We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location / hotel is good for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location / hotel is good for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

In Cabarete, Hotel Villa Taina is one of the best options. It is located right on the beach and the rooms are spacious and clean. Staying at Hotel Villa Taina allows you to combine staying beach front with the ability to walk to the local restaurants in town. I would recommend staying at this hotel in Cabarete. The bartenders are very helpful with advise on restaurants, activites, etc., but the front desk is not as helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper levels that is "ocean front" (although you cannot directly see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    95
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
68
108
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Let me start by saying that the Hotel Villa Taina is a clean, nice hotel and perfect for individuals,couples and families who want to stay in the heart of Cabarete. However, we stumbled upon this hotel when needing to spend a night on a layover there on our way to Santiago, D.R. I walked into the hotel and asked the front desk clerk, Alexa, how much it would cost for a room for the night. I explained it was 4 of us-my husband, myself and our two daughters. She then said that it would cost $129 for the night which included breakfast. I then went outside to tell my husband, and we started unloading all of our luggage and coming in. When I started filling out the paperwork and handing over my credit card, she asks me how old our daughters were. I said their proper ages, 10 and 14. She then says that the price will go up to $169 since our older daughter is considered an adult. I then ask her why she did not ask me this before and give me that price from the get-go. She then says that I had said I had two girls, and I quote her, "and from what it looks like to me, your daughter is a young lady." I then asked her if she is insinuating that I was trying to deceive her about my daughters age, and she tries to worm out of it. I was livid! I have no reason to lie about my girls' ages, and I was completely offended that she thought that. I told her that as a representative of the hotel, it was HER duty to ask me the proper questions and give me the proper rate upfront and NOT after I had filled out the paperwork and gotten our luggage into the lobby. I felt deceived. She neither apologized nor made any exceptions. She simply didn't care. Since we had no other choice but to stay there since other hotels we had stopped by were full, I had to suck it up, but I was not happy and told her so. She even had the nerve to ask my husband why I was mad! Bottom line is that I wouldn't have been so upset if she had apologized and taken responsibility for her mistake. She simply didn't care and knew we had nowhere else to go. This is NOT good customer service. We then went up to our room where the TV did not work and the toilet was broken. We also had to walk up 4 stories to our room (luckily the bellman brought up all of our luggage), which I don't mind, but keep in mind if you have anyone with a disability or problem walking up stairs. There is no elevator in this hotel. The good news is that it was definitely clean, and despite facing the busy street, it was quiet. The breakfast buffet was also delicious, with eggs and crepes being freshly made to order, overlooking the beach.
We have been to many a hotel that was much better than this and did not have to pay $169/night. It was a total rip-off. I would not return to this hotel personally, obviously because I had a negative experience, but I would not count it out based on this if I were you.
I did complain to the front desk manager about her, and she agreed with me and was apologetic, so I appreciated it. The manager was very friendly and helpful, as we had some car issues and she had them resolved quickly and despite not being able to extend our check-out, held our luggage all day. I must say that I then had to deal with the front desk lady, Alexa, once again when one of our pieces of luggage did not make it into our car. She was courteous enough to hold onto it and have our driver pick it up. I like to give people the benefit of the doubt, but if you work in the hospitality industry, the customer is always right and you should want to make them happy or they will get a review like this, which was fittingly deserved.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties walking up stairs or are in a wheelchair, I do not recommend this hotel, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank namastegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Would be back anytime! Great beach, food, service, clean... The only disappointment was the bed, too hard :) loved to see the surfurs, the equipment for kite boarding and wind surf, the people preparing to go and have fun. Close to lots of restaurants on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yfl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Looking for quality service from dedicated staff? This is the place to go. The rooms are excellent and ideally located near the beach - however you may here noise coming from other rooms... The Villa is ideally located close to Cabarete's restaurants without being too close to be disturbed by the nightlife. The breakfast buffet is good. If you are there two weeks you'll want to explore other breakfast alternatives. The happy hour is quite delightful and everything you need is within reach. The beach offers easy access to chairs ideally located, top windsurfing school and proximity to most everything. When you step out the front enterance, you are right at the heart of Cabarete and when you step out the other way a beautiful resort atmosphere awaits. The pool is small, but most people are at the ocean anyways. Morning yoga with instructor weekly - the massage therapist is fabulous, however there are MANY VENDORS, which are respectful to NO GRACIA, yet bothersome!!! Overall, very pleased and we would go there again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of noise coming from beach and bar select ocean front. If you want absol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located practically on the beach, this hotel is close to everything you'll need while you stay in Cabarete. Walking distance to all restaurants. ( it has a restaurant on premises- the food was great) shops and water sports schools. It is clean and quiet, even though is close to the main street( you'll never know it). It is simple, clean and well maintained. There is a small fridge in the room and free wifi. The room is well air-conditioned and safe. Shortly, highly recommended for all ( families, singles and couples)including families with small children.

Room Tip: There are hair dryers in the bathrooms shampoo and conditioner , no liquid soap just a bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great stuff, location, breakfast at the beach, ocean beach with kite and wind surfing equipment. The best shopping and restaurant areas are within 5 minutes walk. Rooms have a flat TV, air conditioner, balcony, and a safe. Everything very clean, feels new and pleasant. Can recommend this place without reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bottezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

super friendly staff, nice food, rooms but the most importantly location: on the beach, one can sleep hearing the sound of the waves, relax and do a lot of sports if he/she wants. can walk to all the restaurants and cafes from the beach - no need to even see a street if want to be completely secluded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.7 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
15.1 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,975 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing