We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed for a week in this hotel and it started off good but ended back. The beds are very comfortable and nice new T.V.s in the room. Nice pool area and bar and restaurant in the lobby. The breakfast was just Ok but a little over priced I thought = $16. Please watch your tips, when we checked out we had charges on our bill we did not understand. Most of the tips are already included in your bills (Food, bar, etc…) but they don’t state that when you sign for them. We found out that we were actually tipping twice. My last night there I woke up with some type of bites on my back, I have no idea what they were from but my first guess was bed bugs. When I got home I took the proper steps of throwing away my luggage and taking my cloths to a laundry mat to clean all of my stuff, so far no more bites in my own home. Also the last night I was there, I ordered room service (ice cream) woke up the next day and was sick for the next two days with intense stomach problems or montezuma’s revenge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Matt H,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
17
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We arrived after a 10 hour journey; Reception processed our arrival promptly and rapidly.Our room was bright, spacious and welcoming. We were able to get a snack in the adjacent Liverpool shopping centre. There was little to criticise about this very good commercial hotel except the sound proofing in the room was not good and despite the coffee making facility there was no tea nor milk. Equally there was no BBC world new or CNN otherwise good value for money and recommended.

Worth having breakfast in VIPS just out from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado sr. Jandjfarnhamcommon

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo y escribir la reseña a nuestro hotel.
Nos complace saber que disfruto su estancia en nuestro hotel, por lo que me asegurare se hacer llegar sus comentarios a todo el personal de hote, tambien aprovecho para comentarle que gracias a sus cometarios ya estamos haciendo los ajustes pertinenpes para cumplir con todas las espectativas de nuestros huespedes.

Agradecemos su tiempo y por favor considereme permanentemente a sus ordenes.

Cordialmente

Susana garcia bastida
Gerente general
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was supposed to be the best in the city.... sooo not true, the installations are shared with the Holiday Inn so a lot of people on the premises, the restaurant unimpressive, bland food. but the worst thing is the management, After being promised a complimentary night if they didn't wake up the gusts on time, I received a call from 05:00 in the morning every 10 minutes until 07:00, of course no response from the front desk. when confronted about the complimentary night promise they denied they told me it would be credited to my account. Of course that didn't happen. Then even the manager stopped taking my calls. Its not the money, Its the principle!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jose Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihg care at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Very nice hotel in TG. Highly recommend for those who like complete comfort. Rooms very well appointed...I loved the beds, very plush and right up to par with the same beds at Crowne Plaza in the USA. The pool is a great oasis with lovely landscaped surroundings. While we were there, professional models were being photographed in the lush surroundings. Staff was exceptional...so good in fact, I still miss their warm smiles....A great mall is right across the street with a wide array of stores...a nice Sanborns right inside has a great restaurant - try the steaming hot chocolate! A tip for all travellers....in front of the hotel is the VIPS restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch and dinners..i save money eating breakfast here each morning as it is a good 50% cheaper than the hotel's restaurant...food quaility is excellent and the coffee is organic from the Chiapas highlands....For dinner, go to Las Pichanchas and learn about the traditional customs with dancers who narrate it's cultural meaning - see website: http://www.laspichanchas.com.mx/

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Dave9988:

We thank you for letting us know what you recommend to other people about our hotel and services. We hope you can visit us again as you did many years ago, so we can offer you the best service.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

We only stayed one night at the Crowne Plaza in Tuxtla Gutierrez on the way home from San Cristobal. The hotel is very comfortable with quiet but powerful air conditioning, large clean rooms and very comfortable beds. As it was quite hot in Tuxtla, the pool was nice (open until 11pm) and the breakfast buffet (open 7am to noon) is filled with Mexican dishes, lots of fresh juices and fruits and an egg/omelette bar. The hotel is right across the street from a huge modern mall (Plaza Crystal) that has a food court, Liverpool department store and a Chedraui supermarket. A Vips restaurant is next to the hotel parking lot. A cost saving tip: the hotel also offers a FREE shuttle to the Tuxtla airport that runs through out the day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Skaterdad:

We are glad to know you had a great experience by staying in our hotel. We would like you to come back soon and let us serve you as we did so many years ago.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

I spent my wedding night at this hotel. My wife is from this city and she wanted to stay at the nicest place the first night. It looked like the most luxurious hotel around.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nothing to mention
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jehoshaphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Jehoshaphat:

Thanks for sharing your experience during your staying in Crowne Plaza. We are glad to know you and your wife decided to visit our place. We would like to serve you again. Thanks for your preference.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

Another big chain hotel, but since I was headed to more rustic sites, I chose to stay in comfort for the first night.
Nice pool, very comfy beds, althought the pillows were strangely big and hard--check out the "pillow menu" that we made fun of--you'll be glad you did! (I dreamed I slept with my head on a stool!)
Skip the free continental breakfast in the dingy little room at the Crowne Plaza and go to the attached Holiday Inn for the big breakfast buffet. Much better food, selection, and pool view.
Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable, nice pool
  • Disliked — generic, not a lot of "sense of place"
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bossafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Bossafin:

We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We will be anxiously waiting for you to come back to the city and stay in Crowne Plaza again.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#10 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutie...
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#8 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez
Address: Avenida Belisario Dominguez 1081B, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has 112 rooms. Comfortables and spacious rooms ideal for a pleasant break with all the amenities for business, safe, hairdryer, iron, coffee maker, bar, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing