We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice get-away, great food, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casablanca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barahona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #2 of 14 Barahona B&B and Inns
Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice get-away, great food, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

The room that I had was a good size. But this is not a place where you go for room amenities. Please note that there is no a/c, a curtain separating the bathroom from the other space and the shower will most likely be cold. You go here to get away and take in the breathtakingly beautiful view, peace, quiet, and listen to the waves while you sleep. Suzanna is the owner and she is an AMAZING COOK. The cost for her dinner is an extra $30 a night but it is gourmet and fresh. Breakfast is included and it is wonderful as well. Internet available on the terrace. There is a ten minute walk to a private beach,.The stone and coral block the waves so you can snorkel and enjoy calm waters. We saw very few people while there and had the beach entirely to ourselves. Ten minute car ride to San Rafael river where the waves are huge and the food is great. My experience was worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamhicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

If my rating was based purely on the hotel aspects I would have given the Hotel CasaBlanca a 3 instead of a 4. The rooms a rather small and spartan; with a queen-size bed, a night stand, a small table and an armoire. The bathroom is small and only has a cutain seperating it from the bedroom. The ceiling fan & oscillating fan make up for the lack of A/C.
The grounds are well maintained and the views are wonderful. The breakfast was filling, but not remarkable and the hotel does not serve lunch, but the dinners are great. Susanna's cooking, particularly her seafood dishes, are incredibly delicious and worthy of any fine restaurant.
The website gives directions for bus riders, but you really need a car. Barahona is 6 miles east and the closest decent beach is over 1/2 mile west (don't even consider swimming at the hotel's "beach"). You'll need to drive into Barahona for anything other than relaxation & dinner. The city is very clean and the people are very friendly. There is a wide variety of shopping and several great bars & small restaurants.

NOTE: No cell phone service. There is adequate wi-fi, but you'll have to use an iffy SKYPE connection to make any calls. If you're trying to find the hotel on Google Maps, look for Hotel El Quemaito. Casablanca is the set of buildings next to that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Casablanca hotel. A Caribbean dream come true. The hotel is on a cliff by the sea. While standing on the natural balcony (the top of the cliff where lounging chairs are placed) you can enjoy the view and sounds of the water smashing against the rocks. The locations itself is pretty out of the way and this is definitely not the place (or any place in the Dominican South for that matter) if you want to experience a happening nightlife or excitement. It's all about relaxation. Since the hotel itself is on a cliff there is no beach, however, there are great beaches nearby. San Rafael is about a ten minute drive away and is amazing. A river empties out into the ocean at that spot and you can swim in the river while on the beach.

The rooms are very basic. There is no air conditioning so the fan and the Caribbean breeze would have to do. It was an unforgettable experience to fall asleep with the waves as background.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfmirand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived one Saturday evening after a long day's work, and the tranquility of Hotel Casablanca was exactly what we needed. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and drinks which makes you wanna stay for lunch as well. Sadly we couldn't.

Clean, spacey rooms, ours didn't offer AC, but it wasn't needed anyway. Even though it was a hot Caribbean summer's night, I slept like a baby cooled by the breeze and the fan.

Probably not the place to go if you're searching for discos and partying, but for couples, friends or relaxing, the ocean view straight from the natural "balcony" and/or a late night swim at the private beach will probably take the edge of just about anything.

Within apr 10 kms going westwards you'll find the Playa San Rafael. One advice: don't miss it! A beautiful beach including a series of fresh water pools from the river running down the hillside (I suppose). that way you get the combo of salty beach life and the refreshing river all in one. You can buy food or beverages and souvenirs, but you don't get bothered by anyone like you would at more "touristified" beaches. Got crowded during the early afternoon hours, but during the morning (11 -> 13 on a Sunday) it was quite quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmikomiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

wonderful personalized service - a small boutique hotel.
rooms are spatan and basic but you are here for the views and the food!
out of the way place but that is Barahona
Susanna is a great chef - worth visiting just for her meals but the location is beautiful and tranquil

Room Tip: all of the rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calbokool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

After staying at Hotel Casablanca, my wife and I always compare other hotels to this exceptional place. It will forever be remembered as one of our favorite hotels. These are strong words, but places like this are few and far between. Susanna, the owner, is an amazing person and an outstanding host. She warmly welcomed us and made us feel like guests in her own home throughout our stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable, airy, and personalized with Susanna's creative touches. A beautiful garden provides shade to read or a spot to enjoy the stunning view of the ocean. Last but not least, the food! Susanna's cooking is unforgettable! After living in and traveling around the DR, we feel that we can say with some authority that her food is the best you will find in the country. We loved how guests are served dinner at one table. This turned the meal into a cozy dinner party and we had so much fun with Susanna and the other guests. We would like to just move in and stay there for the duration of our stay here in the DR, but since we cannot, we are already looking forward to our next visit with Susanna at Casablanca.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloAK_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

The view from the hotel is marvelous, the food is fabulous, and the personal attention from the owner, Susanna Knapp is incredible. The hotel is small and very peaceful. The owner is an excellent host. I felt like I was a guest at a friend's house by the sea instead of a hotel. The hotel is situated by a cream colored cliff with a great view of the sea. The patio and gardens are a great place to relax and enjoy a cold drink after a day of sightseeing. Do not even consider going anywhere else for dinner. The owner, Suasanna Knapp is a fantastic chef. Dinner was absolutely delicious! I would love for her to move to the United States and open a restaurant in my town. The dining area and adjacent patio was very cozy and relaxing. After dinner, she inquired if I wanted a drink but I already had a large beer before dinner so I declined. Nevertheless, she poured me a glass of rum, which was very good and on the house. She treats you like a guest in her own house. My room was very large and had a circulating fan. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the room, was just as excellent as dinner. An assortment of home made breads, cereal, meats, juices, tea, and eggs, which are made to your order, was provided in ample supply. The coffee was made to perfection and very good.
Her friendliness and helpfulness was tested in a most unusual way. I was travelling solo during this trip and I had an accident while hiking a few miles away from the hotel. My ankle was broken. I was taken to a local hospital where Susanna met me in the emergency room. She stayed with me the the entire time even during the procedure. She went to the pharmacy and the bank for me and drove me back to the hotel. She arranged for a flight back to the United States, made arrangements for the return of the rental car, transportation back to Santa Domingo, and called the American Embassy to inform my spouse at home of the accident. I was treated as if I was a guest in a friend's house who had an unfortunate accident rather than a guest at a hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Dominican Republic. This is a true gem and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anolis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barahona
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#3 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#2 of 6 in Barahona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Oasi Italiana
Hotelito Oasi Italiana
#2 of 3 in Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramica Barahona
Hotel Panoramica Barahona
#1 of 14 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Campo el Suizo | Juan Esteban, km 10, Barahona, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Barahona
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing