We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent day out”
Review of Songkhla Zoo

Songkhla Zoo
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent day out”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I just got back from the zoo and to summarise the recent comments, it's not as bad as it's made out to be.
It's far from perfect, but for 150B (100B if you take your Thai work permit) it's a good way to spend a day. It's far better than hanging around Songkhla town, that's for sure! We spent 5 hours looking around and we enjoyed our day out. The animals seem healthy and reasonably happy in their environments. It is pretty unclean though (green water and the animals were surrounded by their own feces) and there's lots of closed enclosures and building work all around the place. It was a bit of a let down at times, but the place is big enough that you feel like you get your money's worth. I wouldn't say it's worth avoiding, but just don't expect something amazing.
Oh, and take transport. We took a motorbike and were thankful we didn't have to climb those steep hills on foot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrMountney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    17
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than Taiping Zoo or Zoo Negara in Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

You need a vehicle to travel around this big zoo and you can stop anytime anyplace at road site to have a close visit to animals. You can spend 20B per plate to buy some foods for animal and i am sure kids loving so much cause can have chances to close to feeding animal such like elephant, deer, bird, hippopotamus. I admission that some animals are not in listed but i can understand that this big zoo still got value to visit and it better than Taiping Zoo or Zoo Neraga in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia at least i can find most animals are very active and in good looking not as slim as nothing to eat. The tiger show are very nice and attractive and you can see how tiger get food when in hungry face. Last, you can prepare to visit the water park too if you want to try some sun burn in the pool :).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vektor_Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Worth A Visit...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A nice zoo, located up the hill, windy. However it was not well maintained. Dirty and old, not many animals. We don't manage to locate some of the animals listed in the map.

If you still insisted to visit, better make sure you have your own transport. No transport provided by zoo, however we managed to rent a motorbike from one of the staffs at 200B per day. We have no choice. You may try walking but walking around zoo seems impossible to me as it is very big.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenix_Quah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

it's a good place to visit in Songkhla. It's one of popular place in this area. However, this place is quite dirty and old.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florence_m1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close Encounter with Wildlife”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Songkhla Zoo makes a very interesting full day event which allows close proximity to various species. Due to the size of this zoo area, driving or riding is the best way to enjoy what this zoo has to offer. There are 3 animal performances in the usual schedule, however the tiger feeding show was not on offer during our visit. Two shows, one involved seal performance and the other involved various animals including an eagle, a cockatoo, a hornbill, otters were available. The latter show is definitely worth a visit.

The highlight for us was the experience of feeding deers, elephants, zebras and hornbills. And the drive through the hornbill's enclosure was the closest experience to a safari drive. Kids and adults would enjoy the overall experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HalouWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songkhla Zoo also viewed

Songkhla, Songkhla Province
Songkhla, Songkhla Province
 
Songkhla, Songkhla Province
Songkhla, Songkhla Province
 

Been to Songkhla Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing