We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BP Samila Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Songkhla
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although a hotel manager seemingly trying hard, just about all could be improved in this place. The hotel is in a obvious need of a thorough face lift and the staff of a thorough service training.

I will not include any critic on the staff level of English knowledge although poor, I guess international guests are rare so it may be excused. However, the rude and negligent approach shown to visitors of ours is totally unacceptable for any hotel anywhere. No control of charges (check your bill in detail) and no control of payments done (they tried to charge us double for extra room). Complaints made to hotel manager - hope for results and improvements!

One good mark though - Food is really good!
Quality Thai food to reasonable pricing.

Warning
Avoid the pool. Cleanlyness to be questioned and sharp edges on bottom tiles. Both my children cut their feet.

Room Tip: Good view twds the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasseBromma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
28
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is too big.
Rooms are very old.
Nice view from rooms if you are facing the beach.
Good location.
I have stayed there for 4 nights to work and it is not look like a hotel for people that stay there for business purposes.
Good breakfast though.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiopimenta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't recommend this hotel. The only good things were its location and a buffet breakfast.

The problems:
It's way too expensive for a very average hotel. The room was very out-dated and shabby. When we stayed the water wasn't working properly so we could barely take a shower and our toilet wouldn't flush. It was ridiculous that although we complained about this when we checked out, the staff still charged us 20 baht for a bottle of water from the mini bar we'd had to use! Very poor service. Also they said they had free wi-fi, but it barely worked at all, and in the lobby there was a room charging 90 baht per hour for wi-fi... So actually they don't have free wi-fi.

Try Pavillian Hotel for 900 baht a night instead?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristessacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Songkhla hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel have a great location next to Samila Beach but the rest was very poor.
The swimming pool not clean.
The Ton Son's restaurant was big but only a few stuff to assist customer during their dinner. While I having dinner with the family.We had Ka Pow Ta Lay but their was a cleaning stuff that will be dangerous if you ate it. We stop that dish and tell the waitress. We don't want this one.
She only said sorry and nothing more than I expected.I wish her boss should come to apologise to us but they are no one.

Room Tip: If you don't mind with the services , take a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Pros: room is very big : more space with many full amenities options; hair dryer,minibar free 2 bottles water ;toiletries, bathtub and shower seperate area for using: big bed with good ocean view; many choices breakfast but all cold only chinese boiled rice soup; location is best closer too golden mermaid and beaches many seafood stall along golf field nearby hotel; local mostly picnic in evening on beaches

Cons: swimming pool so dirty without cleaning no guest use it; i guest they not clean cuz rainy season that comin plus save their water changing cost:
internet wifi is so bad!! tho they have each floor router without no need username n password to log in still horrible workout; it keeps disconnected each 5 or 10 minutes with super slow downloading

overall if u jus overlook those 2 cons; u wud b find for these old hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Extremely bad experience.. My family trip to seaside of Songkhla for 3D2N with expectations of reasonable hotel facilities went down the drain. Many things not working and poorly maintained during our stay in the hotel.
Water fountain at the lobby not operational, even they have big beautiful statues with it.
The "free wifi", not working at all. We could understand if there is some telco company problem which caused it, but what upset us was the staff unawareness that the wifi doesn't work, keep giving us the info about password etc., until somebody who knows inform her that the wifi has not worked for a couple of days. Come the next day, another "blur" front desk staff will give us same answer (gave us wifi password etc.). Hmmm.., looks like the management NOT sharing important information for their staff to answer correctly updated status to guest questions. Same situation happened on our second day, NO TV channel at all due to some "disaster" within the area, but few front desk staff were not well informed about it when I approached them.
Our room aircond was making irritating noise where you could't sleep well, and after complained about the noise, they had turn off "something" to reduce the noise, but the aircond did not give enough cool air for the room. Fortunately, the rainy season helped us to ignore "not so cold aircond" because the noise it made was more unbearable.
The swimming pool is dirty, and my kids did not even want to use it eventhough they love pool so much everytime we stay at any hotel. Besides, there were very few "proper chair" prepared for visitor to the pool if you just want to sit and relax. And to share our bad experience about the pool, on our last day from our seventh floor balcony, we saw dogs came in and out to the pool area in the early morning and letting go their urines in it happily...We feel blessed for not using the swimming pool at all...
Fitness facility..., threadmills++ covered with plastics with lots of dust, and carpet inside the fitness center dirty and smelly. I am not sure how long the center has been abandoned like that...

By the way, the positive part about our stay was the location of the hotel which give good view of the ocean and seaside. The famous Golden Mermaid statue where you should not miss to take pictures just a minute away from the hotel.
Night market stalls nearby is very colorful with plenty of souvenirs and local food you could try.
Many good seafood restaurants along the beach including "halal" restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Horrible... Yes you got the beach but thats all. All I can describe is poor resort maintenance, terrible room, and you must forget the Thai hospitality in this resort. My first check in I got smell room, I thought it will be gone as I turn on the AC, but guess what I move to other room, the smell stay still. I cannot say much for the facility; I went no where in the hotel since I already have a bad impression for this resort and just want to leave it without ever thinking for coming back

Room Tip: at least ask for beach view if you really want to stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfa_bintoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Songkhla hotels
0.0 mi away
B.P. Grand Suite Hotel
B.P. Grand Suite Hotel
#16 of 27 in Songkhla
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Palace Hotel
Green World Palace Hotel
#12 of 27 in Songkhla
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Flora May Resort
The Flora May Resort
#3 of 27 in Songkhla
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viva Hotel
Viva Hotel
#11 of 27 in Songkhla
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Singora Hotel
The Singora Hotel
#7 of 27 in Songkhla
29 reviews
16.8 mi away
V.L. Hatyai Hotel
V.L. Hatyai Hotel
#1 of 27 in Songkhla
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BP Samila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BP Samila Beach Hotel

Property: BP Samila Beach Hotel
Address: 8 Ratchadumnurn Road | Amphur Muang, Songkhla 90000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Songkhla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Songkhla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BP Samila Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BP Samila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bp Samila Beach Songkhla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing