We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

I just returned from a five day stay at the Villa Taina.
We arrived at 1p.m. and all four rooms which we booked directly with the Hotel were ready.
The rooms were ocean view (Ocean Comfort).
The hotel is located right on the beach. The hotel pool is small. The rooms were clean and new.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was included and the omelettes were very good.
The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Cabarete.
The shops, bars, restaurants, ATMs, are all right there.
I am assuming by the excellent condition of the hotel that is a newer hotel and built withing the past two years.
Overall a very nice hotel and excellent loctaion.

  • Liked — Newer
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank XCR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    108
    36
    9
    12
See reviews for
77
130
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

Went on a kitesurfing vacation and stayed here. Location was good, staff was good . . . but the rooms smelled like an open sewer. Apparently it is the air conditioning system. Regardless, it was so unbearable that we moved rooms, only to smell the same disgusting smell again. Buyer (stayer) beware.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank corevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

This hotel was perfect for our laid back family vacation ... we stayed 2 nights here and 2 at an all inclusive and prefered this place over the other. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom and small balcony. The hotel loby and all facilities were nicely decorated and clean. The pool was small, but who cares when you have such a great beach on the back of the property. The breakfast was nice- right off the beach-- made to order omlettes, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee, fresh juices, yogurt, breads for toast, deli meats and cheeses ... we enjoyed our beachside breakfast each morning, and seeing how its included in the price it really makes the place a bargin! We payed about $70 per night ...the beachside bar wasnt included, but they did have buy one get one free drinks during happy hour from 5-7 each day .... even though we had all meals and drinks included at our all inclusive later in the week, this place is located right next to about 20 or more great little restaruant/bar/cafes on the beach and we spent no more than $10-$20 a day on our food and drinks (excluding breakfast) ...the beach chairs were also free to use and as a hotel guest you get a free 1 hour windsurfing lesson if you choose to do it. The also send you off with a very nicely packaged Dominican Cocoa gift- a great little somthing to take back to a friend!

The atmosphere of Cabarete is so relaxing, fun and laid back ...we would love to go back to this hotel and this little surf town with friends in the near future! The hotel is definitely a good find!

  • Liked — Location, beachside breakfast buffet and beachside bar ... best spot on the beach!
  • Disliked — windsurf center guy was a jerk ... all of the dominican staff was great though
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmusalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

We checked the hotel out of curiosity while driving thru Cabarete.
The Staff was very helpful and showed us the rooms and we decided to stay for one night. The rooms were very clean and everything looked new. The bathroom was one of the nicest we ever saw during our trip. The hotel restaurant is located at the beach and we had a wonderful breakfast the next morning.
We will come back to this place

  • Liked — Shower and the breakfast at the beach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DANYSTYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

Stayed at Villa Taina for about 4 days in April 2007. You couldn't ask for a better location on the beach in Cabarete. It is in the mix of shops on the street side and restaurants on the beach side. Location is the crowning jewel of this hotel. Unfortunately, everything else is just average. The staff is pretty indifferent. The breakfast is forgettable and the beds are just a thin mattress atop a slight frame. The cleaning staff are ghostlike. But, a trip to the D.R. for me is not so much about accommodations as it is about the country. I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lstaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed four nights in the hotel in February booking directly by phone from Santo Domingo two days before. The rate was about £55 a night with breakfast - good value.

Our stay was enjoyable, the staff were pleasant without exception, the beach was excellent with plenty of good quality sunbeds and shade, free internet, very clean, there were activities but no pressure, pleasant small pool. Breakfast was good, although a little cramped at times. Guests seemed to be mainly German and Scandinavian on package tour while we were there. There is no car park, but there was no problem parking on the street. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the pool with a partial view of the sea. The room was quiet and spacious with good room service.

Excellent position in the centre of the bay with many bars and restaurants within walking distance, accessable both from the beach and the main road.

The only adverse comments are some design issues with the room - storage space was poor, despite the room being a good size, the plastic shower tray must have been the cheapest ever, two decent sized double beds but only one small bedside light (Aghh!!), no soap or shampoo.

Both the bar and the restaurant were cash only.

None of this spoilt our stay, and I would recommend this hotel for the independent traveller.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

Villa Taina Hotel can be summarized simply: good (not great but certainly not bad) quality rooms, good food (though no room service, which would be so easy to do given cheap labor costs), and good service, but the pricing is set for "great" vs. good in all of these categories. Also, the breakfast buffet has gotten stingier, with small things like raisons and cinnamon for the oatmeal now gone vs. prior years.

The manager Franz is a good mannered host, and he seems to hire well. However, much of the staff has gone from very friendly years ago to robotic (at best). The guy making omlettes every morning seemed angry, never smiling and somewhat resentful that we had come to him for something to eat. The waiters were somewhat better, though at times the "standing around doing nothing" routine (vs. checking on tables) got old.

The rooms were so/so to good (for DR standards; bad if you are used to international hotels with non-plastic, flimsy toilet seats and cheap fixtures like at the Taina). It really depends on your standards. However, will tell you for sure that the price/room is way above what the average quality/room delivers. Taina has raised prices (in US$ and Euros) mightily over the past five years, where now a $40-50 room from a few years ago goes for $80-90/night. I must note that this is not due to the devaluation of the peso here, as the hotel prices everything in dollars but probably pays the staff in pesos (making a case for their prices being even more excessive given the devaluation of the peso).

For business travelers, one saving grace is the Internet connection. Broadband speeds and on 24/7, including in the room price. This alone made the hotel worth our staying as we were working on/off during our stay. However, the Agualina Kite Resort reportedly has similar pricing, great Internet and amazing new rooms. I'll be staying there the next time just so I get quality facilities for the money. When Franz decides to spend some of his massive profits refurbishing the rooms, especially the "penthouse" rooms (all three should be combined into two penthouses as they are too small for the money), I'll be back.

TFO

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LilJeeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,691 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing