We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tapachula
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
134
34
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
34
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool frida kahlo will stay there again a wonderful place to stay a special place hot water few blocks artwork mexico heat ramona oasis huatulco parque pillows warning climate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 177 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The Casona Maya mexicana Gives you five star treatment at a two star price. It’s the perfect escape from the heat and craziness outside in downtown Tampa Chula, only a short walk from the main square in town. Great food also!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Chuckholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

This charming boutique option does no not disappoint!

Courteous and attentive staff miss no detail and neither does the proprietor.

Unfortunately, booking.com has driven the price of the gem up by its 15% service fee so book directly and negotiate with the desk staff for longer stay discounts!

We are in the Ramona room which is quite cozy and has a perfect king sized bed.

The shower may have hot water but I am perfectly comfortable in a cool shower in this climate.

Congratulations on a great formula for a great stay!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rapidpsychler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Everything about this hotel is spectacular, from the rooms and the food, to the pool and ambiance. The staff is kind and accommodating and made us feel at home. The bed in the Comandante Ramona room was not only spacious, but very comfortable at the same time. Attention to detail is evident everywhere we turned and the antiques that adorn the entire place added to the experience. It was almost like we were home! We'll definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpikesKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

The Hotel Casona Maya was a special place. Their rooms indicate an artist's touch; there was even a bust in one of my rooms! While swimming in their small pool, I saw a hummingbird flitting in the foliage above me! The piece de resistance though was their breakfast at their attached restaurant, the Tapachtlan; I got the paquete desayuno (not included) and thought it one of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere in Mexico, which is saying a lot, as often the breakfasts are good.

I appreciated the location a well, a few blocks away from Tapachula's Parque Central and necessary services, like ATMs and casas de cambio for ongoing travel into Guatemala. Sadly, there's no supper at the restaurant, so you might not be getting Tapachtlan quality for your other meals.

My only issue was that I stumbled a few times down the stair from the bathroom to the bedroom in the Frida Kahlo room. My own fault really for the assumption of no stair but perhaps a warning might prevent an accident.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaMaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casona Maya Mexicana Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hola what a great comment. Thank you very much for findiing us a good place to stay and to eat breakfast, unfortunatly we had to closed nights due to the lack of clients, temporarily.
we are pleased that you find the pool a good attraction and yes we are lucky to have find a plant that proiduces red flowers that attract hummingbirds, we feel special since humming birds visit our garden.
And special thank you for the warning note for the little stairs to the Fridas room we will put a warning as you suggested.
We wish you a great weekend and will like to see you again soon.
Tnank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Highly recommended.
This is an excellent hotel, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, the garden setting is relaxing, and the location is great. As importantly, the breakfast at the Casona are delicious and the staff is extremely courteous and knowledgable.

Room tip: Relaxing and quite
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtinkersalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaMaya, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casona Maya Mexicana Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hola we are very thankful for your comment, is its a pleasure to know that your staying with us was a good experience, that make us feel great, and will continue to improve and to give a good experience to others,
Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon again.
have a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews