We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise and Feels Like Home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #9 of 27 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise and Feels Like Home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I first started visiting the DR in 1984 and love it! My mother retired here approximately 10 years ago and I started saying at the Secret Garden about 4 years ago for each and every visit. Janos and Bettina are the perfect host/hostess and their property is breathtaking! I feel like I've come home each time I return and am met with their beautiful smiles and warm hugs. I love the Secret Garden and it is just a small walk to the beach and to Mom's condo.

The rooms are comfortable and have a small refridgerator and two burner stone, a big bed and HOT WATER in the shower. I love the balcony where you can have coffee delivered each morning and greet each day with the gardens and Bettina's warm smile. The breakfast is fabulous and a treat. I've yet to request the Hungarian ghoulash that I keep reading about since I usually dine with Mom but this may be the trip I make that request...stay tuned!

The freedom one feels at the Secret Garden is like being at home. The owners are always smiling, offering help to make your visit better but leaving you to do your thing while on vacation. I love lounging by the pool topless and showering outdoors, the freedom reminds me of years ago and the freedom I felt as a kid. My husband and I love getting away to The Secret Garden but I also enjoy the visits when I travel solo. I've brought my daughter (18) at the time and she loved this place too. The wifi kept her entertained on rainy days and kept her in touch with her friends back home. I think she sent 50 pictures of just flowers and plants on the beautiful grounds surrounding the condos.

Bring bugspray! and sunblock! Both are necessary when visiting the DR! I haven't even left this trip yet and am already looking forward to my return to see the finished project Janos is working on and seeing the babies grow up...there were 4 kittens upon my arrival this trip and they are so cute peeking out from the greenery!

Janos and Bettina make each trip memorable and leave me smiling!

Room Tip: I love the second floor condos or the end unit on the first floor by the outdoor shower. Both offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPatterosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Secret Garden from the 17th of July 2013 until the 2th of August 2013.
It was absolutely perfect! This little (6 rooms) Hotel is managed by a wonderful german-hungarian couple: Bettina and Janos. They are very helpful and make you feel like home.

Located at the end of Perla Marina (50meters from the beach ; 15min walk from the road where to pick a Guagua(Bus) - 10min to both Cabarete and Soshua ; 2h walk to Cabarete over the beach; 20min walk to the Pauhana Surf Club over the beach).
It is isolated but you can get easily from A to B by renting a car (from 30$), taking a bus or public taxi (both 0,50$ to Cabarete or Soshua).

The beaches there are very deserted and clean. After visiting the Playa Grande, the Playa Diamante and some others on the north-east coast, I can say that the beach next to the Secret Garden is one of the best.

The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and they offer everything you need to live.
Breakfast is cooked every morning by Bettina, an absolute must when staying there!
Don't forget to ask Janos to show you around the garden, where a great diversity of exotic plants are growing (all raised since being a pip).

The Secret Garden is a traveller's advice, an Hotel where you can get away from the mass tourism while enjoying a great comfort. If you want to have some adventures, ask Bettina & Janos for tours organised by Joseph ("Fun tours") - (Snorkelling, Rafting, Jeep Safari, Waterfalls, Car Rental, Horseback riding, etc.) . You will get great advice, good prices (+-35$/trip) and will have a blast! Furthermore if you want to surf, the Secret Garden is very close to the Pauhana Surf Club.

All in all the Secret Garden is a great place to experience the Dominican Republic at its best.
For further information, do not hesitate to write an email to Bettina and Janos (holiday@the-secretgarden.com) or visit their website (http://the-secretgarden.com/).

Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you want to find a place off the beaten path and just want to relax this is hard to beat. Prices are great owners can get you what you need. We went horseback riding through the surf, Chartered a boat and met well traveled folks, mostly German. You might even be able to talk the owner into cooking Hungarian Goulash. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vestor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

"Secret Garden" is the friendly, small getaway hotel where you will feel like home. If you are looking for the perfect beach, a place where you and your family can relax, don't look any further. You've found it.

The hotel
The "Secret Garden" is a family owned hotel. It actually consists of 5 or 6 small condos, 50 yards from the beach. They have a good size pool (with a shower), and a nice little open breakfast/dinner area.

The condos each have a full kitchen (with fridge, stove, etc.), a really nice bathroom and a large bed. The also have a patio with a table and chairs, where you can sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view.

The hotel's property if full of plants and trees (bananas, coco, passion fruit, etc.).

Service
The owners are very friendly. They can help you with the airport transportation, and with just about anything that you might need during your stay. For a small fee you can have Wi-Fi internet access.
Make sure to get the breakfast with the room.
The pool is clean, and has beds around to enjoy the sun.

The Beach
If you've been to Hawaii and you this that is pretty, you haven't seen anything yet. The sandy beach is full of palm trees and plenty of room for anyone. It is probably about 4-5 miles long and you can easily find spot where you can be alone. It is perfect for couples, and perfect for families.

The waves can be big sometimes, but the water is really warm all year around. I think the best word to describe the beach would be "breathtaking".

Surrounding area
The Secret Garden is located between Sosua and Cabarete. They are both good size towns, with restaurants and supermarkets.

If you are looking for things to do, you can rent a car and visit some of the famous beaches in the Dominican Repulic. Like "Playa Grande" or some of the small bays in the area. And if you do, make sure to get a pineapple drink and taste fried fish. The sea food is really good. There are plenty of things to do in Puerto Plata too.

Summary
If you are looking for a place to get away from work, from the crowd, this is the place to be. It was the second time we've visited the "Secret Garden", and I just cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
1.6 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
1.9 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
1.9 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: Paseo las Perlas 20 | Perla Marina, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secret Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing