We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and great people!”
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This Hotel is perfectly situated on Caberete beach if you are looking for Waves and wind to surf, Kite and paddle board. It is owned by a German family, who are very friendly and all spoke perfect English. The bar and Restaurant staff were absolutely amazing and seemed to be locals, most had good English. It was my husbands 50th when we were there and they secretly decorated the table with flowers and balloons, plus the Chef baked a massive Birthday cake.The head waitor, Mario, organised for some musicians to play"Happy Birthday". I have Coeliac's disease and also Lactose intollerant, but the restaurant catered for me really well as each night the food is cooked to order, no stale buffets in sight! Make sure you book a standard ocean view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Air con worked very well. Mozzies come out in force at night so cover the legs. Vendors on the beach were a bit of a pain, but a stern "No" usually worked. Most were very friendly and every day at 2pm we had fresh Mango for lunch. We would definately book this Hotel again, missing them all already!!

Room Tip: Standard Ocean View room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 357 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Located at the west end of Cabarete 2 mins walk from all the clubs restaurants & bars.

This recommendation was certainly spot on, modern & clean with great air-con, reasonably priced with a small pool. The hotel accesses directly onto the beach at the rear.

We stayed in room 401 on the 4th floor of the new block, fantastic room with great views & a sun terrace.

Breakfast in the beach restaurant was lovely, one of the best of our holiday in the DR.

Villa Taina was a great base for the last 2 nights of our holiday.

Located within 20mins drive of Puerto Plata airport.

Not sure why we had to leave a $50 deposit when we prepaid at checkin, we don't steal towels! This alone is the reason for the downgrade from Excellent!

Room Tip: They have lots of room options negotiate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We chose to stay at Villa Taina for 4 nights in September 2011, since it was a centrally located hotel with a good rate. This property is on the beach right in the center of Cabarete. We were given a room on the 4th floor (no elevators) and after speaking to the reservations manager, they were very kind to upgrade us to a 1st floor room overlooking the pool. Pros: Location, customer service, great beach Cons: Uncomfortable beds, no irons in room, small pool, poor breakfast. Overall this is a nice property at a good price and they are constantly upgrading the rooms. This is a good property If you are looking for value, location and good ammenities.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to stay in rooms facing ocean or pool, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank esquimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

really nice and clean hotel, with helpful staff. we got a room with view over a the big road and some roof tops, not so nice, but other rooms had ocean views..
nice restaurants with grill buffet. breakfast wasn´t all that fun, a small buffet with bread, fruits, omelettes etc. the location was really good, in the end of the big road and close to everything...
the bar was really nice with great n funny staff behind, making lovely santo libres.
unfortunaly cabarete wasn´t the place for us. you couldn´t swim because of the big waves and there wasn´t really not much to do. we had rain for 10 days and it wasn´t hot either, but you can´t control the weather...

Room Tip: the buildnings closes to the beach has got the best views and are more quiet than the room in the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0dette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Overall I like the place...great location.

Have the following concerns:

Very uncomfortable bed
Outdated TV
No facial napkin and stuff!
Over Priced
Tiny pool!

Loved the employees and the service!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OohOoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villataina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Taina, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

We appreciate your stay with us!
Our room prices range from USD 96,-- for a Standard room to USD 119,-- for a beach front Standard room for two persons including taxes and Breakfast Buffet. We believe that is an excellent value for the location and services we offer.
Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I vacationed to the Dominican in January. We went to Puerto Plata for two days and stayed in Cabarete for 4 or 5. Cabarete was muuuuuuuuuuch better by far. All of the Puerto Plata hotels are all-inclusive, and there is basically nothing to do other than what your hotel offers, and you can't really go to the other hotel attractions. Cabarete is a fun and lively place to stay with lots of great restaurants along the beach. It is not a place that you would want to do all-inclusive because you would miss out on all the great food everywhere else. Hotel Villa Taina was a safe bet for us and affordable. We liked it enough, but it was very basic. For example, just one thin blanket and a sheet. Not all of the nice comforters that you may be used to in the states. We couldn't really figure out the television stations, but really didn't want to watch tv much anyway. It is a fine place for children, but Cabarete isn't really a kid destination. The pool is super tiny, and basically no one uses it. We ate breakfast everyday, and it was always good. The internet service there was not very good. The rooms were clean, and the beds were fine. There is a small safe in the room for valuables. The staff were helpful. The people on the beach selling stuff won't bother you much if you just show that you are not interested.
If you stay in Cabarete try out Mojito Bar...super cheap and great food and drinks. La Casita De Dom Alfredo Papi has amazing food. Try the baby lobster ala papi...I am still dreaming about it. Don't plan to do too much shopping in Cabarete. Oh, if you want to get basics like milk, water, etc go down the beach near El Magnifico and Velero hotels, and you will find Janet's supermarket. They have everything.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midwestgirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband & stayed at the Villa Taina for a quick getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the penthouse room which was a great choice. The room was spacious, had a coffee maker, fridge, tv and had a roof top deck with outdoor shower. We had morning coffee and pre-dinner cocktails outside and it was great. Our rate included breakfast which was the usual hotel buffet assortment with an omelet station cooked to order. The beach chairs/umbrellas were plentiful (off-season) and we did a little windsurfing. The location is great, dinner restaurants just down the beach, but no worries of nighttime party noise. It is a German owned hotel and it feels like a well run, efficient property. The bar by the beach was convenient and friendly & reception was pleasant and helpful. Franz the owner was cheerful and ever present.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in the newer building are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peru-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.7 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $76 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing