We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Express Ciudad del Carmen
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ciudad del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lazy Staff”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is in a good location opposite the beaches. However, it is a run of the mill quality hotel with basic rooms. Clean but for the price we paid we expected far more. What really lets this hotel down are the lazy front desk staff who seem to just roam around doing nothing other than playing games on their mobile phones. Our room had no towels and after trying 20 minutes on the phone to reception, I eventually went downstairs and was told the phone had not been ringing. I assume the 'engaged' tone I got was a phone ringing 'off the hook'. The reception area was full of the staff just sitting around doing nothing. Breakfast was OK and in fact this was the only time we saw a member of staff actually doing their job properly as in checking the food regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bababeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Ciudad del Carmen, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all I offer an apology for any inconvenience to him during his stay in connection with the service incident as this helps us to identify our areas of opportunity and work on them to improve the quality of our services; we reported that we have implemented corrective action in relation to your comment.
Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.

We are at your service.
GREETINGS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
20
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

NothIng fancy but very clean and functional in great location with room view of quiet beach/water area. Booked online upon arrival to get cheaper online price but online reservation never came through. In the morning we were given the online rate anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitLikeAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Ciudad del Carmen, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guest:
It is our pleasure to offer our services is our main motivation and commitment that your stay is pleasant and productive. Together with you we are taking an important first step in our path.
We appreciate the confidence you had in sharing their experience and this commits us to continue working hard towards achieving new triumphs and today we are proud that you are part of the story we're writing.

Thanks for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a new hotel located one block from the water. It was a bit noisy due to a draft that carries through the hallway. Very clean. Wifi sucks. Great breakfast which is included in your rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pichungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ciudad del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
La Venta Inn Ciudad del Carmen
La Venta Inn Ciudad del Carmen
#9 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Ciudad Del Carmen
Courtyard by Marriott Ciudad Del...
#7 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Ciudad del Carmen
Hyatt Place Ciudad del Carmen
#3 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
City Express Junior Ciudad del Carmen Aeropuerto
City Express Junior Ciudad del C...
#5 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ciudad del Carmen Campeche
Hampton Inn Ciudad del Carmen Ca...
#1 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Express Junior Ciudad del Carmen
City Express Junior Ciudad del C...
#2 of 19 in Ciudad del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Ciudad del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Ciudad del Carmen

Property: City Express Ciudad del Carmen
Address: Blvd. Playa Norte Lote 1 s/n esquina Av. Juarez | Col. Justo Sierra, Ciudad del Carmen 24144, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Ciudad del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Ciudad del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Express Ciudad del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Express Ciudad del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing