We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”
Review of Hotel Layseca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Layseca
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stumbled on this hotel while looking for somewhere to stay for only 1 night. So glad I did!

The room was spacious and full of colonial Spanish charm and elegance. High grade sheets and towels, very comfortable bed and a great location.

Class and style define this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalaharigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

This seemed like a beautiful hotel at a reasonable price. An employee showed my partner and me a very nice room. So we decided to stay there; we moved the car to the back parking lot, took our luggage to the room, and went up front to pay.

And then, at the front desk, another employee told us that, since we were two men, we could not stay in the room we were shown! She said that, "by hotel policy," we could not share a bed; however, if we wished, she would book us for a room with separate beds. Of course, we were not going to pay anything to a hotel that discriminates against us, and we left. It was a very unpleasant experience in a day that was otherwise lovely.

Don't try to stay there if you want to sleep with your same-sex partner. Stay there only if you are willing to support a hotel that discriminates in that way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank FredMVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013, and had a positive experience. Although it is on a busy main street it was very quiet inside. The courtyard was nice to sit out in. The room was the highest room I have ever stayed in, which was really cool, literally. All was clean and neat. Staff were nice, though no-one spoke English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanwellandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved the Hotel Layseca. It is right on the main street but the rooms are behind a wall in a courtyard so it was very peaceful. Our room was large with 16 foot ceilings and lovely hand carved beds. The courtyard was full of tropical plants and flowers and had several spots where you could sit and read or check your email. Staff was pleasant and friendly and everything was very clean. The beds were a little bit hard, that was the only drawback. Some nice eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jopetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to stay there, it was cheap and clean, and location is awesome, but for recent time they have doubled their fares. IMO they don't worth the actual value.

Solia hospedarme en este hotel, sus tarifas eran razonables, los cuartos limpios y la ubicacion inmejorable, pero de un tiempo para acá duplicaron el precio. En mi opinión, no los vale.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 'new' section -in the back of the hotel- they're quiet and... new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilDux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location is good, the building is in very good conditions. In general de hotel is clean, the rooms are confortable.
In general de staff is nice, only the administrator is not kind at all, but when the owner is there he changes. The owner is very kind and nice. I give 5 because I had a nice stay with my family. And of course the price is excelente!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maiaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Most places that we stay we either feel good or bad about. With this hotel there are some good things and some not so good. On the positive side the prices if fantastic and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms were spotless. The location was amazing right across for the main plaza. This means some street noise but to us it was worth it. Some traffic noise is to be expected and the ever present church bells. But the other noise, guests watching TV at 4 a.m. and talking loudly, staff calling back and forth to each other and holding loud conversations while some guests are still sleeping was not appreciated, nor was the sound of machinery and repairs. Twice we couldn't shower because they were doing some plumbing repairs and didn't let us know. All through our 5 day stay the Internet service was spotty at best. We talked to them and they seemed apologetic but...that didn't help when my wife was in the middle of booking a flight online and giving her credit card info and things crashed. I was in the middle of some important interchange with a major Canadian federal government agency when the system crashed on me. We were trying to deal with bankers and realtors and it was a nightmare. The staff was not friendly but not hostile. Overall flip a coin, if you want value and location you will probably enjoy this place. If you want reliability and tranquility maybe not. The beds gave us both backaches.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Rio
5.9 mi away
Mision San Gil
Mision San Gil
#3 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Del Rio
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Del...
#5 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton San Juan Del Rio
Hampton Inn by Hilton San Juan D...
#2 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Venecia
Hotel Plaza Venecia
#9 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
43 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin Del Eden
Hotel El Jardin Del Eden
#11 of 12 in Tequisquiapan
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
#4 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Layseca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Layseca

Address: Av Juarez Oriente 9, San Juan del Rio 76800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > San Juan del Rio
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Rio
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Layseca 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Layseca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Layseca San Juan Del Rio, Queretaro, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing