We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway at La Saladilla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 15 Barahona B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I took 20 of my family and relatives to this remote part of the Dominican Republic and, fortunately, we found this jewel of a location for our vacation along the Caribbean sea, hidden away from everyone else. We reserved the entire hotel and found the accommodations perfect for our needs (and there aren't many places in Barahona that are so accommodating). Jesus (the owner) is a very attentive and pleasant person and really helped create a great experience for us. The staff are friendly, helpful and easy to work with. Try the mojitos! The best I've ever had. Food is also very good and reasonably priced. If you want to stay in a more remote (and more beautiful) part of the country, away from typical tourist attractions, I highly recommend La Saladilla. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for a vacation in a less traveled, more virgin and rustic are of the country. Do not expect the same service as you would find at a large resort. That's what makes La Saladilla so special- it makes traveling to a remote area of the DR a surprisingly pleasant, relaxed and special experience. I plan to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l4ur4_m86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice, clean installations and a warn attention. The owner knows when to be there and when not, letting us have some good private moments. He is also a good chef, so I recommend to eat in his restaurant every time you can.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Barahona area lacking in any tourist infrastructure. No rental cars, ATV's or scooters are available. Accommodations and food was mediocre. Our advice, try Sousua or Bayahibe. We have travelled several times to the DR from Sosua to Las Terrenas, La Samana, Bayahibe, and have found better accommodations for much less money, breakfast included. We reserved 4 nights but left after 2. Not much better anywhere else.

Room Tip: Choose another area of the DR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18ROse_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a really nice beach house cum hotel. The decoration is ok, and the hotel grounds get a lot of sunshine and are surrounded by palm trees. The pool is also very nice, and Gigi, the italian who runs the place, is a nice dude.

However, a number of things are lacking. First, although the room was large, the bathroom was very, very small and not too clean. The shower was tiny, as was the sink, and the very cheap-looking plastic lid of the toilet was broken.

Second, internet is almost non-existent as is cell phone coverage. This is not the case in other places in the area (Playa Azul, Casa Bonita) where we went to eat. If you're looking to get away from it all this is not a big deal, but if you need to stay in touch, going around holding your cell up hunting for a signal can be a bit of a hassle.

Third, the food. The breakfast was ok but nothing to die for. It was eggs and bread, fruit, and cookies with jam, some not very tasty coffee and, if you asked for it, orange juice. The coffee was a little watery and the fruit didn't seem too fresh, although the eggs were really tasty. I can't speak for the chef's abilities as we didn't have dinner there.

All in all, a nice place but not a very good hotel. You can get more bang for your buck elsewhere in Barahona.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaSaladilla, General Manager at Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Melvin,

Thank you very much for you review that will be very usefull for other travellers who visit the Barahona region.

Regarding the problems with the telephony and internet connections, it's true that some times we have problems with the service due to the poor service offered by telecom companies in this area.

NOW, We are pleased to inform that since last 2014 April 26, we have completed the installation of a new internet, wifi and telephony system in the hotel. Ensuring a high quality connection both telephony and Internet in all rooms and hotel facilities, disappearing the problems experienced in the past due to the poor infrastructure deployed by telecom operators in the south of the Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just returned from 4 wonderful days in this heavenly place. A quiet reprieve, enhanced by the friendly owner Jesus and his incredible manager Gigi, who doubles as chef extraordinaire. The sound of waves, the beauty of the setting, the fabulous food and the personalized service make this a very special place. Karen & Cal

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The setting for this hotel is out of this world! The terrece looks out on the beautiful bay of Barahona. It is framed by palm trees. The dining room is overlooking the waves, and the sound is so relaxing. The food surpassed the view, the Italian chef would come out and ask us what we wanted him to make for us, each night got better and better. The beach was small and not great for swimming. The internet didn't work real well but that is because they are so far from anywhere.
It was like we had our own villa, the house had been built as someone's private home about 9 years ago. There are only 8 rooms. Don't let the dirt road to the entrance intimidate you as the house is perfect, and secluded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel while in Barahona. The facilities are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and patient. I would certainly stay here again. La Saladilla beach is small and intimate. On the first day we went to the part of the beach right outside of the gate. The second day we went to the part of the beach that was off of the dirt road leading that leads to the main road. We did not eat in the hotel, instead we took advantage of local eateries and ate at the beaches that we visited while here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barahona hotels
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#3 of 6 in Barahona
87 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#2 of 6 in Barahona
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
84 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge
2 mi away
Hotel Playazul
Hotel Playazul
#4 of 15 in Barahona
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club

Address: Ctra. Barahona-Paraiso | La Saladilla, Barahona 12345, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Barahona
Price Range: $79 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club is situated in the south of the Dominican Republic, compared with idyllic white sand beach with coral reef. The nearest international aeopuerto is in the Capital, Sto. Domingo. Where our service exclusive to collection will be waiting for transfer to the hotel. The Saladilla Beach Club, is a site of complete discretion and quiet in all facilities including the white sandy beach opposite the hotel, the pool, the spa and the jacuzzi. Nearby you can enjoy if you like, of the most beautiful natural environments of the Republic Dominicada little known by tourists as the untouched beaches of Bahia de Las Aguilas, rivers, waterfalls and spas in San Rafael, El Lago Enriquillo with its unique ecosystem, the mysteries of the nature of the "Polo Magnetico", where gravity is reversed and endless places to enjoy a calm and in the company of your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Saladilla Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing