We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great location, close to all the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hotel during my final night in Tuxtla Gutierrez where I was visiting family and friends. The hotel is so close to the bustling city action and the beautiful Parque Marimba, it's practically one step from the doorway. Its rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and fast WiFi. In addition, they offer taxi service to the airport which is an amazing convenience especially since it was my last night and I had an early flight the next morning. In conclusion,this hotel is wonderful for being so close to the city action and the offering of amazing accomodations and airport service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cburr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013
Google Translation

Querido huesped,

Sus comentarios nos llenan de alegria, el saber que su estancia fue una bonita experiencia y que contribuimos en ella cumpliendo con la expectativa de servicio.
Estos comentarios alimentna a nuestro equipo para seguir mejorando dia a dia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Centrally located. Free morning breakfast! Front desk staff is great and very keen on providing great customer service. The hotel is only a few blocks from Parque Marimba -very busy on the weekends with live bands, food and local crafts for sale. Lot's of restaurants surround the hotel. I will review those in other posts. . If you are a coffee aficionado, there is a Cafe San Carlos just a few blocks from the hotel where you can buy/drink some of the best coffee in the world....from Chiapas.... Left out of the hotel, walk 5 blocks...Cafe San Carlos is across the street from Parque Marimba.....

Room Tip: If you are a coffee aficionado, there is a Cafe San Carlos just a few blocks from the hotel where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huesped,

Agradecemos sus buenos comentarios los cuales los compartiremso con nustros colaboradores. nos enorgullece saber que sconstrubuimos en que su estancia en Chiapas haya sido estupenda, por lo que esperamos verlo pronto esta su casa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a week here in October, 2012 and enjoyed our trip immensely.

The hotel is much like any Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The included buffet breakfast is excellent: fresh fruit, pastries, eggs and a number of Chiapanecan regional dishes. Although some value travelers may be put off by the moderate cost of the room, the breakfast provides for considerable savings.

The location is great for anyone who will be walking or using public transportation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LasCruces_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A friend of mine stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Tuxtla and did not have the best experience. This hotel was up to par, though. They had good options for tours, cabs were easy to get from the front desk, the morning breakfast was decent, and the room was clean and nice. Enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like every Holiday Inn Express this is exactly what you expect for. Same bed, same tv, same furniture. However, breakfast is simply excellent and service is better to a standard corporative hotel. That's the reason why I am actually reviewing a business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paisajista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spacious and nice rooms. Everything is very new and clean. It meets international standard and it is not very mexican but walk down the street you will get music including marimba. Breakfast buffet offers great choice. It is a calm place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

For a summer break I decided to take some days off in Chiapas, such a beautiful state free of violence and full of activities to do with the family.

I started looking for options to stay, being the traditional Holiday Inn my base on my last trips. When I found there was a new Holiday Inn Express at almost the same rate than the traditional one and with breakfast included and much more close to downtown, I decided to try this hotel.

I first booked at Holiday Inn web page my two night stay for two rooms, traveling with my brother and his family as well. I got my confirmation really quick paying roughly $60.00 USD (plas tax).

When we got to the hotel, being Priority rewards members, we got a really nice welcoming from the ladies at the front desk. Check in was really quick and accurate. We left our car with the valet and he was in charge of parking it and deliver it, just give him a tip for that service.

Hotel is brand new and everything is nice and fresh. What we liked the most was its location. Its just 4 blocks away from "Parque La Marimba" a beautiful spot with live folk music and a very nice ambience, perfect to feel real Chiapas. It's also close to the main Cathedral walking 4 more blocks away.

Rooms are very nice and perfeclty clean. Only bad point is the light at the bathroom. There is no spots of light near to the mirror, so make up for ladies and shaving for us is kind of complicate, but not a big deal really.

Breakfast is good enough, having al kind of bread, pastries, and cereal (cornflakes & oat) as well as scrammbled eggs, fried beans, chilaquiles, friend bananas (yummi!!), and sausages cooked with onion. Milk, orange juice, coffe and water are available as well. Do not forget to try chiapas cheese & cream with your chilaquiles...they are EXTREMELY good!. Be aware that in high season there is no enough space for all guest in the little restaurant, therefore I advise you to get early enough. Breakfast time is 6:30 to 9:30 AM, but by 9AM is too crowded and lack of food is a problem.

In general we all really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we highly recommend it if you are visiting this marvelous part of Mexico.

Von voyage!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davicho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
502 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Hilton Garden Inn Tuxtla Gutierr...
#1 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#4 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#6 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Quality Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#17 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba

Address: Av Central Poniente 1254, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
#2 Business Hotel in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuxtla Gutierrez La Marimba Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing