We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option, some flaws”
Review of Hotel Villanueva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villanueva
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Reviewed May 26, 2013

OK so lets start with the positive things, this was our second stay at the hotel and on both occassions the staff 'can do' attitude was very positive. Very few of the staff seem to speak English but they are very willing and service minded. As it was just my wife and I we splashed out on one of their suites - last time we had a basic room but it had no windows the wall was a frosted glass wall onto a corridor. The suite was very spacious, two massive California King beds, very clean efficient bathroom, fridge with complimentary soft drinks and water and a balcony from where we could see the ocean. The hotel is located near the sea and just off 'Heroes' which is the main shopping street. The main Mall was only a US$ 2 taxi ride and a great place to shop, eat, watch movies. We had breakfast included and both days the service was good, the food was fine and everything came quickly and served by great waiters with ok English. There are no menus in English so it helps that a few of the wait staff speak English. They have a nice interior pool which we used last time (very very cold) but not this time. The two big issues we found was the lobby smelled like a sewer, it was not weak but a very strong smell but none of the staff seemed to notice - maybe they were used to it but it was really so bad you could not stay any amount of time in the lobby. I suspect this is a cause for some lost rooms for casual drop in guests. The next thing is the safety especially for children, there is an open staircase which now has some sort of flimsy wire to stop you falling down but not sure if it would hold a child or adult falling, There are sharp corners which are waiting to catch your ankles as you go from the corridor to the stairs. There are small attention to detail items when we arrived, hot room, no toilet roll, no internet access in the room. All small things i am sure the hotel is aware of and able to handle. On balance we like the hotel, location and staff and hope they are able to fix the lobby smell and small items to make it a great choice in the city. We saw a brand new hotel being built which should open december so competition in the city is getting tougher so better the existing hotels work on the small details. We would stay again but will try Los Cocos again on our next trip and then Villa Nueva in the future. We did not visit this time but the city has a Maya museum, zoo and planetarium, great for kids.

Room Tip: If you don't take a suite then ask for a room the looks onto the interior courtyard and pool not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Upon check-in we were given the key to a third floor room. Since we are already in the threshold of our second youth (over 60), we asked for either a ground or first floor room, since the hotel does not have an elevator. We were offered a ground floor unit. As we were just about to open the door, a front desk clerk came running to us and said "We´re sorry, we made a mistake, this is your new room". He handed us the key to another room. The other room could not be opened with such key. A maid walked by and told us she was going to let the front desk know about this problem. The same frond desk youngster came running and gave us another key. This was a room on a second floor. Finally, after more than 8 hours driving, we had a place to rest.
Surprise! Two old and scratchy worn out bath towels and two soap dispensers in the shower. One with a pink colored liquid and the other with a blue one. Guess which one is the body wash and which one is the shampoo... Well, we made our best guess and determined that the pink one was the shampoo and the other one the body wash. WRONG!!! the pink one was the hair softener.
Breakfast was a joke. We were told the night before to go to a meeting room called "Aqua" for the included "American style" breakfast. Went to such meeting room SURPRISE!!!... no one there. We walked downstairs and asked the front desk clerk and she pointed us to the hotel restaurant. "It´s upstairs..." we were told. We just came from upstairs! No, the informal host holding a coffee pot meant the restaurant mezzanine.
Here´s your new "American Style" breakfast: Eggs, eggs, eggs, eggs (four choices), refried beans, tortillas, salsa, cold toast, all sizes pancakes (from the dollar size to the 33 r.p.m. Long Play records from the 60´s). Orange juice (TANG), coffee and a white liquid (we thought it was milk. No way, it was Horchata (a rice, water, and sugar blend offered as a refreshment drink). and guess what... a surprising disappointment NO FRUIT. In the land of tropical fruit no fruit for breakfast. We asked for the fruit and were told by the waitress that either we had the choice of eggs or fruit. You can´t have both. We ordered two plates of fruit. The fruit came with literally a spoonful of yoghurt and half a spoonful of granola. The fruit was WARM!!!! We ran out crying for help and wishing these guys re-invent themselves since we noticed no one knows what´s going on. Chose another hotel before running into this dump. The room rate was for at least a 4 or 5 Stars hotel. This one maybe a 1.5 stars. Cheers!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure someone walks with you, just in case the room key doesn´t work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HectorRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a lovely hotel!

We stayed two nights towards the end of a nine week trip and were very pleased with this hotel. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacious and modern. The pool area was very nice, sadly we did not have enough time to use it.

Breakfast was included with our room rate. And what a breakfast it was--eggs, bacon, a huge glass of fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and freshly made tortillas. Absolutely delicious. Service was very professional, yet friendly.

The location was perfect. Just a block from the ocean promenade with many cafes and restaurants and families out enjoying the evenings. A very short walk to the centre where the awesome Maya museum is located.

Very good value. We wished we had stayed longer in Chetumal, a city we very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Price and quality are a good. Location good. I thought it would have been better but for one night is OK. A bit noisy at night. The rooms need a bit of attention and e little decoration.
Breakfast included in the price which is a plus. Price very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place is beautiful, decoration its great. In general all the people is very nice. I think is ones of the best options in Chetumal and its is worth it and not really expensive.
Mario at the front desk very good and kind.
The rooms need a fridge and small datails of maintenance. The waiters at the breakfast really need trainig and the buffet has no variety an refills are kind of slow, while having breakfast there wjere only two options of hot dishes when I finished one more was added.
With a little trainning on SERVICE to the staff would be excellent to improve all the experience!!!

Room Tip: Ask for smoking preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isamu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertCP, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello Isamu!

Thank you so much for your honest comment and compliments! We really appreciate them for improving always our services to make a better experience your next stay.

Hope you enjoyed your vacations and to see you soon here in Chetumal!

Best regards for you in Playa del Carmen! Wish you are having a great 2013 so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Muchas facilidades para llegar a Bacalar y Mahahual. Si vas de negocios, la opción del café de Starb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Karlamaría C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique M, Gerente at Hotel Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Cocos
Hotel Los Cocos
#3 of 20 in Chetumal
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marlon
Hotel Marlon
#10 of 20 in Chetumal
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noor
Hotel Noor
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villanueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villanueva

Address: Avenida Carmen Ochoa de Merino 166 | Col. Centro, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range: $39 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villanueva 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a renewed hotel from the 60's with modern and comfortable rooms and areas. We are perfect for your business, holiday or weekend getaway trips and will always make you feel you are on vacations. We are just a few meters from the main places of the city to visit: main square, downtown, government palace, shopping and boulevard. Visit Chetumal, visit Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villanueva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villanueva Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing