We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on beautiful grounds”

Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on beautiful grounds”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is set on very beautiful grounds. There are two outdoor pools, one heated indoor pool and one adult pool in the spa. There are also quite a few things for young children to do as they have a Swiss Family Robinson? type playground. The rooms were comfortable although the beds are only doubles. When I checked in, they didn't acknowledge my gold status and offer anything. I asked for a room upgrade which they granted. Staff was nice and accommodating. We didn't eat at the hotel, but went into town and ate Tacos and Tortas at Chimbombos which was good and cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    190
    73
    39
    37
See reviews for
320
115
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a nice time in IXtappan and would go back to this hotel. We had a garden view room with a balcony. All staff members were friendly and went out of there way to make sure we had a nice time. We had great value for the price. The Marriott website accurately describes the hotel. The two outside swimming pools were clean and attractive. The indoor pool also looked fine. We liked the food in the restaurant. All of the people that worked in the restaurant were top notch. I would like to make special mention of Adan, Rosy, and Victor. I enjoyed seeing all of the art work in the hotel. This hotel is clean. The grounds are very pretty. We took a side trip to Taxco and enjoyed our day outing in this city. We felt safe in IXtappan. The only negative comment I have is that internet access is a little expensive at around 15 dollars a day. At our request the hotel did provide us with a safe for our valuables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had an ok time, but our ipod was stolen from our hotel room. The front desk sent up someone from security who supossedly conducted an investigation. We never heard back from him. I was unimpressed and will tell my friends as well to look for other places to stay if they go to ixtapan de la sal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice hotel, nice rooms but it gets very crowded on weekends.
Get a treatment on the spa and you can use their facilities the whole day.
The food on the restaurants is O.K. but the brunch on Sunday is very good

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pools are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irving001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a weekend with my wife and our baby! IT was a very pleasant trip, the staff is very friendly, it's a great place to be away of the stress and work for a weekend. Tha room is very confortable. Bath and Body Works supllies in the bathroom. Several pools and playground for the kids. Great buffet breakfast(Not included in all plans) I suggest you try to get a package that includes breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms that have a garden view are less expensive than the mountain view but there is not real differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discobolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst in Ixtapan for a family wedding. Our room was spacious with two double beds and a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and gardens. The reception area is very attractive and the staff friendly and helpful. Familes are catered for at this hotel with lots of kids facilities. We had dinner at the Orangerie restaurant in the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay. One small point, there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Also the hotel charged for Wifi and it was expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This spa vacation, was a wonderful, new experience for me. The location is lovely. This older, resort has 2 Spas providing a large variety, of traditional or high end massages and beauty treatments. The gourmet and healthy; indoor or outdoor dining experience was superb; as was the service! With tennis courts, championship golf course, swimming pools, fitness center, and organized classes, made it easy for me to exercise as much and as often I wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixtapan de la Sal
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Bungalows Lolita
#3 of 9 in Ixtapan de la Sal
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Villa Vergel
#7 of 9 in Ixtapan de la Sal
46 reviews
20.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
No photo provided
Marmil Hotel Malinalco
#170 of 310 in Mexico City
29 reviews
13.2 mi away
No photo provided
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Rancho San Diego Grand Spa...
#4 of 9 in Ixtapan de la Sal
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center

Property: Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos S/N, Ixtapan de la Sal 51900, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Ixtapan de la Sal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ixtapan de la Sal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Ixtapan de la Sal when staying in the Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center. Our modern hotel boasts picturesque views of the local area, hacienda-style architecture, spacious and comfortable guest rooms and plenty of amenities. Take advantage of our gorgeous pools, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center, the many family and children's activities and our tranquil luxury spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ixtapan de la Sal Marriott Hotel, Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ixtapan De La Sal Hotel And Spa
Marriott Ixtapan De La Sal Hotel Ixtapan De La Sal
Ixtapan De La Sal Marriott
Ixtapan Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing