We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant hotel”

Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
634 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A really pleasant hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is well located being near restaurants and a shopping mall. Check-in was painfully slow. The hotel restaurants are a bit pricey but have very good service and food. There is a huge pool area that is alive with songbirds. The rooms are spacious with good bathrooms and are kept clean. The beds were comfortable with a selection of pillows. All staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Dear Weerobbie:

We thank you for leaving such a detailed review. Your comments are very important to us. We would be glad to serve you again in your next visit to the city.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    76
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
62
40
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a nice chain hotel with a shopping-mall close to do any quick shopping. The pool is nice, the food in the buffet is also good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The internet service is located in one partner hotel (Crowne Plaza) where you can print and check your mail.

The only inconvenience we found was for the New Year's event reservation where they told us that there was no more tables (even if we did the reservation a month before) and the manager yelled at us. At the end they solved the misunderstanding by putting us in a table very close to the stage and the speakers.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, pick the rooms with Pool-View, that's the nicest you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanvzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear juanvzla,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding food selection and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was nice but very old. The room were not very well maintained and the shower area was not very clean. The reception guy at the night we arrived was helpfull and gave us lots of good advices on the city and the area but the woman that was there during the morning didn't knew a thing, even the prices she gave us on the hotel services were wrong.
The Wifi was terrible and didn't work during most of our stay, but they let us use the buisness center of the Crown plaza hotel (Same hotel different reception).
The breakfast was excellent but it's not included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agartal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear agartal,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service.

However, We’re sorry we fel below your expectation regarding the room condition, cleanliness and internet access. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Holiay Inn Tuxtla for five days as we took tours to different parts of the state.

Although it is across the street from a shopping mall there wasn't a lot to see near by and not that much to see in Tuxtla for that matter. It is convenient to the airport and a nice jumping off points to places like San Critobal de las Casas or even Palenque if you have some time.

The hotel was about average. Not sure if it was due to the holidays but service was just so so. A phone was broken for two days before it was fixed, the ice machine didn't work, just little details that tend to add up although it was a fair value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramiro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris_Tru, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, September 17, 2015
Dear Ramiro G:

We appreciate your opinion about our services at the hotel. We invite you to come back in order for us to serve you again and show you the way we have improved. Thanks for your comments.

Greetings.

Iris Trujillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comofrtable hotel, good location in front of shopping center and restaurants. This hotel shares grounds with the neighbor Holiday Inn, so it can get a bit crowded in the morning in the restaurant area. The breakfast buffet is very good. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, more on the soft side, good internet in the room. Rooms service is good too, only one day it was very slow about 1.5 hours for some drinks. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear bubyzz

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments, we are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and consider you received an excellent service; sorry unfavorable experience with room service services, we welcome your observations regarding what happened, your feedback will help us strengthen and meet the expectations of all our clients and guests.

sincerely

Susana Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during my trip to Tuxtla Gutierrez to visit family and friends and for the couple days I was there, it was quite an experience. The grounds are very neatly kept and the pool is amazing with the palm trees and tropical scenery. Service was fantastic, the staff spoke excellent English and they offered outstanding advice as to what there was in the area. The rooms themselves were really clean down to the last nooks and cranies with spacious bathrooms and comfortable beds. Yet, the hotel is quite difficult to find in the bustling urban neighborhoods of Tuxtla, it's a tropical resort in the middle of a city. However, despite the difficulty in location, I really like how it's right next door to a mall and a really good breakfast restaurant called Vips if you find the hotel's breakfasts to be pricey. All and all, this tropical themed hotel in the heart of the urban landscape not only provides excellent service and cleanliness, but also amazing scenery and accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cburr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear cburr11

First of all I want to thank you for your review of our hotel complase me know that you enjoy your stay with us and consider you received excellent service. Right through the improvement actions reaffirm our commitment to our guests to make your experience at our hotel unforgettable.

Thanks for staying with us permanently Consider us your orders.

cordially

Susana Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well, all is still well at the Crowne Plaza. This is our third stay in 5 years and it still is the premier hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez. Over the last 2 years, the lobby has been updated with new furniture and furnishings. As we have always done, we went to VIPS (right next to the hotel) for breakfast and as usual it was wonderful - and 1/2 the price of the hotel restaurant. We could only stay one night, but enjoyed it immensely and will surely stay again when we return.

Room Tip: If you have children under 12, take them to the ZOOMAT and be sure to visit Sumidero Canyon and San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Dave9988

Muchas Gracias por su reseña de nuestro hotel. Nos complace saber que disfruto su estancia con nosotros y que considere que recibio un buen servicio el cual es de gran orgullo para los que laboramos en Crowne Plaza tuxtla gutierrez y que las remodelaciones estan teniendo buenos resultados.

agradecemos su lealtad como miembro Priority Club Rewards y como clinte frecuente de su hotel crowne plaza.

por favor considereme permanentemente a sus ordenes.

Susana Garcia
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#15 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#5 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#8 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez

Property: Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Address: Belisario Dominguez Km 1081, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place of Magic, Natural Adventure and beauties. Chiapas offers an enormous variety of Beauties, Climates and CulturesTuxtla Gutierrez is the entrance to know the Culture Maya...Tuxtla Gutiérrez invites to know the different attractive tourist natural as the Cañon del Sumidero, Chiapa de Corzo, Garden Botanical, Zoo, Regional museum and the Cathedral of San Marcos among many points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuxtla Gutierrez Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing