We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in Chetumal”
Review of Hostel Paakal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Paakal
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent a night at this hostel on our way to Belize. It is well maintained, clean and the breakfast buffet is very good. Unfortunately, our reservation was misplaced but there was one room vacant when we arrived. A bit difficult to find, so use a taxi driver if you are arriving after dark. Beds are fair, place is clean, staff is friendly. Good place for a stop-over.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovecr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

A lovely well maintained spotlessly clean property. We had the twin room with the balcony outside, the bathroom was shared which we would not normally book but there were few people to share with so it was no problem. Betty the owner is lovely and although not speaking English and our Spanish poor was helpful and if you really need a translation she will ring her husband. The breakfast is plentiful and varied, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here one night before crossing the border to Belize and thought it was a great hostel although I didn't think much of Chetumal itself. The place was easy to find, the staff were friendly and accommodating (my Spanish sucks), very clean and was very good value. I was here in the off season and had the whole place to myself so I can't say anything for the atmosphere but the owners were nice and I was glad that they let me store my motorcycle behind closed gates in their courtyard. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a cheap and clean place that is close to Chetumal.

Room Tip: The back rooms would have less road noise but cost more as they are private and not dorm style rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 422EricB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I crossed the border from Belize to Mexico and decided to spend the night in Chetumal. The hostel is great, clean, the owner is lovely and prices are reasonable. Good location, although the city itself doesn't have lots to offer, except for resting, getting supplies, and a good point to go to Laguna Bacalar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oded Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you come to Chetumal to further to or through Belize or come from there, this Hostel's location is very convenient, because it's close to the bus station for those travels. It's very clean, very spacey, has a good kitchen - and for some travellers coming from wheresoever it will be a very special treat to stay there.

Room Tip: You might not want to choose the room where in front of your window people can play ping-pong on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed the night of March 28 ; the avenue it is located on is a high traffic one but inside the property it is free of outside noise.

Large reception area and two rooms large in the breakfast-kitchen area. A personnel of two greets the hostel clients at breakfast time.

What is missing : Internet service inside the rooms as it is now available in the common area through wi-fi. No towel is provided but only on a pay per towel use; no soap is provided in the bathroom; the mattress is not bad but not good either.

The good : airconditioned, good quality furniture, a buiding in excellent condition.

Room Tip: Ask for the private room with private ensuite bathroon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I staid here a week, because I'd been traveling for long, and wanted to have a rest. This was a good place for that: A proper kitchen to cook my own meal, read my book in the garden, practice some spanish and watch tv. There are clean dorms, and a few double bedrooms. I stayed most of the time with my boyfriend in a spacious double room with ven and airco. Only the mattress was not the one I would have bought at home. The hostel is also a good place to stay for the night on your journey. Don't forget to see the Maya museum here in Chetumal. I'm not very much into cultural museums, but this one got all my attention.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostelPaakals, General Manager at Hostel Paakal, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for visiting the shelter home is paakal serve and to serve them as they deserve with the kindness that characterizes us and to make your stay as comfortable as home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
108 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Los Cocos
Hotel Los Cocos
#3 of 20 in Chetumal
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Azteca
Hotel Real Azteca
#11 of 20 in Chetumal
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Downtown Hostel
Downtown Hostel
#3 of 18 in Chetumal
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostelito Chetumal
Hostelito Chetumal
#1 of 18 in Chetumal
35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Anaya Hotel & Hostal
Casa Anaya Hotel & Hostal
#13 of 18 in Chetumal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Paakal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Paakal

Address: Avenida Benito Juarez 364-A, Chetumal 77013, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Chetumal
Price Range: $14 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paakal is the best hostel in the city of Chetumal, Quintana Roo. We have the friendliest staff, the most comfortable and best rates. We are in the best location in town and 10 minutes walk from the bus station, where you can visit sites that are beautiful Chetumal and where you go to Mayan archaeological sites and beautiful places that nature has Quintana Roo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Paakal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Paakal Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing