We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning Place

This is one of Chiapas landmark... Cañon del Sumidero and you can't leave without experience this... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
lunaschanel
,
San Diego, California
via mobile
A need to go place!!!

Really nice place to go and visit. You need to go at this place and visit the miradores too. This... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2018
SergioRamz
,
San Diego, California
via mobile
Read all 341 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tuxtla Gutierrez
from $63.00
More Info
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
266
52
13
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
52
13
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip national park the river amazing views del sumidero spider monkeys stunning place grand canyon hour tour couple of hours nice view pesos per person main plaza points wildlife nature tours
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 341 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We orginally were going to do the boat tour one in our party got ill and wasn't to being on the water, so we opted to drive this scenic road that takes you to five scenic lookout points. Four are right on the road one requires a 700m walk on a gravel path. At the start of the road you pay an entry fee and then it is a narrow windy drive with excellent views of the sprawlingTuxtla. I'm surprised how few people visit this place. At the time it was just us and a couple driving up the road, the views are stunning with the last view of the bend in the canyon mind blowing. This is probably one of the best drives in Mexico. I would recommend bringing binoculars it is great viewing all the activity in the canyon.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

This is a must see in Tuxtla. Although the drive is through winding roads and a bit tiring, the end result is worth it. The views from the viewing deck are just spectacular. Not much to say. A must see for any visitor but definitely a must see for the photographers out there.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Pupasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Beautiful canyon, lots to see including huge crocodiles, great price around 90 pesos for about 2 hours up the river.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank culturetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016

This National Park appears to be little known outside of Chiapas. You have 2 options when visiting the area. You can drive up to the midadores which are 5 high look out points with amazing views of the river or you can take a 2 hour guided boat ride through the Canyon. I recommend doing both. On my last trip we drove up the mountain to the well maintained look out points with amazing views in the morning and then had lunch in Tuxla G. After lunch we boarded the near by tour boats. I enjoyed pulling right up to the resting crocodiles on the bank of the river . The whole slow paced day trip took about 7 hours from San Cristobal . We utilized a guide service . Don't go all the way to San Cristobal and miss this National Park.

Date of experience: August 2016
5  Thank jfaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

This place is a Must-see for anyone visiting Chiapas. Many people take the boat tour to the Canyon but not the "Miradores". They don't know what they are missing!

The sights from the observation points are breathtaking. You can easily spend a full day on this tour if you wish, but if your time is limited, then start with the highest observation point, which is the best place to see the Canyon, and stay there as long as you wish.

The tourist services in the area are limited, though. Also, be ready for the chilling weather. Also, sometimes it might get windy or cloudy, the experience is worth the try, anyway.

Enjoy!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank IbnBattuta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews