We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Palace Cabarete
Nearby Hotels
Kite Beach Hotel(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velero Beach Resort(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alegria(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Horse Ranch(Cabarete)
$1,300
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kite Dreem Hotel(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
55
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurants and barsshort walkgrocery storemanager raquelocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 57 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beach trip after wedding.
Hotel Palace is right at the beach! The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The staff is helpful and always friendly. The beach is a great place for surfing and other exciting beach activities. There are several multi-cuisine restaurants and bars at just walking distance from the hotel apart from a supermarket where it is easy to buy all your daily needs and make your stay extremely comfortable.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try second floor and up
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frsteventx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My sisters and I went to the DR together and knew we wanted to stay with each other, but not share a room or bed. This was a great option! Beach Palace provides condo style rentals at the end of the main strip in Cabarete. The location is great, easy walk to all of the restaurants and bars down the main strip and easy walk in the opposite direction to the main grocery store in town (still small, but sufficient). The rooms were beautiful, had a great balcony overlooking the ocean, the whole place was very clean, very spacious. The full kitchen with stove/oven, fridge, and coffee maker made keeping leftovers and preparing our catches from the deep sea fishing expedition easy.

A couple of added benefits to staying here. Getting bottled water was super easy. They have 5 gallon jugs that you pay a nominal fee for (I think it was around $1 us) and the security guard will carry it to your room and set it up for you. Sounds like a small thing, but this made a big difference in our comfort during the trip- we could refill our water bottles before heading out and didn’t have to carry 24 packs of water bottles back from the grocery store. Also, the security at the beach palace was great. They were around but not intrusive, set up beach chairs for us and stood quietly on the beach while we swam in the ocean. I found Cabarete to be fairly safe, but did appreciate the owners taking the initiative to hire security. The beach was very nice, towels and chairs are provided, just walk out the building and on to the sand!

I would highly recommend Beach Palace to anyone traveling to Cabarete!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank kaja82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The absolute best thing about Beach Palace Cabarete (and there are many!), is the location. It's right on the beach, yet it's just a short distance away from the restaurants and bars so that you don't get any of the noise from the late-night partiers. It was only about a 2-minute walk to get to the first of many beach restaurants/bars. We were 3 ladies traveling together (30s/40s) and we felt safe making this walk, as there were security guards at each property along the beach. Beach Palace has its own security staff on the beach and at the front entrance, which was very friendly and helpful. Each morning they would put out lounge chairs on the beach for us when we were ready to hit the beach, and they would even move the chairs for us throughout the day as we sought shade or sun! One more note on the location, it's a short walk to Janet's Supermarket, which had everything we needed for our 1-week stay, at reasonable prices. Bridgette and Raquel in the office were extremely helpful to us as well - providing lots of great advice and help with calling tour operators etc. They were so kind and friendly and answered all of our many questions! And then of course there is unit itself. We absolutely loved our condo at Beach Palace - it was perfect for us! Right on the beach, beautiful furnishings, and a fully stocked kitchen (coffee maker, blender, full fridge etc). We were extremely comfortable there. One bonus was they provided us with a 5-gallon bottle of spring water upon arrival. When it ran out, we brought it down to the guards, paid 50 pesos (little more than $1) and they brought a new one up to our condo. This was great because you cannot drink the water from the tap. When we booked Beach Palace we thought we might miss having a pool, but that turned out not to be the case at all! We spent our lounge time at the beach on comfortable beach chairs and swam in the ocean, which was the perfect temperature. Even if there had been a pool, I don't think we would have used it. Beach Palace provided cleaning service every MWF, which was so nice. This was great for a group of friends, but I will also be returning with my family and will definitely stay at Beach Palace. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We had unit 117, which was a 2 bedroom with direct beach access. This was a perfect location. From the balcony we had an unobstructed view of the beautiful beach, and from our condo we could just walk right out to the beach. There were no concerns about safety as there was a security guard patrolling the beach right in front of the property 24/7. Unit 117 was rented to us as a 2 bedroom/2 bath, but there was also the option to have a 3rd bedroom/office and another bathroom. The master bedroom faced the ocean, the other two faced the street, but the street noise was not really an issue. All the furnishings were gorgeous and the condo was so comfortable. I would recommend 117 without hesitation!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderlustNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Palace on a couple of occasions and especially appreciate the location on the beach, at the eastern edge of the happening part of town and the perfect service from Brigitte and Racqelle and their staff. The Swiss/German developers of this project attended to every detail and designed and built to top levels of finish with coralina tiles, top-quality German windows, granite countertops throughout, stainless steel appliances in the kitchen and 10' high ceilings.

Location at the east end of the beach is more protected from waves and fairly secluded from the crowds. Restaurants and bars are just a couple hundred feet to the west and Vela windsurf is very close.

Each apartment has a parking space in the basement of the building.

Security is excellent.

I highly recommend the palace for top level accommodations on Cabarete beach.

Room Tip: ground floor is like living on the beach; second floor is over the beach and third floor is flying way high with commanding view of the entire bay.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are independent travelers ( traveled here - the wife & I - without our son ). Got there on April 2 for 7 nights. Always have a car to explore. Not interested in all-inclusive resorts. We search out the best properties at the best values for us. We fully engage with the local population for the the most beneficial & educational experience. We found what we believe was the best choice for us in Cabarete. I have been wanting to get to Cabarete for several years & we were totally satisfied...Direct flight from Newark, NJ to Puerto Plato ( POP ), then only a 30 minute drivein the rental car to Beach Palace Cabarete ( BPC ). No travel stress. Again, muchas gracias to Raquel, Brigitte and the entire staff, especially the security guys there 24/7 to make us as comfortable as possible. I got friendly with Alanso, a security guy who was on the beach often to attend to any possible need. Great security overall with an underground parking garage and assigned parking space and an electronic gate at the sidewalk to enter the garage.
BPC is directly on the beach and located on the east end of Cabarete Bay, where it is much more quiet and not in the center of the fun beach activity and the great restaurants. There is no pool & we did not need a pool... no pool, not many kids..The beach there and the sea are marvelous !!!! And at this location at the east end of the bay, there is a reef about 3/4 of a mile out & keeps the surf quieter at the location of BPC.
We had the huge master bedroom of #8, on the second floor. All of the 18 condos at BPC have 3 bedrooms and a bathroom for each bedroom, and washer & dryer if you take 2 or 3 bedrooms. They locked off 2 bedrooms & we had the huge master bedroom with the oversized king bed with wonderful mattress, huge living room & great kitchen. Walk-in closet area and a completely tiled bathroom the size of your average USA bedroom. Our bedroom with doors opening to the patio was on the water side, and the patio area was huge with the large dining table on the patio to enjoy relaxing coffees & meals. BPC is 5-6 years young & well maintained.

We had fabulous dining experiences. Only problem is that the government applies an 18% tax to restaurant charges. When you get the bill at a restaurant it includes 10% service ( tip ) plus the 18% tax, so get ready for 28% added to your bill. and we determined that the 10% service does not all go to the waiter or waitress, so paying more than the added 28% is a difficult decision if you want to give the waiter or waitress more.

Many restaurants that do not accept credit cards do not add the 10% plus the 18% to your bill, so look for menus that indicate that taxes are included in the price of the meal. But it appeared that wherever you use a credit card you will get hit for the 28%. I paid the 18% tax at a jewelry store as well. The supermarket I think adds 8% tax. Janet's supermercado is a short walk down the street from BPC.

BREAKFAST: in the condo, plus: Belgian Bakery is wonderful & frequented by many Americans, Europeans & Expats & locals, and not too far to walk. Friends is a short walk & excellent for breakfast or lunch only. Claro is excellent for breakfast & lunch only ( closes at 2:00 ) & is just past Janet's market on the same side of the street & located in a lovely garden setting. Look for the sign for the little Casa Blanca hotel & Claro is located there just down the driveway from the street. You will be greeted by the lovely Michaela as your waitress & she is a wealth of knowledge of the area. We were there several times.

LUNCHES / DINNERS: soo many great places:
Withing walking distance in town: PaPi on the beach. A great meal, specializing in shrimp dishes - really excellent !. LaTerrasse Cabarete is owned & managed by the lovely Isabelle ( from Belgium ) and her sweetheart of a mother, Monique, was there while we were there. The meal we had there was superb & we were there about 2 &1/2 hours. We returned on a Monday evening to dine again, but she was closed to our disappointment. LaTerrasse Cabarete is situated on a quiet alleyway of shops between the beach & the street. Across the ally is the very fine jewelry shop, Fred Joyas. Also on the beach: Pomodoro Pizzeria makes great pizzas & pastas. Casa Del Pescador serves great fish dishes. 10-15 minutes away you MUST find La Boca Grill for lunch, located on a beach where a local river meets the sea. A hideaway beach where locals gather. We were there 2 times & the price is great & no tax. The whole fried fish with salad & rice & plantains is terrific as is their other dishes... great fun there where you will want to linger for hours.. One way to get there ( if you do not go by car & it is rather tricky to get there by car, but I got there with no problem ), is to take the local river boat ride with Rudy Martinez ( Rudy Rugama Jungle River Tour ). You go to Rudy's house after calling & setting a time to go out on his boat. Rudy is a GREAT GUY.. Rudy will take 2 people or 15 people out on the river ride & he stops at LaBoca Grill for lunch. Don't miss this experience !.

Also for dinner: Blue Moon. What an experience this is !! About a 30 minute drive from BPC, this is an Indian-Dominican fusion dining experience where up to 18 people sit on cushions with loads of pillows in a circle in a large thatched roof burro. Located on the owner's home property in the local hills, this is a great meal / experience with delightful & caring owners. Need to reserve a spot as they often have large groups. We were lucky to get there to join 17 folks mostly from Norway.

ADVENTURES: Rudy Rugama River Tour as mentioned above. Then there is 27 Charcos ( waterfalls ), a 75 minute drive to the other side of Puerto Plata where you hike up the mountain to enjoy a series of 7, or 12 or 27 waterfalls on the way down with a guide & life jacket & helmet. This is fabulous fun. I did 12 falls & you will really appreciate the guide as this can be somewhat physically challenging, but DO IT !! Government owned & managed & inexpensive ( $9 for the 12 falls, plus $7 for a pretty good buffet lunch ). I took my guide for the buffet lunch.. great guy ( Osvaldo )....

Cabarete Bay is famous for surfing / kite boarding & wind surfing. None of which I did.I also did not get around to doing any scuba & you need to check out the best spots to snorkel.

We also did the all day Outback Jungle Safari, which I reserved directly with them for $69 per person with a GREAT lunch included.. This is a MUST DO excursion: They picked us up at 8:45 at BPC & we hooked up with others & began the adventure: large open vehicle, drove through the countryside, stopped at a traditional Dominican home & had a great experience there with the folks at the village, visited a local school ( bring school supplies for the kids & stuff the families need - do not bring candy for the kids - bring baseball stuff as well ), we saw and learned much, stopped at a beach to boogie board for an hour & ate sugar cane & they serve drinks all day. Worth every penny !!. Returned to BPC at around 5:30

That's my story & I'm sticking to it.. Cabarete & BPC are great, whether you are an independent traveler or prefer the all-inclusive vacation. Much more fun & easier if you speak a little Spanish, which I do & I brought my own cigars as I always do on vacations... We had no problems with the locals at all. The population is very poor & I gave a lot of tips to a lot of people...

Room Tip: We had #8 - was great on the second floor, but I think all are great
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews