We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ucum
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chetumal
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Cocos(Chetumal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marlon(Chetumal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliette(Chetumal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
6
12
11
1
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
12
11
1
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 38 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Located in the west end of the main street of Chetumal Hotel Ucum is a good choice for the budget traveler. Near food stores, the marcado, and the Maya museum the location is very convenient. As with most things in Chetumal a taxi ride is needed if arriving by bus from the ADO station. (aprox 50 pesos). The security is better than many Mexican hotels as Ucum is inside a secure concrete perimiter with parking inside. The pool although cloudy is full of clorine and seems to be well maintained.

Room Tip: with a little more money 350 pesos or so try to get a room near the pool, theyre on the ground floor and a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

During this leg of my travels, I had a companion which made options like Ucum a possibility. We split the price of a room and were able to stay away from the backpacker and tourist crowd. We loved this! It allowed us to actually speak with some locals and wander the streets without a barrage of other tourists. I know, I'm a tourist, too!

The pool felt pretty clean. And after a long long walk to Calderitas to find some steamy mosquito-infested Mayan ruins, the pool was PERFECT! =)

We didn't interact with the staff much, but they were helpful when we did. We ate at the Ucum restaurant just outside the main Hotel gate. It was pretty decent tipico food at decent prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had to stay in Chetumal due to an overbooked ferry to Caye Caulker and was recommended this place by the cab driver. We got a simple private room with a bathroom and it was fine. Very basic but at least pretty clean. The desk people didnt really have too much to offer but they were fine. They do have a pool but it was pretty gross looking so we obviously elected not to take a swim. As far as budget accomodation goes, this is a pretty good find at a very reasonable price

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's not the perfect place but it's cheap, comfortable and it has hot and cold private bath with air conditioning, they didn't speak English but it was ok. They even have a pool and it's in the center and close to the market. All this for so little, I felt like I was getting away, if anyone wants to complain then they should go somewhere else because you for what you get. I don't care about being in a perfect world so I stay there a quarter of the times I got to Chetumal.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank R0ses_GrillandBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you're looking for something fancy, this isn't the place. However, if you're looking for quiet, clean, affordable accommodations, I recommend this hotel. For 220 pesos ($17 CAD) for 2 people, you can't go wrong. Sure, the decor is outdated and this motel is older, but it was clean, comfortable and close to everything. Be sure to brush up on your Spanish though or you'll have a tough time communicating with the front desk. Also, make sure you always have pesos on hand since Chetumal is not quite as touristy as other Mexican towns, you likely won't be able to use American dollars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews