We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Comitan, MX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always had good service and clean rooms. I especially love the pool that is set in a jungle surroundings. It is also located in a good area that is easily accessed from the main boulevard and the city bypass. Several good restaurants are nearby as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the boulevard. It can be noisy on weekends because of other establishme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missionminded92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    126
    46
    23
    11
See reviews for
118
105
11
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a nice place to start our vacations through Chiapas. The rooms were clean, spacious and confortable. Decoration is nice, although it could be modernized and windows need cleaning so can enjoy the beautiful view. The food at La Huerta restaurant is ok, The only problem was the noise from the pool when children were playing there at night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Air conditioner NOT working, we had 4 rooms in the same floor (5) and both four rooms had the same problem with A/C.
Worst night in our one week trip to Chiapas. Couldn't sleep at all. Old hotel. Old installations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is a nice structure, yet if you are disabled or just have bad knees, skip this hotel. In order to reach my room, I had to go down a flight of stairs, then up a flight and then take the elevator.
The rooms are comfortable but the pillows are lumpy, not acceptable for this Chain. The maintenance leaves a lot to be desired, the safe was broken, there were 2 lights out in the already dim room. But it is spacious. Noisy in the weekend if there are kids in the pool. Yet the Architecture is beautiful, the inside garden and the great boulders that are part of the structure.
The restaurant is a plus, there is service 24 hours and room service as well. The local cuisine is good.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is straight out of the elevators, not across the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedidocTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
1,092 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel probably knew better days. The architecture, specially in the pool area has some atractive, but maintainance is poor. Broken plugs at the room, bad light concept, lack of coffee machine in the room, uncomfortable beds and pillows....

I did not try the restaurant. Breakfast was just acceptable

The service was polite and the room was clean, that was the only positive thing in this hotel matching price standards

Choose another hotel when in tuxtla

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were only here for one night. The name brought with it great expectations. I can't say it really lived up to what I had expected, but it is a very nice hotel. I was especially disappointed with the quality of the food in the restaurant. Otherwise, the room was spacious, clean, well-furnished, but dark. It needed about twice the number of lights it had. We loved the grounds and swimming pool area just for the sheer beauty!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here in November 2011 for a conference. I suppose for the area it is a nice hotel but there are newer ones close by that were probably more comfortable. The air conditioning barely worked. It was also very loud at night. You could hear people at the bar and restaurant because of the open courtyard. On two occasions we were met with a giant cockroach in the bathroom. The food was mediocre. Nothing really stood out. If I return to Tuxtla I will probably choose an alternate hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palmareca Suites & Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#10 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutie...
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#8 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#4 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel

Property: Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Address: Boulevard Belisario Dominquez 1195 | Col. Santa Elena, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29060, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Tuxtla Gutierrez)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel has been totally renovated with elegant facilities and the highest standards of service. Areas for conferences and meetings with a capacity for as many as 800 guests. Ideal for business appointments, congresses, social events and weddings. Swimming pool, fitness center, business center, high speed Internet, Executive lounge, Spa, Beauty Salon. Tuxtla Gutierrez, the capital of the state of Chiapas, combines modern features and traditions to captivate visitors with the best that Mexico and the world can offer. In this city emerge Hotel Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez, located on Belisario Dominguez Blvd., just 30 min from International Airport, and a few meters from Downtown and the Cathedral. This Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez has been totally renovated with elegant facilities and the highest standards of service. It has areas for conferences and meetings with a capacity for as many as 800 guests. Our banqueting service, cutting edge technology and professional advisors guarantee the success of all your events, from business appointments to social events and weddings.This elegant hotel in Chiapas offers guest easy access to explore a wonderful natural territory, from the Sumidero Canyon, to Palenque archeological zone, San Cristobal de las Casas and San Juan Chamula magical towns, the Agua Azul Waterfalls, Montebello Lagoon and the Lacandona Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing