We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel was perfect for 2 weeks in May for my husband and myself (retired) visiting our son who lives in cabarete. Having had a flood in our room on the first night due to the weather, we were upgraded to a beautiful room on the front. It was always spotless and the staff were lovely. No need for shoes to walk onto the beach and bars and restaurants!!

Room Tip: we had an ocean comfort room which was fabulous - 2 large double beds, fan abd air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    114
    37
    9
    12
See reviews for
80
135
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The staff is super friendly. Everything was taken care of professionally. Beach was beautiful and amazing bar. I was able to go with several friends during Semana Santa (wholly week) and we all had a blast. Tons of beach parties and music all day and night long. Avoid going with kids during this time. A lot of young people running around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed for 6 nights and I wasn't really in the hotel much since I booked a couple of excursions. Sergio assisted me with booking the Magic mushroom trip which was awesome! A must go for the adventurer. The location of the hotel is excellent. You are in the heart of cabarete without having to deal with the loud music. I love cabarete as I don't feel as if I am in one of those huge resorts. You are able to mingle with the locals and I personally enjoy that. The rooms are extremely clean as well as the rest of the hotel. I didn't give the hotel 5 stars for my only pet peeve was how hard the beds were. I guess people really don't go to sleep when in Cabarete. Despite not being all inclusive the hotel offers breakfast and food around the town as well as the hotel is not pricey. This was truly an inexpensive and fun vacation. The beach at night is gorgeous. I may make this my February break trip every year.

Additionally I visited Cayo levantado (Paradise Island) and the 27 Charcos ... I recommend these excursions, in all I had an awesome time. Sosua is nearby and I enjoyed snorkeling there as well. Rio San Juan is not far and offers some awesome activities as well.

Room Tip: There is not fitness center but almost everyone who goes to Cabarete is involved in some type of sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mio0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from Las Galeras to our liveaboard boat (we were going swimming with whales on the Silverbank). I am probably not the best person to comment on a hotel like this because I prefer small quiet places. However, it was OK for a busy package style place on a beach. Cabarate is nicer than Sosua for a quick stopover, and it is fun to watch the kiteboarders snd wind surfers. Kids staying here seemed to be having a great time. The room was perfectly adequate, and the attached restaurant on the beach was also OK. We had a room facing the bar and were scared it was going to be noisy at night, but it wasn't. The beach is busy during the day but the restaurant is good for people watching. My husband did get a bad stomach upset after eating here and the loos next to the bar are pretty yucky. There are much nicer and quieter beaches in the DR, but this is a great place if you are a windsurfer or kiteboarder.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms actually look out over the small swimming pool and can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel was everything I hoped for; clean, comfortable, convenient to cabarete, etc etc. The maids swooped in like an army and cleaned the room quickly every morning. The hot water was strong and plentiful. The TV had lots of channels including about 5 in english: BBC, CNN, TNT, and the networks. There is a kite-boarding and wind surfing school on the premises, but I did not use them so I cannot comment. But here are a couple of comments/tips:

-the breakfast buffet option is overpriced and lousy. If you can get the plan without breakfast, walk right out the front door and turn left, and about a block down you can hang out at Friends Cafe, where the food is *way* better and cheaper. The atmosphere is breezy and light, and there is free wifi. The fruit smoothies are excellent, the pancakes (crepes, really) are good, and the Sancocho at lunch (meat and root-vegatable soup) is the best I have ever had, anywhere. In fact it was the best thing I ate in a week in the Dominican Republic. Simple, hearty "peasant" food. For about $5.

-my only complaint about the hotel is that they have a decent little bar/lounge on the beach, but they play annoying music, way too loud. Don't they realize that their bar is empty, and everyone goes to other lounges nearby? Why isn't that obvious to them? I am sure it is the sound system and the bartender's choice of music that is driving people away.

-The town out in front of the hotel and to the left is perfectly safe at any time, with banks, local restaurants, a couple of supermarkets, etc., but I am told by the locals: Do Not go out the front and turn right, at night. The adjacent property to the right is abandoned and is a haven for criminals, and muggings are not uncommon. That's the word on the street, anyway.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank keithk_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We loved this place!!! First, you don't have to be all inclusive so you can enjoy the little things about cabarete that make it so great. So breakfast isn't included, there's this thing called Mangu that is served across the street that you should have to start the day. You don't have a ton of peso or cash to cover your drinks and snacks while at the beach, start a tab with your card and sign for everything every nite. Dinner starts late on the beach strip, so grab a drink for happy hour and enjoy the affordable appetizer to tide you over when you get off the beach. Isaac and Jasmin are waiting on you all week with drinks or snacks at the bar so keep them close to you and order the rum drink the locals enjoy with ice. They have a yoga instructor that comes a couple time a week to give your girlfriend/wife a break to recenter herself. There is a person at the front desk "Sergio" that helps you book excursions and is nice, fair and knowledgeable, meet him the first day and let him take care of your big plans. Just go here, everything else will work out!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor, bring your pillow and use the safe, no worries = good times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have been staying at the Villa Taina for over ten years. They are so professional and they keep the place in really good condition. The location is excellent and it is tucked away from the main drag so that you really get to enjoy the beach away from all of the chaos happening out front. Beds are pretty stiff, however, but that is personal preference. A really safe place.

Room Tip: You have to stay in the beach front building. If you are going near the rainy season get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,801 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing