We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow-You need to know about this hostel”
Review of Hostel Paakal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Paakal
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here as part of a package with a minibus trip from Tullum. I joined trip advisor just to write a review about how amazing this hostel it.
The place is like no hostel I stayed in after 7 months in South and Central America. It is like a big family home, the kitchen is stocked with every type of herb or spice you would need to cook and there is a massive gas or coal grill in the back garden next to the pool. This made me and the couple I met on the mini bus go to the super market to buy things to cook on the grill and have beers in the garden.
The place is brand new, crisp white linen is on the bunk beds. There is AC or fans in the rooms and there is a massive TV room with big comfy couches. The staff are helpful and if you get the mini bus from the Tullum to the border (for onward travel to Belize) it actually works out cheaper than getting the public coach service with a night's stay in this place.
I had to leave to catch a flight the next morning, I wish I could have stayed here longer.

Room Tip: All dorm rooms are the same standard. The front room has a great balcony with hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostelPaakals, Propietario at Hostel Paakal, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for visiting us at the hostel paakal's is to serve you and to serve them as they deserve with the kindness that characterizes us and to make your stay as comfortable as at home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hagan reservación y que les muestren el hotel antes de hacer check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maricarmen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank PaolaKastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank TrandyAndy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank LuisitoGutierritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charly_Boillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Azteca
Hotel Real Azteca
#12 of 20 in Chetumal
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostelito Chetumal
Hostelito Chetumal
#1 of 18 in Chetumal
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Downtown Hostel
Downtown Hostel
#2 of 18 in Chetumal
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lagoon
Hotel Lagoon
#2 of 22 in Chetumal
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Anaya Hotel & Hostal
Casa Anaya Hotel & Hostal
#13 of 18 in Chetumal
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Paakal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Paakal

Address: Avenida Benito Juarez 364-A, Chetumal 77013, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Chetumal
Price Range: $23 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paakal is the best hostel in the city of Chetumal, Quintana Roo. We have the friendliest staff, the most comfortable and best rates. We are in the best location in town and 10 minutes walk from the bus station, where you can visit sites that are beautiful Chetumal and where you go to Mayan archaeological sites and beautiful places that nature has Quintana Roo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Paakal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Paakal Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing