We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel is practically in the middle of nowhere its well worth the trip if you are looking for a more unique hotel stay. The food is great and the prices are reasonable. Please do the zip line!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 297 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

In may 2013, my family (3 couples, 2 bachelors and one baby) spent 2 wonderful days in this magnificent place with one of the most beautiful views of the beaches of the Caribbean, located in a tropical paradise surrounded by forests, near Barahona city, place without hordes of turists, having a support team extremely careful and active, allowing for a peaceful stay.

highly recommend especially for couples, birds watchers and for those who want to rest.

the view, special pool, spas, ecotourism service restaurant with excellent food, Creole and international, especially with seafood and Italian. Has only 12 cabins with panoramic views of the beach and a river, with stupendous vision.

only drawback is the absence of cable television.

According to the manager that deficiency must be resolved until July 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you would like to avoid the tourist trap of the the other destinations in the Dominican Republic, this is the best that you could ever ask for. Perched above the beautiful beaches and mountains of Barahona, this is an oasis of relaxation, comfort, and high quality service. The grounds are extremely well designed, the outdoor spa is situated along a river in a tree canopy rainforest, and the pool and dining areas are fabulous. More than anything, the staff are kind, and always there to make you feel at home, but not pushy. This is a delightful hotel and I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I love Casa Bonita and I highly recommend this hotel. Everything in this hotel is perfect, The Customer Service is one of the best in this world. I stay in hotels at least every other month so I know what I'm talking about. They will do anything to make your stay pleasant. No request is too little or too big. They will go out the way to make you feel comfortable and relax. They have two guys at the swimming pool that they would come to you whenever you need them. They are there to help you with anything and by the next day they would even guess what do you need! I'm not exaggerating. Those guys work hard to make the customer feel like a queen or king for a day. Thanks so much to the 2 Lenny, Ohmar & Leo. You gave me the best vacation ever by being there for me when all I needed was to relax. When I got to the hotel I was very stressed out and when I left a very relax woman, I got a great lavender anti stress massage which I recommend that you get when you get there. The room are very clean and relax and the view is spectacular, I loved getting up in the morning looking at the ocean and the mountain, I booked three days and I added an extra day since I didn't want to leave.

The food was delicious and it's very fresh. The vegetable come from their own garden. If you have any request of how you want your food to be prepared the chef would do it for you. The prices are very reasonable too. Don't believe the prior review that the food was expensive. It is not true,
This place is to relax only therefore there is no nightlife. But you can ask anyone in the hotel and they will tell you about the local places to go out dancing. I went out one night and I danced a lot and had so much fun. The local places only play Latino Music though,

I want everyone to go to my second house now which is Casa Bonita in Barahona. I recommend it 100%. Before I went to Casa Bonita I had planned to visit a few countries for the next year and I'm about to cancel at least one so that I can be in Casa Bonita again.
If you have any questions about this hotel please write me at lilicastillo2@gmail.com.

Thanks gracias again to the whole staff of Casa bonita who took great care of me while I was there, De veras que se le agradece de corazon,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilianaCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A true gem in the area and the only place we would stay on that portion of the island. My husband and I just spent a week at this hotel and it was comfortable and pleasant. The main areas of the hotel (lobby, open-air lounge, pool area, and especially the restaurant/bar) offer an excellent ambiance with wonderful views and a clean tropical aesthetic. The rooms themselves are spacious with great little private decks (though do understand that the rooms, at least where we stayed, are adjoining in a staggered fashion, so directly back and to the right of our deck was the other deck, and so on).The rooms were kept clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The air conditioning and fan were in great working order. The only real downside to the room as far as we could see was that there was no little fridge to store food and water – an important feature if you do not plan to eat all meals at the hotel and/or want to pack lunches to head out for a beach day. Granted, given that electricity itself can be a bit of a commodity in the area, this is to be expected and is understandable. For those who prefer to stay in the hotel all day, and do things such as spa treatments, swim in a pool, drink, rest, etc, the atmosphere would be quite luxurious. The hotel did inform us that they had trail bikes and trails available to use, a zip line, and a few other activities, though we spent most of our time “out and about” in the area. For the adventurous and confident driver (hint hint), we recommend having a car and going out to see what the rest of the area is truly like – because the hotel definitely provides an oasis of luxury in an otherwise far-from-luxurious area. Don't get us wrong, though, that's what we wanted! That's why we drove the 4-5 hours from Santo Domingo to stay at Casa Bonita; we wanted to be able to explore and see the “real” Dominican but to also have a safe, comfortable, and happy place to return to each night – and that is exactly what we got. If you rent a car, this hotel makes a wonderful base. The town of Barahona makes a good place to get provisions (there are two supermarkets withing a block of each other, Supermercado Jacob and HYM supermercado), restaurants, a chain pizza place similar to Pizza Hut (called Pala Pizza) a BON ice cream store on a park and numerous little clothing and gift shops. Do be aware that stores are open typically from 9-5 so if you need provisions get them prior to 5. There is also a great little restaurant that makes totally delicious pizza called Hollywood Parador maybe 30 minutes or so west of the hotel and makes a fun and inexpensive dinner out. As far as the hotel itself, what stood out to us was the staff. As many reviewers point out, the staff here is what really sets it apart. They are professional, pleasant, and willing to do whatever it takes. The front office always had someone in it ready to great us, even at odd hours of the night when we returned and the restaurant staff was amazing. There were several men who waited on our tables at our meals and they were quite pleasant and professional. The dining service provided was akin to what one may find in a very nice restaurant back in the US. The food was delicious, too! Breakfasts were totally amazing with plenty to choose from and fresh fruits, breads & jam, coffees, juices, etc, were always provided. If we had been the type to stick around and lounge at the hotel, eating every single meal there would have been an entirely happy experience. Another “must do” in our opinion was to make the trek to Bahia de las Aguilas, which is about a 2 hour and 15 minute drive towards the Haiti border. From a small village there you can hire a boat to take you on a 15 minute boat ride to one of the most spectacular beaches we have seen (and we have traveled to Tahiti, Bora Bora, Puerto Rico, etc). I do believe the hotel can help set you up in this regard, as well. We also found a fabulous beach with not a soul on it near the hotel. After turning right out of the driveway, there is a left hand road that parallels the coast. After a minute or two of driving through a little community, there will be a full beach in sight and parking the car on the edge of the road worked well. Just understand that the waves all over this side of the island were fairly rough and we were not able to actually swim or enter the water anywhere except for the Bahia de las Aguilas I mentioned earlier. This is vital to know if you plan on staying at Casa Bonita for a “beach vacation”. We learned to adapt by making the long haul for two days of unbeatable beaching at Aguilas. Overall, Casa Bonita definitely gets two thumbs up from us and will be our destination of choice if we return to the island. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the common areas are immaculate, and the staff is as friendly as one would hope. We enthusiastically recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Narcissse529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our family of 7 just enjoyed a wonderful time at Casa Bonita. From the time we arrived, we received excellent service (despite a mix-up with our rooms which was quickly resolved).

We live in the Dominican Republic, so we drove in. We were very impressed when, the following day, we went out and discovered our vehicle had been washed.

The rooms were very nice, and clean (a big thing with my wife). The infinity pool was a hit with my children who absolutely loved it (we have 5 children).

The second night we were able to stay in the Honeymoon Suite which is about 4 times larger than a regular room. Absolutely amazing - well-decorated, beautiful views (as all the rooms do)...

A nice surprise was the quality of the restaurant. A lot of detail is put into every meal, whether breakfast, dinner or just a snack. This is the best food we've eaten in the Dominican, hands-down.

We didn't tour the area much, seeing as live in the country, but there seems to be lots of things to do, with a nearby beach that's apparently very nice. The hotel grounds itself also offers tennis and other amenities (though we just swam and relaxed).

Room Tip: If you're a family of more than 5, book the honeymoon suite instead of 2 separate rooms. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are from Europe and spent a few days at the Hotel in January. Here are the up and downs.
Ups. Gorgeous view, nice pool, nice rooms, beautiful restaurant, good drinks, attentive staff who aim to please, very nice food, zip lining was a delight and the spa is out of this world.
Downs: The hotels needs to be updated. Broken lounge chairs, the deck around the pool is is cracked and needs repair and the front desk staff is highly inadequate. The hotel could be a five star hotel but is really run like a three star. The housekeeping is below average and the upkeep of the hotel all around is below average. They don't even have a car to take you to the beach...everything seems to be run in this below luxury standard way. However, we had a nice time on our couples get-a-way. The best part of the spa which was magical. I reccomend the stone massage. Heaven by the river.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graciedogrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barahona hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
130 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#3 of 6 in Barahona
71 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#2 of 6 in Barahona
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramica Barahona
Hotel Panoramica Barahona
#1 of 15 in Barahona
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Platon
Rancho Platon
#2 of 10 in Barahona
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge

Address: Km. 17 Carretara de La Costa, Barahona, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Barahona
Price Range: $260 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the weekend retreat of the Schiffino family, Casa Bonita has been budged by nature to open its doors to outside guest and become an eco-lodge. Located in Barahona, in the still unspoiled and secluded southwest region of the Dominican Republic and adjacent to the only biosphere reserve in the country, Casa Bonita offers a unique ecological experience.A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge consists of 12 Deluxe Rooms & 1 Ocean View Suite, a Spa and Restaurant featuring naturally grown products from the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Bonita Tropical Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bonita Hotel Barahona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing