We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Suites Arges
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Reviewed March 24, 2013

When the hot water didn't show for the shower and we called and asked, we were told to let the water run for 20 minutes and then it would be hot. After 30 minutes, my father went down to let them know. they gave him a key to a room downstairs but by the time he got back, the water was hot. They told him the water was working on the floor below us but they had been having problems on our floor. I asked about making a reservation for the ferry to Ambergris, so the front desk sent an email for me. Why couldn't they book it. The staff was not helpful in any way and if the girl was new would be the only reason we got a blank stare every time we asked for something. Breakfast was not included. The location was fair for the most part. There were plenty of places to eat around the hotel. Just would not recommend. There are plenty of places for the same price around that must have better service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

For the past 3 years me and my family stayed at the Arges and had no problem. The room was clean the staff was helpful. The location was perfect. We cant wait to get back. I would recommend this hotel any day.

Room Tip: Just book a room there are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Got placed here when I went to DJ for the Grito, rooms are very nice, beds comfy, AC gets ice cold plus great location as it is right in the center of down town Chetumal.

Only thing I did not like about the room is I was located way to the back and the WIFI connection around there was terrible..

Another problem was the design of the bathroom or at least mine, there was no place to hang your towel near the shower so I had to lay it in the sink, no soap rack in the shower had to leave my soap standing on top of the shower door frame and unfortunately my soap wasn't the only one up there.

Looks as if house keeping missed out on someone else laying there soap up there as it was all dried up and stuck to the top of the frame.

The cable also sucked but that's pretty much anywhere in Mexico so no real complaints there except to the Mexican Cable Companies.

Room Tip: Get one closer to the front if you need WIFI Access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djthunderbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Three friends, each in a single room, and all of us were happy with our accommodations. The only disappointment was the restaurant, but with so many options within a short walk, this was not a problem. The staff was very pleasant, except for one surly waiter.
Although they boast 100 rooms, (www.hotelarges.com) it seems only about a third are actually being used. Tourism is very bad for Mexico just now, which may explain why we got a nice discount when we asked for it !
The swimming pool was sparkling clean, parking lot secure, and the location was very central.

Room Tip: Pick sunny or shady side, depending on if you like to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank encor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed one night at the Arges Hotel this week. The first room we were allocated was huge, and clearly had not been rented in some time, since it was musty, the air conditioning did not work, the bathroom was dirty, and the ceiling had partly collapsed. Upon returning to the front desk we were allocated a slightly better room in another part of the building. The air conditioning worked, however the room was not very clean, the shower sprayed out in all directions, the internet service was intermittent, and every sound made by anyone passing outside the door could clearly be heard inside. We had planned to stay a second night, but could not face it and moved elsewhere.

Value was very poor - for half thr price we paid I might have said it was acceptable value for money.

Highly suggest that you avoid this property, and since there are plenty of other hotels in the area, it should not be hard to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Clean, comfortable and close to downtown this hotel was a good value. We walked to the waterfront and enjoyed the restaurants and small bars all along the Malecon. The hotel was mostly occupied by vacationing Mexican families which made us feel good. Secure parking was nice and the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: get a room away fron the street--quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuintanillaSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones son muy comodas, no hay tanto problema con la que seleccionen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DiegoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Cocos
Hotel Los Cocos
#3 of 20 in Chetumal
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Azteca
Hotel Real Azteca
#12 of 20 in Chetumal
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fontana
Hotel Villa Fontana
#15 of 20 in Chetumal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Suites Arges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suites Arges

Address: 212 Lazaro Cardenas | Colonia Centro, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range: $29 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Suites Arges 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Suites Arges is a charming hotel with 18 years of experience offering the best comfort, located strategically at the heart of Chetumal. We are pleased to give you a friendly service and the most comfortable facilities for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Suites Arges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Suites Arges Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing