We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We bit the bullet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We bit the bullet”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There was a mix-up with the booking, which we had done on-line, and the very polite person at the desk was trying to explain it to me when a tremendous blast of music began. I asked if he could turn the music down, but it turned out to be a live band in the next room. That was fine and it was fun to see the private party celebrating a birthday. I had specified in my booking that we had to have a window that opens, and that was impossible -- the windows were fixed. Tuxtla Gutierrez is extremely spread out, and we knew that trying to find another place would not be worth the trouble for one night. We had a hard time sleeping because we like fresh air coming into the room, and indeed it was a fine spring night. Other than that, the room was large, clean, with two double beds, big towels. American-style. We got a taxi early the next morning to the Tuxtla airport, which is inexplicably about 20 miles away, with very little habitation in between. I recommend traveling through Chiapa de Corzo instead of Tuxtla; it's a much nicer city.

Room Tip: Impressive views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear arleneNewYork,

Thank you for your comments regarding our property. It is good to know that you found our rooms to be comfortable for your needs. However, I apologize for the issues you experienced with the staff and noise levels. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
31
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
601 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a Holiday Inn Express and it lives up to the chain's standards. The rooms are good with king-size beds. The bathroom was acceptable as were the cleaning standards. The breakfast meal was better than many Holiday Inn Express breakfasts but the room was extremely noisy due to a television so the dining experience was very poor. The hallways are very noisy as you can hear everyone returning to or leaving their rooms and the ice machine doing its thing - a sleepless night. The front desk staff were courteous but certainly not friendly. When asked if they could recommend a restaurant, they gave a flat "no". That was not helpful as the downtown of Tuxtla is uninspiring and all there appear to be are taquerias and coffee shops. The hotel is well located, being closeby to the Zocalo.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Weerobbie,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the rooms and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our front desk and for the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel during my final night in Tuxtla Gutierrez where I was visiting family and friends. The hotel is so close to the bustling city action and the beautiful Parque Marimba, it's practically one step from the doorway. Its rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and fast WiFi. In addition, they offer taxi service to the airport which is an amazing convenience especially since it was my last night and I had an early flight the next morning. In conclusion,this hotel is wonderful for being so close to the city action and the offering of amazing accomodations and airport service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cburr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Google Translation
Querido huesped,

Sus comentarios nos llenan de alegria, el saber que su estancia fue una bonita experiencia y que contribuimos en ella cumpliendo con la expectativa de servicio.
Estos comentarios alimentna a nuestro equipo para seguir mejorando dia a dia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Centrally located. Free morning breakfast! Front desk staff is great and very keen on providing great customer service. The hotel is only a few blocks from Parque Marimba -very busy on the weekends with live bands, food and local crafts for sale. Lot's of restaurants surround the hotel. I will review those in other posts. . If you are a coffee aficionado, there is a Cafe San Carlos just a few blocks from the hotel where you can buy/drink some of the best coffee in the world....from Chiapas.... Left out of the hotel, walk 5 blocks...Cafe San Carlos is across the street from Parque Marimba.....

Room Tip: If you are a coffee aficionado, there is a Cafe San Carlos just a few blocks from the hotel where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huesped,

Agradecemos sus buenos comentarios los cuales los compartiremso con nustros colaboradores. nos enorgullece saber que sconstrubuimos en que su estancia en Chiapas haya sido estupenda, por lo que esperamos verlo pronto esta su casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a week here in October, 2012 and enjoyed our trip immensely.

The hotel is much like any Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The included buffet breakfast is excellent: fresh fruit, pastries, eggs and a number of Chiapanecan regional dishes. Although some value travelers may be put off by the moderate cost of the room, the breakfast provides for considerable savings.

The location is great for anyone who will be walking or using public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasCruces_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A friend of mine stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Tuxtla and did not have the best experience. This hotel was up to par, though. They had good options for tours, cabs were easy to get from the front desk, the morning breakfast was decent, and the room was clean and nice. Enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like every Holiday Inn Express this is exactly what you expect for. Same bed, same tv, same furniture. However, breakfast is simply excellent and service is better to a standard corporative hotel. That's the reason why I am actually reviewing a business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paisajista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
1.1 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
527 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#10 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#4 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Express Tuxtla Gutierrez
City Express Tuxtla Gutierrez
#6 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Address: Av Central Poniente 1254, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
#2 Green Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing