We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hotel, Nothing Flash”
Review of V.L. Hatyai Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
V.L. Hatyai Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Songkhla
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Standard Hotel, Nothing Flash”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night, in a standard room. The room was just a stock standard room. The TV was new and large. The bed was hard, but the pillows were fine.

The bathroom was dirty, with grime and mould in alot of places.

The service was adequate.

The location seemed to be in a fairly central spot. we got Tuk Tuk's sometimes, but mostly did alot of walking.

The breakfats was horrendous, do not eat here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
15
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

abit old but very clean and the bed is soft,the shower is great with strong water pressure, air cond is cold, free drinking water, the fridge is empty which no need worry for the missing item in the fridge. abit quiet at night compare with lee garden, but very busy in the day time. worth for what u have paid...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartoontun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed there overnight in February on our way to Koh Bulon. We got a “deluxe room” for 28 USD per night over Agoda, booked just one day ahead.

The hotel is quiet central, so the main points of interest are reachable easily per feet.

The room size was good, AC, TV, fridge, good water pressure and complimentary water – what you can expect for the price, just could be cleaner.

I’m not sure if I would stay again – Hat Yai`s hotels are generally bad for Thai standards, so it doesn’t really mater where you stay, so decide from location!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at VL Hatyai as other hotels were fully booked. Booked online via Agoda and quite fairly priced. The location is quite good as you can actually walk to Lee Garden Plaza, Central and etc for around 10 minutes.

The breakfast was not something to shout about but the service was excellent. The front desk staff and manager were very helpful. We even got Wi- fi service for 20 Baht. I must correct the earlier reviewer for saying the 20 baht is for 24 hours. It's actually for the entire duration of stay, it's just that you will need to get a new log in ID daily from the Front desk.

Complimentary water was provided and topped up daily with good housekeeping service. Cheap laundry services as well. Only challenge was when trying to order room service. The waiting staff couldn't understand English. So, had to get the Front Desk Manager's assistance.

For those who are finding alternative way to get to Hat Yai, you can actually take a VIP coach from Kuala Lumpur. The bus company's name is Sri Maju and they have an online ticketing service. It's a double deck bus departing from Pudu Sentral. The journey is 10 hours but hardly felt it as we were asleep. Recommend to take the night bus. Very good price at only RM 60 one way per person. Very comfortable seat which is huge with leg rest. But note that there are a few stops including Malaysian immigration at Bukit Kayu Hitam and Thai Immigration at Sadao. Service was good as they even help you to print the Arrival/ Departure Card. The bus journey ends in Hat Yai City at Davis Tour. But I felt that Davis Tour's rate for return bus were kind of over priced. Look for alternatives at City with better rates.

Room Tip: Ask for twin bedded room as it is more spacious than the double bedded room. It's also brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleentff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is located nearby the bridge and overall i would say i paid a good rate for a good room n services. Paid like rm60 around Usd20 per night and room was spacious. Though room a bit run down but still sleepable.. Would say still OK n Good. Wifi is extremely cheap.. Cost me only rm2 around usd0.65 cent per whole stay usage..worth it. I paid usd30 per day for usage of internet for wifi at another 5star hotel nearby mcdonald.. Uh not worth it. So im happy with Vl on this. Staffs are friendly n helpful and location wise.. Nearby the city .. Just a walking distance. Overall, i would stay here again for the price, services n location, no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The location was nice; convenient to move around to other places of interest such as Kim Yong Market, Lee Garden Plaza, morning market and much more and it is just within 5-15minutes walking distance. Another thing, the price was affordable for us as students. Besides that, the hotel staffs was very polite and efficient. They was tried to communicate with us with fluent English and readily resolved everything with a smile. Unfortunately, there was poor lighting at toilet. Hope V.L. Hotel will improve this problem as soon as possible. =(

It would be my choice for next time return to Hatyai, I would like to stay there again next time.

(Similar with my review on booking.com about this hotel)

Room Tip: At the traffic light junction. near to fly over
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suyumomotaro_0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my family as we did not make prior booking and we found out that this is one of the cheapest and good location hotel around. For THB 900/room, it is cheap and nice as you get a room with twin beds and an LCD TV mounted on the wall. Have good TV channels including Malaysia's TV3. Fairly clean and this is a non-smoking hotel which makes it clean and no smell of cigarette.

It is also near the Hat Yai junction if you want to catch a train and if you are going to Malaysia, the Konsortium Bas Ekspres office is just a short 6-mins walk to the central area, near the Lee Garden Plaza. Quite quiet at night as it is not located at the central area but a short walk will bring you to the street vendors near the Lee Garden Plaza.

Staff are also nice and helpful Can speak decent English.

The setbacks are small lift, lack of parking space where you have to park opposite the road and it is quite dangerous at times to cross the road to get to the car [if you are driving your own car]

Room Tip: Ask for room which overlooks the downtown area. Mine is looking the railway track. Nice to see the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kairulizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Songkhla
0.2 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 90 in Hat Yai
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 90 in Hat Yai
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 90 in Hat Yai
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Season Hotel
New Season Hotel
#7 of 90 in Hat Yai
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Hotel Hatyai
Asian Hotel Hatyai
#22 of 90 in Hat Yai
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Crown Plaza
Golden Crown Plaza
#31 of 90 in Hat Yai
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V.L. Hatyai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V.L. Hatyai Hotel

Property: V.L. Hatyai Hotel
Address: 1-3-5-7 Niphat Uthit 1 Road, Hatyai, Songkhla 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Songkhla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Songkhla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — V.L. Hatyai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your V.L. Hatyai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing