We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I found paradise... Wasn't going to tell anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I found paradise... Wasn't going to tell anyone”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is my first review although I've stayed in many island resorts and tropical destinations. This place is hands-down the best combination of service and privacy I've ever experienced. The place is built and staffed to entertain like 250 rooms but only has about 25 private cabanas. This results in an empty pool at times. Always available seating at the restaurant and a staff that more than once set up a table by the pool for us to eat lunch just because I felt like it (sounds terrible, I know). Barahona is a bit out of the way which has its pluses and minuses. The ride from Santo Domingo is an investment of time. This results in perfect romantic nights star-gazing on Nikki-beach-inspired lounging chairs without any city lights to hide the hundreds of stars we never get to see. Truly magical.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenArounDaWurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    63
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
152
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed at Casa Bonita for 4 nights this summer to use as our home base for a visit to Bahia de Aguilas and I have to say this place is incredible. After the nearly 4-hour, crazy drive from Santo Domingo, arriving at this oasis was other-worldly. The photos don't lie-- the views of the hillside and the ocean are breathtaking and the facilities themselves are beautiful.

The hotel actually owns most of the beautiful, unspoiled, surrounding area and we really enjoyed getting out to enjoy it. We all went on an amazing almost 2-hour horseback ride for only $60 for the 3 of us. My daughter and I went ziplining with the kind assistance of Carlos and "Pina" and my husband hiked through the tropical forest and discovered amazing rivers, waterfalls, and natural pools.

In general, the staff-- in particular Fidel-- was super nice and helpful-- they even offered to pack a cooler for us with water and softdrinks on the morning that we left for Bahia de Aguilas. The food at the restaurante was also great. We met the chef on the morning we left-- she makes killer majarete-- her own spin on a Dominican dessert. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fridani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Indeed. ...it' s really worth it!
Gorgeous ! Beautiful ! Very friendly staff.
Very nice pool, good food (maybe a bit too expensive!)
Bahia de la Aguilas ( 2 hours drive) is really worth the trip,
after 2 h drive it's a nice short boat trip to get there, the sand is amazing white
and the see amazing turquoise.. Never seen it sooo nice. (Only on postcards!!)
Loved to have a swim! And hope to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose the lodge as we wanted to go to Bahia des Aguilas so only booked for two nights. We were unfortunately following the path that the tropical cyclone was too, so the day we arrived,we got there at lunch time, and spent entire afternoon and evening in room as it was pouring and pouring and pouring with rain. Staff were sweet and brought us our dinner to the room. There is no tv but wifi is good, nice when it's raining!! Food was good, staff very attentive and professional and friendly. Views and property were gorgeous. Pool super. Food a bit expensive but was v good quality. We were supposed to get a welcome gift and she didn't know about that, so didn't get anything, not a big deal though I guess. we didn't end up going to the special beach which was the whole reason for trip there, but instead spent day at pool, spa and exploring the local beaches and villages for photos, as the weather wasn't perfect and we didn't want to drive the 2 hour journey each way to be confronted by more rain.. Will have to go back and hopefully make it to the beach next time! Spa was really heavenly!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, grandson and I stayed at Casa Bonita for a short 4 days. Looking back, I wish we would have booked it for a month. Even though we were in a hotel, we always felt as if we were in our own vacation home. The entire hotel staff was attentive, warm, and responsive to all of our needs. In fact, my wife and I made a request directly to the general manager, and within an hour, the request was fulfilled beyond our expectations. My wife and I received a wonderful spa treatment near the river which made our stress melt away. All of the tours and activities were planned in a manner that made us feel as if we were the only guest. We were never hurried or made to feel as if we were a bother, in fact, one of the masseuse stayed beyond her work schedule in order to accommodate our couples massage. The food was delicious!!! My wife, being Dominican, is very critical of hotel food in her own country. However, she raved about the meals and it's "homemade" quality and taste. The restaurant staff and the chef ensured that my 8 year old picky eater grandson alway looked forward to his meals. You cannot leave the hotel without trying the zip line or taking a stroll in the river. Casa Bonita is paradise!!!

Room Tip: Suite # 114...own private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruydye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Casa Bonita has wonderful service and a wonderful view. Last year, we spent our first holiday together at Casa Bonita and in two weeks, we will return to Casa Bonita to relax and to celebrate another great year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Los_Lokitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel is practically in the middle of nowhere its well worth the trip if you are looking for a more unique hotel stay. The food is great and the prices are reasonable. Please do the zip line!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barahona
1.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#3 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#2 of 6 in Barahona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
130.1 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Platon
Rancho Platon
#2 of 10 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge

Property: Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge
Address: Km. 17 Carretara de La Costa, Barahona, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Barahona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the weekend retreat of the Schiffino family, Casa Bonita has been budged by nature to open its doors to outside guest and become an eco-lodge. Located in Barahona, in the still unspoiled and secluded southwest region of the Dominican Republic and adjacent to the only biosphere reserve in the country, Casa Bonita offers a unique ecological experience.A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge consists of 12 Deluxe Rooms & 1 Ocean View Suite, a Spa and Restaurant featuring naturally grown products from the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bonita Hotel Barahona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing