting facts and history. We then proceeded to ascend and then descend into the Voodoo cave. What a site!! The calcium rock formation was spectacular, the water, super pristine and very refreshing. If you have never swam in a pitch dark cave, this is your chance. Levi will shut off the light and let you float around in the super deep pool of water; that's gotta get your adrenaline pumping. Levi brought us to two other caves with the final cave having natural light exposure for us to swim and jump into the cave. We spent quite some time at the caves and not once did we feel rushed or get the impression that Levi was annoyed. He took tons of great pictures for us while we were swimming around exploring the cave. I will also add that if you need any advice on getting the cheapest price for excursions or places to eat, Levi is your man to ask. He saved us tons of money on other excursions and food. He also invited us back to his house for a home-cooked dinner and gifted us with the best, genuine Mamajuana in the country. For someone with so little, Levi has a heart of gold and showed us INCOMPARABLE DOMINICAN HOSPITALITY. I will definitely return for another visit and have Levi vacation with our group so we can get the best deals while seeing the best of the Dominican Republic. Btw, BIG TIP: DON'T FORGET THE INSECT REPELLENT.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank KAiTNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caves also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing