We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Nearby Hotels
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez(Tuxtla Gutierrez)
$96
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel(Tuxtla Gutierrez)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diverxo Hotel y Villas(Tuxtla Gutierrez)
$30
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Miguel(Tuxtla Gutierrez)
$27
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Tres Central(Tuxtla Gutierrez)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Del Carmen(Tuxtla Gutierrez)
$29
$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
335
119
25
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
119
25
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolgood sizelarge clean roomsvery nice hotelbreakfast buffet ispillowsamenities
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 499 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After 10 hours driving to Tuxtla, Gutierrez, all we wanted was to take a shower and sleep. Very disappointed. Shower delivered steaming hot and ice cold water unexpectedly. Room was OK, however it only offered one wastebasket. Holiday Inn's policy to save the Earth by not changing towels everyday, didn't work. We left our towels hanging in the bathroom as suggested and we got fresh towels every day. We ended up with 6 towels for 2 people. The hotel ran out of ice in each and every food and beverage location offered in the premises. Servers said the ice machines had not been working for a while, reason why they were constantly buying ice bags across the street. Porter at the motor lobby needs greeting training. He never acknowledged us driving in. Awful location due to the 24 hour traffic rush street. Main roads to tourist attractions were under repair or reconstruction. Construction dust covered the whole city. Look for another hotel where to stay if considering the area as a possible vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear HectorRodriguez,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. Our goal is to ensure complete guest satisfaction however it is regrettable that we weren't able to provide one on this occasion particularly with the shower facility's condition and amenities' state being a disappointment. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My rating of two stars is based on hotels in this price range and not on all hotels.

PLUSES

 A nice swimming pool with seating.
 Conveniently located for a VIPS (OK Mexican food – affordable and salads surprisingly good) a Chedraui supermarket and buses around town. The main ADO / OCC bus terminal is 2km away (MEX$35 by taxi).
 Usual Holiday Inn features: safe in the room, coffee machine, desk, flat screen TV, plenty of towels, etc.


NEGATIVES

 Internet slow – not possible to watch YouTube and even radio dropped several times. Access to websites very slow and many wouldn’t load unless I repeated my request. A little card in my room told me that there was complimentary hi-speed internet access: it certainly wasn’t delivered. They changed the internet software during my stay but left it to guests to go to reception and find out why they could no longer access the internet. Not good service.
 Room dated, with a musty old motel smell – just about acceptable but not nice. The desk chair is basically broken with the seat height not adjustable and the back bent: no back support and not great for anyone of above average height. There is a soft chair in the room that smells musty and looks like the type of chair an elderly aunt / uncle would use in the 1960s.
 The windows are single panes and louvers at the top make them poor at stopping noise. My room overlooked the pool and I can hear the musak clearly – nothing I would choose to listen to. It went on until 10pm (even though no one used the pool or sat around it all evening). A large air conditioner is nearby and it has a deep rumble. This unit ran all night (even though it wasn’t a hot night) and I needed earplugs to block out the noise.
 There are few restaurants nearby: a short taxi ride to the center takes you to more restaurants.

I changed room after one night. I replaced a rumbling air conditioning unit for a noisy road at the other end of the hotel. But this room was less musty.

CONCLUSION

For a holiday I want a pleasant place to stay: this hotel was tolerable but not pleasant. For this price there are better hotels in town. The Fiesta Inn and Hilton Gardens Inn are both newer, ranked higher on Trip Advisor and both have good pools. I wouldn’t stay here again, and had I not pre-paid I would have checked-out after one night and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Joe_33,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities particularly with the room condition and internet service. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked a room with points since it was very convenient compared to other IHG options in the area. I know this hotel from long time ago, when it used to be named Flamboyant. Despite its age, I was glad to see that the hotel has been renovated and in very good conditions. The highlight: very helpful and kind staff. I needed to keep a box in refrigeration during my stay and they offered to do it in the restaurant kitchen, which was a great help. It is located right next to a shopping mall with reataurants, cafes and lots of services, not far from the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado thetravelerabc:
Muchas gracias por su reseña de nuestro hotel. Me complace saber que disfrutó su estancia con nosotros y que considere que recibió un buen servicio. Es motivo de gran orgullo para nuestro personal, por lo que valoramos muchos sus comentarios. Nos aseguraremos de transmitir sus amables comentarios a todo nuestro personal.
La próxima vez que visite nuestro restaurante, dele un vistazo a nuestro extenso menú de postres, ¡el cual es delicioso! Gracias nuevamente por hospedarse con nosotros. Como miembro de IHG Rewards Club, realmente lo agradecemos.

Sinceramente,
Susana García Bastida
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, not consecutive. First time the staff was nice, helpful. Room was nice, good windows, good bed, good pillows.Second time back, the front desk (Abraham) person was awful, he could not find our reservations and told us they were full.
We had to go through our mails to find them and demonstrate/prove we had reserved a room for the night.
Then, we had to haggle, because he didn't want to give us the same rate as a two days before (and the day before at the San cristóbal de las casas Holiday Inn), in the end we had to pay a bit more. The room was small, bed was terrible, pillows full of lumps, we had to call and ask for the wifi keyword and the coffee, didn´t get the scratch coupon... Food is so-so. Wifi is terrible all the time. It was clean both times. Very nice gift shop. You might get less than what you paid for, specially on the client service area, but then again, you might find it a very ok place. Two hotels in one!

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, they have some very small ones. Also, check the pillows! They have some very good and some are terrible. Round the pool is nice if you have kids.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Cristina M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to consistently provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am pleased that you returned to the hotel, but I am sorry that your experience this time was not as pleasant as your previous stay. It is regrettable that you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A symptomatic example of a wannabe-upscale hotel in a remote place. Very frequented and considered top-of-the-cream by locals, it fails to provide some basics for people from the outside. Arriving almost at 1am, I had to wait almost 10mins. to be checked in, as apparently nobody was prepared to handle the checkins arriving roughly at the same time by cabs from the last flight from the Capital. The receptionist only wanted to get rid of his job as fast as possible, providing no further information to the guest, such as the need of an additionnal procedure to allow room charges (despite credit card presented). Rooms were quite OK, although there was not much more beyond the basics; yet everything was functional, a big plus was a large bathroom with a tub, quiet aircon and a fast and free wifi. Unfortunately though, all the rooms face some industry hall which is a source of noise from as soon as 6am. Another issue was a lack of signposting in the hotel, the restaurant was not easy to find, and apparently there are more restaurants on the premises which do not share the same conditions for guests. Having been handed a discount voucher upon checkin, to my big surprise it was not good for the restaurant where I had the breakfast; being thus ultimately useless. Not sure if I will return to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado MartinZZ:

Antes que nada agradecemos por haberse tomado el tiempo para escribir sus comentarios. lamentamos leer que tuvo una estancia menos agradable con nosotros; ciertamente actualmente están presentes factores externos como la construcción contigua perteneciente a otra propiedad, la cual ha sido causa de su molestia. Cabe destacar que estamos comprometidos con la calidad en el servicio y en el cumplimiento de los estándares de nuestra marca para ofrecer servicios de calidad.

Gracias a sus comentarios ya se están implementando acciones que nos permitan perfeccionar ciertos puntos de interés para nuestros clientes, por lo que lamentamos que los factores mencionados hayan impactado en su experiencia con nosotros, esperamos poder ofrecerle una estancia mas placentera en el futuro de lo cual estaremos plenamente complacidos en atenderle.

Sinceramente:
Susana García
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews