We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, nice contact with natue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tapachula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed last weekend's getaway to Argovia. Eventhough we arrived with lots of showers, and sometimes heavy rain, the first night was peaceful hearing the crickets. Had a delicious early dinner, enjoyed some espressos, and went to bed. The following morning, we spend some time working over a slow, but reliable WiFi internet access. Once we finished work, we went out for a quick stroll around the premises. We loved the massages, and a most do, the Temazcal (ancient Aztec steam room). Sunday morning, we were surpised by an early breakfast in our porch. Loved the view and the food!

Don't forget to ask for the coffee tour, as well as the flowers' tour.

Argovia's staff were very friendly, and acommodated all of our requests with a smile in their faces! Paulina, the hotel manager, has everything under control, and considering her good vibes, she really makes everyone feel like you are home.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in the fabulous cabin with the terrace. We felt like we were in the jungle or Hawaii - either way, it was nice. The song birds woke us in the morning - so leave your alarm clock behind.
Paula gave us a wonderful and very informative coffee tour - even so it was not the harvesting season, we learned so many interesting things. And of course, the coffee that is served in the restaurant is delicious. We enjoyed yummy cold coffee drinks on the patio during the sunset. It was very relaxing. Fortunately for us, Bruno (the owner) was celebrating a birthday during our visit - and spent a couple of hours with us one morning - explaining all about the local plants and the history of the plantation. What a treat !! Thanks to everyone at Argovia for hard work to make such a perfect place. My recommendation ..... stay a minimum of two nights - more if you can. Take the flower tour as well !!! Thanks for everything Paula !!

Room Tip: Book the rooms / cabins with the terrace !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although torn between visiting Argovia Finca and the Izapa Mayan ruins, we were very happy with our selection. We visited in early October, which is the heart of the coffee picking season, which runs from September-December.

I will never complain about the cost of coffee again. Our 1-1/2 hour bus drive took us though the large town of Tapachula (past a Sam's Club) and up into the Sierra Madre mountains where coffee grew along the roadside, with the berries being picked by locals and migrant workers and spread to be dried on any available sunny flat surface, where they were occasionally moved about with a wooden rake-like tool. The heat and humidity is very oppressive, and the hillsides are incredibly steep; the work is very hard. They must only pick in the morning or risk fermentation before getting the day's haul to a buyer. The living conditions are pretty grim for the pickers, most of whom are Guatamalan itinerant workers. It was a real eye-opener that I will reflect on with every future cup of coffee.

The transportation was in a small bus provided by Argovia Finca (farm) and we were accompanied by an intern from the farm who pointed out sights along the way and had the driver stop for us to take pictures of a waterfall that was the largest of many along the highway. The scenery was unbelievably beautiful, with all sorts of ferns, mosses and plants growing in the vertical rocks along the roadside.

At the organic farm we were greeted by another intern from Japan, who led us up to a lovely open restaurant in the treetops where we sampled the best coffee I've ever tasted. Then we were physically guided through the process of taking in the coffee deliveries, cleaning, drying, sorting, roasting and bagging the product -- climbing up and down and around. OSHA would have a field day here!

After the coffee tour, we were taken on a ride around the flower farm and visted the greenhouses to see anthurium and heliconid plants that are grown for market. (The heliconids were blooming in the wild, too.) We walked up a steep, rocky hill to the "Big House," where the owner lives, which was surrounded by beautiful plants and a stellar view.

We were served a delicious Mexican buffet, walked about the grounds some, then headed back to the port.

The Argovia Finca tour was very memorable, and would be well worth an extended visit.

(As a footnote, we spoke to two people who went to the Izapa ruins -- one loved them and the other said they were no big deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank tribblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were cruising from New York City to Los Angeles via the Panama Canal(May 2012). We were going to a coffee plantation in Puerto Chiapas, Mexico and the only tour that was suitable for 2 elderly women and one handicapped woman was The Argovia Finca Resort and Coffee Plantation. We had the best trip even with the bus breaking down. First off Alma is such a joy to be leading us. Her english is great, very easy to understand. She knows so much about this area you would think she was born here but she wasn't. Bruno her boss and the owner of the resort is such a wonderful person. He saw that the 3 of us and one other handicapped woman were not going to be able to walk the plantation so he had his workers help get us up to the restaurant and they served us coffee(which was wonderful). He sat with us and explanied everything about the resort going back to his great grandfather who started the plantation. It is ironic that he married the woman from the plantation next door so she owns that one also. She was not there at the time but she has to be an incredible woman to belong to this wonderful man. He is training his nephew in the business while he is going to college. It just so happened that our bus broke down on the way back to the ship. Now it was about 95 degrees out with the humidity being about 90-95 just miserable. Alma got on the phone after we had all given the driver all of our water and called Bruno to come and get us. We were lucky and Bruno put the 4 of us from the prior meeting and 2 others in his Suburban and personally drove us back to the ship(NCL Jewel). Another bus showed up to take my husband and the rest of the cruisers back to the ship. I would most graciously recommend this resort to anyone. We did not get to stay the night, but from what we saw as far as the main house and restaurant go that you would have a wonderful experience. Our tour did not include lunch but Bruno on his own had his staff make up individual plates of sandwiches and baggies of fruit slices for us to eat on the bus back to the ship. We returned to the ship just as it was leaving but since we were on a tour sponsered by the cruise line they waited until we arrived and they brought the gang plank up just as my husband stepped on board.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank plumber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Didnt spend the night, just had a meal there and a lovely tour of the flower business both were great. It's a gorgeous place and looks like a lovely place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Argovia is a fantastical place, simply put. It is a 3rd generation coffee plantation run not only organically, but also integrating the needs of local people and focusing on the highest quality products and services. The experience at Argovia is magical- you have a working plantation that also focuses on the experience of the guest. What will you do? Tours of the amazing place by very knowledgeable and passionate guides, see the jungle, relax by the pool, use the spa, go mountain biking, hiking, have genuine cultural experiences, etc.

The food and drink are amazing- the chef is passionate about cooking with local products and many right off the plantation- they produce their own starfruit preserves, coffee, chili peppers, cardamom and more.

My parents (in early 70's) stayed there and it changed their view of Mexico, Chiapas and traveling a long way to experience something. In fact, it was one of the only non-family stories they included in their annual Christmas letter.

If you need nightlife and shopping, this is not the place of course. This is your sanity restoration trip!

Argovia has turned us into raving fans. Go for a week, fly into Tapachula and they'll come get you. Easy and awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adventuretraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I would love to congratulate the people that work here, everybody was just so nice with us ,spetially mr. Bruno giesseman wich is a great guide and makes you fell you are at home!
The place is just an amazing forest you can go and relax! Its amazing how you can be in touch with the nature ,its just speachless !
Great work and amazing place to relax and enjoy the views!
Great coffe!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B737-900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tapachula hotels
3.8 mi away
Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tapachula
15.3 mi away
Casona Maya Mexicana Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hotel Cervantino
Hotel Cervantino
#3 of 16 in Tapachula
137 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Loma Real
Hotel Loma Real
#9 of 16 in Tapachula
74 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#6 of 16 in Tapachula
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe

Address: Carr. Nueva Alemania Km 39 2 | Finca Argovia, Tapachula 30700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tapachula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tapachula
Price Range: $81 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a lush tropical environment lies a unique and heavenly place, one of the most beautiful and prestigious old coffee plantations in Mexico: Argovia. The landscape, its rivers, its architecture and a mixture of the European culture and Indian Tradition, are the result of this extraordinary Resort located in the Sierra Madre of Chiapas. A diversified Agricultural concept. A different tourist experience. A fresh proposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta Del Cafe Hotel Tapachula
Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta Del Cafe Tapachula, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing