We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last time at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First and last time at this hotel!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

On our recent car trip to San Cristobal from Oaxaca we stopped first in Tuxtla for two nights. I choose this hotel based on what I know of the magnificent Camino Real here in Oaxaca and, it offered a spa where I was going to surprise my wife with its services. It was a great disappointment. First, the bathrooms had mold all along the grout in the tub area. Street noise from bars, discos and heavy trucks filtered into our room because the hallways are open to the street. My wife and I went down to the spa to schedule her massage and after she looked over the place she decided not to do so. She said the area not only was dark and musty but more mold was easily seen. The night before we were to leave I tried calling the front desk several times for almost a half an hour before anyone answered. I called to confirm our departure in the morning and to find out the check out time. Around midnight we get a knock on the door and the porter said: “here is your bill, sign here”. I never had anyone anywhere bring a bill to my room much less at midnight. When we checked out I noticed that they charged us for the 1 bottle of water they had left when the serviced the room. We would have really liked to have had stayed at a B&B but unfortunately there isn’t one in Tuxtla. On our next to that area we will seek out another location or drive the extra 45 minutes to San Cristobal.

Room Tip: Open hall ways to inner pool area and street makes this hotel not a place to stay if you plan to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chatomorgan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    138
    52
    23
    12
See reviews for
138
115
12
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Was just in the hotel for one evening - arrived pretty late, then went out right away for dinner, and left in the morning. Was able to form some opinions, though. Overall, seems like an ok place - room pretty modern and well furnished, decent internet. Some of the things that were off or could use improvement included:
- there were no bath towels in the room, and when I called to request, it took them a good 15 minutes to deliver. Generally this wouldn't be a big deal, but when you're in a rush in the morning, it is less than ideal.
- there was no bottled water provided in the room
- the sheets smelled of perfume - not sure if it's what they use for the laundry soap, but it was quite noticeable.
- overall, it can be pretty noisy in the rooms - thanks in no small part to all the tiled floors, sup-par windows, and concrete bunker-like construction.
- gym was pretty lousy, with no treadmill, and very squeaky machines.

Breakfast buffet was quite good, and staff were quick and efficient in general. I would return, but keep my expectations pretty low.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourismspecialist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We weren't expecting much and actually it was not a bad experience. Nothing special about the place but we slept well and the service overall was ok, except at the restaurant where we waited for a very long time for our food when we were actually the only one there...
Quite far away from the airport so not so convenient.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here twice and were very well treated both times, actually the second time, the manager upgraded us to a nicer room at no charge. The only difficulty was very few employees spoke any English and our Spanish was minimal. But it all worked out and the management helped us arrange a van to Chiapas. The hotel is stylish and well-maintained. We didn't spend any time in Tuxtla and the airport is a very long way from town, even with the scary rapido cab rideit still took 45 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Excellent hotel, brilliant, clean, comfy rooms. The porters were really good.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Good parking.

Restaurant La Mansion is within the same complex and serves nice steak at fair prices.

The pool is too cold in winter.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Pool - too cold to swim in
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Sadly, this hotel really lacks. Service (front desk and any in-room requests) were almost non-existent. Restaurant service and cab service was very good. We expected a big generic hotel, but thought the service would be a bit better. Just really blah. I’d stay at one of the smaller, local “less fancy” hotels next time for sure.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank crwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stay here occasionally when in Chiapas as our jumping off point to other, more quaint towns in the area. The Camino Real is always reliably comfortable: good beds, nice bathrooms, clean rooms.
If you stay on the fifth floor you also get free cocktails and snacks for the evening (now they serve it in the bar by the pool), and breakfast in the morning included. Be sure to try the Mexican specialties, and the freshly-made quesadillas, instead of the usual breakfast items.
The staff tries to be helpful. If you don't speak Spanish it may be difficult to communicate at times, since most of the staff don't speak English. Pantomime helps here, because they mean well and want to help you.
There are several nice resaturants in walking distance of the hotel. The main drag gets very busy at night, especially on weekends, and as a woman with teenage kids, I have never felt fearful about walking in the area. Taxis are readily available if you aren't as willing to venture out on foot.

  • Liked — comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — pool a little dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bossafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#9 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Fiesta Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#8 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutie...
#4 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#5 of 33 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel

Property: Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Address: Boulevard Belisario Dominquez 1195 | Col. Santa Elena, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29060, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Tuxtla Gutierrez)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel has been totally renovated with elegant facilities and the highest standards of service. Areas for conferences and meetings with a capacity for as many as 800 guests. Ideal for business appointments, congresses, social events and weddings. Swimming pool, fitness center, business center, high speed Internet, Executive lounge, Spa, Beauty Salon. Tuxtla Gutierrez, the capital of the state of Chiapas, combines modern features and traditions to captivate visitors with the best that Mexico and the world can offer. In this city emerge Hotel Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez, located on Belisario Dominguez Blvd., just 30 min from International Airport, and a few meters from Downtown and the Cathedral. This Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez has been totally renovated with elegant facilities and the highest standards of service. It has areas for conferences and meetings with a capacity for as many as 800 guests. Our banqueting service, cutting edge technology and professional advisors guarantee the success of all your events, from business appointments to social events and weddings.This elegant hotel in Chiapas offers guest easy access to explore a wonderful natural territory, from the Sumidero Canyon, to Palenque archeological zone, San Cristobal de las Casas and San Juan Chamula magical towns, the Agua Azul Waterfalls, Montebello Lagoon and the Lacandona Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel Tuxtla Gutierrez
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing