We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel real azteca is good for its location”
Review of Hotel Real Azteca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Real Azteca
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Reviewed December 13, 2013

if you want to enjoy a stay in the center of chetumal hotel real azteca is the hotel to stay me and my girlfriend stay there for an over night the lady's at the front desk they are very friendly if you need any help about were to go out to have a drink or dinner they Ar there to assist you. in my personal experience is a very good place to stay and the owner is a fantastic!''
the rooms are clean.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHITO511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Hotel is near the port, so great if you're thinking about heading over to Belize. Otherwise the main bus station is a 10 minute taxi ride away for around 20 pesos.

Rooms need some TLC and are pretty worn, but good value if you just want somewhere to rest for a night or two. The manager there is lovely and helpful.

Mayan Museum is just 100m away! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The best point about this place was the friendly reception and the little attached restaurant where we were able to get delicious tacos after 9pm after a long bus journey. There's a shop nearby where you can buy a couple of beers to have with your meal. It seems like a safe place and it's convenient for taxis to the bus station (about 10 minutes away). However, the room was pretty terrible (apart from the brilliant sculptures made from towels and toilet paper!) Very noisy air-con, horrible beds, window didn't shut properly and curtains hopeless. The shower was feeble and once on was burning hot from both taps. I can't recommend any other hotels in Chetumal but we walked past Hotel Gandhi nearby and this looed better. However, Real Azteca is fairly cheap and the location is OK. One other point - a taxi to the main ADO bus station should be 20-30 pesos. When we arrived the driver charged us 50 and was adamant that this was the fixed price. The next mroning we paid 20 back to the bus station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at Hotel Real Azteca! The owner and staff feel like family. The food is great and very affordable. The rooms are neat and clean. Water is hot. Air conditioned and a ceiling fan keeps it very comfortable. The owner, Bertha, is very hands on and very accomodating. Close to everything. I will be back. Love it!

Room Tip: A room upstairs seems to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmh2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is located right In the middle of the busy centre of chetumal but right next to the ADO bus terminal where you can get frequent buses all over Mexico so a good location if your are using this hotel as a stop over for one night. Definetly would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing. The rooms are adequate but there are ants everywhere- even in the rooms. The hotel serves breakfast for 28pesos per person but when the food was served up, it was full of ants! It was inedible. We complained to the staff and they brought fresh food but no discount offered and still with ants running around the table. You can eat better from the vendors on the street!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequentt207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way to Belize, hoping to stay somewhere cheap but passable. We didn't need anything fancy but what we got was far from good. The bed was a busted mattress on top of a concrete block, the air conditioner sounded like a rusty chainsaw from a horror movie and the shower was either scaulding hot or freezing cold. After trying many different faucet turns to figure out which faucet was hot or cold, we just gave up and left as quickly as possible in the morning. If you are looking for even a passable sleep wether you're staying in Chetumal or just stopping there for a night or two, avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. I'm sure there are tons of hotels at the same price point that are cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGunStreetGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Chetumal within close walking distance of the wonderful Mayan museum, shops and restaurants. The owner is outstanding in her determination to meet guests' requirements. The rooms are not fancy, just clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and kind. The restaurant downstairs serves very good, economical breakfasts. Try it. My car was safe in the adjacent parking area. No problems.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieJoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fontana
Hotel Villa Fontana
#15 of 20 in Chetumal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Cocos
Hotel Los Cocos
#3 of 20 in Chetumal
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliette
Hotel Juliette
#8 of 20 in Chetumal
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Azteca

Address: Calle Belice 186 | entre Mahatma Ghandi y Cristobal Colon, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Real Azteca 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Real Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Real Azteca Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing