We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp Tacos”

Marisqueria El Taco Loco
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Chetumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The best seafood tacos since 1979. Enjoy our famous tacos, delicious ceviches, cocktails, steaks, over 40 delicious dishes. If you visit Chetumal, have to come to Taco Loco.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Ate here with my family, (Wife, 16 yr. old son, and my 79 yr. old father). Everyone had something different, and everyone loved their food. All ordered tacos, 15 pesos each, (about a dollar), a bargain and delicious. Wonderful shrimp tacos, and fish tacos, could've eaten more, they were so good. Would have loved to tried some other things on the menu, everything coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled great.
Service was exceptional, always right there if you needed anything, fast and friendly!
Can be very busy for lunch, we were there around 3pm and it was still busy. Quite the hustle and bustle which shows how much the locals think of the place.
After a day in the Mayan ruins, the air conditioned room was very comfortable.
Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank yucatan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertf12, Gerente at Marisqueria El Taco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are happy you decided to eat with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your feed back here!. We sincerely hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 385 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

Being located in a ocean front town, the fresh shrimp was delicious. We ordered shrimp tacos a la diabla, and some with garlic. Tacos were $15 pesos each, and we each had 4 and were very full. Chased it all down with a limonada with mineral water. Delicious!

1  Thank IBLocalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertf12, Gerente at Marisqueria El Taco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your diabla tacos, feel free to come and visit us at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Taco Loco is a Chetumal institution, created by one of the city's great restauranteurs, the Arévalo Cortés family. Locals wander in and out all day for meals and snacks. There is actually an air conditioned dining room, which probably helps to make this place so popular in Chetuma's humid heat. You'll find business men taking meetings here, families, taxi drivers - it's quick and casual.

There are also tables out near the kitchen, where you are able to walk over to the service window and check out what's cooking. And that is seafood for tacos: shrimp (served about eight different ways), crab (including blue crab from Mahahual), octopus, and fish, prepared in a diablo sauce, as ceviche, breaded and fried, sauteed with garlic, grilled, etc. - all for your tacos. This place has the biggest seafood taco menu I've ever seen anywhere.

I'm sure the non-taco dishes - soups and seafood entries - are good here too, but I haven't tired of the tacos yet. There is a torta on the menu I'd like to try: Don Huacho's jamon claveado (ham with cloves), but they never seem to have it in stock.

They also deliver around town, if you don't want to leave your air conditioned hotel on one of those days in Chetumal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albertf12, Gerente at Marisqueria El Taco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your visit and your amazing review, we always do our best to offer the best quality in our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank carlosalberto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisqueria El Taco Loco also viewed

Chetumal, Quintana Roo
Chetumal, Quintana Roo
 
Chetumal, Quintana Roo
Chetumal, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Marisqueria El Taco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing