We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy and musty.. would avoid.”
Review of Hotel Los Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Cocos
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The service staff were pleasant enough and the desk clerk recommended us an authentic local place to eat. I found the check-in process on par generally speaking.

Obviously Chetumal is not the lap of luxury and I don't have a point of comparison as this was the only hotel I stayed in - but I would decidedly not return.

The hallways to, and our room, smelled alternately of sewer and mildew. It was dank and cave-like and very off-putting throughout the first floor.

It was nice that they had a pool and in general the pool area was pretty well appointed but this was not what I would consider a nice hotel. Granted, I was in Chetumal which is a bit of a downtrodden town as it is.

Room Tip: You definitely don't want to be on the first floor - seems they have a moisture problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWW_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 319 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here one night mid-January 2013.
The hotel should be the best in town (poor, ugly town!), but one cannot expect anything special. Location is in the real city center, close to museum and market.
We took a standard room ,that was located in the basement, with a strong musty smell. Towels and mattresses are very old. Our room was connected by a door to the adjacent one, so we heard all the night what the other people were doing.
Breakfast is not included, it can be done in the internal restaurant (quite expensive).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genius-loci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everyone says the Holiday Inn is the best in town but we stayed at both hotels (our first and last night of the 2-weeks trip) and Los Cocos is definitely better. It lacks lots of things but it's just OK.

Room was small. Mattresses and towels were really old. Pillows were not that nice. Shower is excellent (although very small too): there's so much water pressure, you can hear the noise of other rooms' showers! The AC unit is so old it's very noisy.

Some facades seem to have been recently renovated. Unfortunately, the interiors were not. Specially the lobby, which is tremendous and unfriendly.

The light switch for the shower and the sink is the same, even when they are in separate rooms. The shower is inside the bathroom and the sink is outside, next to the bedroom. So you turn on the bathroom light and the person sleeping in the bedroom might wake up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel Los Cocos was the perfect place for our 2 night stay in Chetumal. The hotel is centrally located on the main street, which was great for walking to restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and the hotel grounds were nice. We ate almost every meal at the hotel's on-site restaurant and were never disappointed. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Chetumal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What really impressed me about Hotel Los Cocos was how we felt insulated from the city all around us, yet we were right in the heart of the city. We were within easy walking distance of various shops and museums, but once we entered the hotel, you were in a comfortable, quiet place. Our room even faced one of the pools, but it was still quiet.

The premier rooms are very nice and modern, although you can't really tell from the website. They were a great value for about $80 US per night. The A/C worked very well, and the shower had great heat and water pressure. The beds were comfortable, and the staff provided exceptional service. My only complaint was the clogged sink.

The Palm restaurant that adjoins the hotel is an excellent dining option: the omelette and chilaquiles were fantastic.

We only stopped here for one night on the way from Belize to Tulum, but it was a perfect place to lodge for the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent one night in chetumal shopping and had seen reviews of many of the hotels. We chose this one and we were not disappointed. Without reservations, they accommodated us nicely. We were met with a cool refreshing coconut smoothie. Delicious. The Hotel is centrally located and walking distance to the old market, which was very nice. Several of the clerks spoke enough english combined with my attempt at spanish that I was able to find out how to taxi to Exposur, the big fair. The room was large with 2 standard beds, a table and chairs, TV and nightstands. Our room had a glass door direct to the beautiful swimming pool. Internet was good in the room and free. The room costs us about $70.00 USD. I was hoping for less but really it was worth that price. In the morning we had breaksfast in there restaurant which had a large breaksfast menu with attentive waiters. Our breaksfast price was 180pesos. All in all, a good trip. I will definitely stay here again. You won't be disappointed. It felt like luxury at an economy price

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed here several times and like this hotel. The staff most times can be good and helpfull but at other times they act like your bothering them. I have caught 0ne of the receptionist lying and she did not tell us of the special that was offered at the time.
I still stay here as its the only option in town that is good for the price. They offer 50usd for all of 2012.
I will stay here again as I like being in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marlon
Hotel Marlon
#10 of 20 in Chetumal
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Noor
Hotel Noor
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cocos

Address: Avenida Heroes 134 | Center, Chetumal 77090, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range: $52 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cocos 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cocos Hotel Chetumal
Los Cocos Chetumal
Hotel Los Cocos Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing