We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great!!!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Beware of the room they give you !!!! I complained that my room was a dump and they said that because I booked the reservation with a promotional rate that this is the room associated to the promotion. We booked 12 rooms and mine was the only one that was a dump!!!!! Then I had to cancel one night and they said that I have to call the USA to cancel my reservation and they could not help on the cancellation. They charged me the extra night. I speak fluent spanish and they did not understand.The reservation was done thru Best Western. Beware of them!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pepito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    93
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
89
66
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My colleague and I stayed here for two nights last year at the suggestion of a local business partner and we enthusiastically returned this week for a four-night stay. The rooms have been updated since last year. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast buffet is abundant with lots of local specialties. Most noteworthy though is the incredibly attentive staff. Every single person we came across -- and we must have come across at least 25 employees during our stay -- greeted us with a smile and went the extra step to make us feel welcome: Case in point: When our room key cards stopped working on our last day, a bellman saw me walking toward the lobby with the bad key cards and literally ran to me, confirmed what the problem was, handed me his master key to let ourselves into our rooms and took off at a dead run back to the lobby (about 100 meters) with our key cards to get them fixed and ran back to us about three minutes later with the working key cards. The hotel is very convenient to (i.e., across the street from) the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Chiapas (UNACH) and it's about a 10-minute drive to downtown. I agree with our friend from Tuxtla who recommends this hotel to all out of town visitors.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We walked in the lobby of the Best Western. There was a guest there complaining about the price of the rooms. Why was it cheaper for a room when in you walk in and do not have a reservation, if you had a reservation for the for the room it cost more. About $40 USD more per night per room with reservation. So I walk in to the room, it looked ok. I go to the bathroom and see a JOINT right by the trash can. NOT in the trash on the ground. So I call the front desk and asked if they cleaned the room and they YES. I asked them why was there trash on the ground of the bathroom? They come out and clean it. So I asked for a rollaway bed be sent to my room. They told me It will be there in about 5 min. In about 3 min. someone shows up with some towels. I ask for a rollaway bed. Oh yes it will be here later tonight. We go out to dinner. come back to the room and the rollaway bed was there and the bathroom was clean. The next morning one of co-workers said his room was not clean also. He had blood in bed sheets. He had get new sheets. The next morning we go eat beak fest at the restraint. I ask to be seated out side, party of 10. They told us NO. We had to be seated inside. So go inside. I ask for an omelet and some Orange Juice. I get my omelet, it was over cook. The end of the Omelet was hard. The Orange juice was warm. I look over and look out side, they started to move tables around. They seated a party of 12 out side, I asked they why they get to seat out side and we could not. They had made reservation to be seated out side. Ok then I ask reservation to be seated out side for breakfast tomorrow. The restraint manger was not happy with us. She was pissed off because I ask for a table out side. BAD SERVICE. The next morning we was seated out side, NO one would come be and take our order. We had call for some to come and take the order and bring us drinks. They would walk around our table and ignore us.Way over rated hotel.NOT a 4 star. Maybe a 1 or 2 star. Best Western Palmareca Hotel & SuitesBLVD. BELISARIO DOMINGUEZ 4120-2 COL. JARDINES DE TUXTLA, Tuxtla Gutierrez, 29020, Mexico

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My colleague and I stayed here for two nights while doing business at the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Chiapas, Tuxtla Gutierrez, which is directly across the street from the hotel. The staff was very efficient and attentive, delivered messages, gave lots of tips for our first visit to the city, and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was elaborate and nicely-presented, and the restaurant staff was extremely helpful and hospitable, explaining regional dishes to us, and encouraging us to try dishes that were new to us. The hotel grounds were well-maintained, the room was clean, air conditioning worked, wireless internet in the rooms worked well. The hotel's shuttle to the airport was also efficient and comfortable (air conditioning and bottled water were both appreciated!) and although it only makes two runs a day, if it's going when you are, I'd recommend it. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here and would happily stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

The Best Westerm hotel Arecas is a nice hotel Tuxtla.
Although officially a 4* hotel, I would rate it as a 3* hotel.
The hotel has a nice tropical garden and a small pool and the clean rooms are rather small and noisy, due to a huge air-co.

The breakfast buffet is good, but you hardly find european style dishes, almost everything is mexican style.

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and the staff at the restaurant is very friendly. On the contrary, the guys at the reception were not very helpful and shortspoken.

The location of the hotel is very good (close to the main shopping centre).

My advice: Do not book this hotel through the Best Western homepage, because you can get better fares negotiating directly with the staff.

  • Liked — Garden and pool
  • Disliked — Noisy air-co
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for reasonable fares.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newtowndirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

This might be the best hotel in Tuxtla. Though it is located on the bustling main road, it is quiet as all the rooms are located in a garden setting away from the traffic. It is quiet. The rooms are clean, cool and spacious. It is reasonably priced. Be sure to find out if your room rate comes with complimentary breakfast. It is worth packaging your deal as such. The complimentary breakfast is a huge buffet with a wide array of dishes. We stayed at this hotel on two different occassions in June. It is a lot cheaper to go with the complimentary breakfast than ordering off the menu (unless you want only something like cereal).
The pool is lovely and the staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel is within an easy walk of the shopping mall, numerous interesting small shops and some good restuarants.

Helpful?
2 Thank AnnStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

Nice Hotel. Small and quiet. People are very friendly. Clean.. It´s got Wi-Fi all over the hotel, and they have 2 computers for guests. Great Service. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#10 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#4 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutie...
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palapa Palace
Palapa Palace
#12 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Address: Boulevard Doctor Belisario Dominguez 4120-2 | Col. Jardines De Tuxtla, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29020, Mexico (Formerly Best Western Palmareca Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
#3 Business Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a classic hotel with a quiet enviroment, unique on its class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuxtla Gutierrez
Tuxtla Gutierrez Best Western
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing