We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel with excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ranong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with excellent facilities”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tinidee Hotel because we needed to do a visa run. The Tinidee is listed as a 4 star hotel and whilst I think that this might be a little optimistic, the hotel certainly does have excellent facilities. We stayed there in the low season and for our money got a very spacious room with a sofa and table and chairs. An in room safe, dressing gowns and slippers were provided. The hotel had a well equipped fitness centre, sauna, swimming pool and four large pools of heated mineral water. The hotel also manages the mineral springs just outside town and offers a complimentary shuttle and entrance to these.

We bought a couple of pastries from the Cafe in the lobby - very good and very reasonable price. The associated Japanese restaurant Shibuki however was ATROCIOUS. There were a couple of downsides with this hotel:
* the view of the lake - should have been beautiful but instead was surrounded by piles of rubbish
* the noisy Club next door - the music started at 10 pm every night and was incredibly loud, we were on the 5th floor and could still hear it
* WiFi was quite slow and we had issues with the satellite TV - however when we complained the reception staff gave us a discount on the room rate

On the whole though, the Tinidee Hotel is a good option if you are staying in Ranong.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room as far away from the Club as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    64
    72
    16
    12
See reviews for
25
62
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

There isn't many hotel to choose from in Ranong. This hotel is one of the bigger ones and the room rate reflects the status.
We stayed only a night on route to Hua Hin.
Check in could be better. We arrived at almost 3pm and they could not ready the rooms for us.
Staff spoke basic English but we managed with basic English to get what we wanted

Our rooms were basic . For what I paid, I expected a little more.
Ranong is famous for its hot spas. The hotel runs of the spas in the city. Guests get complimentary shuttle to the spa. Entrance is also included.

The was a hotel run pub should anyone wanted to enjoy a drink or two. Other than that, there was also a restaurant serving local delights. Menu Price was very reasonable

My summary
UP
Good ample parking
Complimentary shuttle and entrance to hot spa about 10 min away
Good restaurant . Complimentary breakfast was very decent
Friendly staff

DOWN
Room could be better with the rate paid
Room was not ready even we arrived

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kawanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were going on a road trip so thought Ranong would be a good stopping point. It was a average hotel and suited our needs. We had dinner in the restaurant and English was not the best in fact I don't think our waitress could understand us very well, alot of confusion went on until the head girl came over and sorted it out. We found Ranong a depressing place and wouldn't bother with the place again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzieq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBK-HT, Public Relations Manager at Tinidee Hotel Ranong, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Suzieq100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased to note that we were able to suit your needs. Your comment regarding the English skills of our service staff has been taken constructively and we will prioritize English training for the restaurant team.

Andrew Irwin | Marketing Manager | MBK Hotel and Tourism | Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

In Ranong, the Tinidee could be an oasis. This is a rough town on the Myanmar border. In two days here I witnessed a lake choked with trash and raw sewage, Burmese smugglers in a tense standoff with armed gangs, and a kickboxing fight between rival street thugs. Thailand is the land of smiles, but those aren't in Ranong. Honestly it's not a good place to be.

The Tinidee is on the edge of town. They have really wonderful and accommodating staff who did everything right, and I asked for a few little extras that you would expect at a four star hotel, but maybe not what you would expect to see delivered in a place like this. The rooms are worn and faded, but the hotel is well cared for. Even though they obviously don't have the money for updates there is real pride of ownership and the staff clearly are well taken care of.

I really, really wanted to rate this place higher. Honestly, I did. Unfortunately, the fundamental thing to deliver if you are a hotel is a good night's sleep. I could not sleep well at all, because a very popular nightclub (covered in signs warning against bringing in guns and switchblades) is on the property and is very, very loud. I was all the way up on the 6th floor and the bad came through loud and clear, with a thumping that made sleep impossible. I ended up spending half my first day on Koh Phayam catching up on lost sleep.

The other thing that is a dreadful sin to me is serving bad coffee. The breakfast buffet, while entirely adequate in all other respects, totally failed here. The coffee was not just bad, it was undrinkable. Worse than instant! If you're going to keep me up so late with the nightclub noise, better have really good coffee to make up for it.

On my return to Ranong, I checked into another hotel. The lady at the front desk said she understood and this often happens. I am guessing the nightclub makes more money than the hotel, so the situation may not change. Be sure to call and ask about this before booking. This made the difference for me, and resulted in a score lower than otherwise deserved.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dialtone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBK-HT, Public Relations Manager at Tinidee Hotel Ranong, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear dialtone69,

Firstly thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Ranong, and we regret to hear that your experience of this destination was unlike those experienced by others. Ranong is famous for its natural hot springs, parks and wildlife. We note your appreciation of our staff and you will be pleased to note that we are currently refreshing some areas of the hotel, with the refurbishments of the Deluxe rooms on the upper floors of the hotel having been completed. Your constructive comments regarding the noise from the bar and the coffee have been noted and we will certainly address this for the benefit of future guests. Thank you once again for staying with us on your first night in Ranong.

Andrew Irwin | Marketing Manager | MBK Hotel and Tourism | Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

stayed for 1 night on a way to koh phayam. room was on top floor (no lift) and we had to drag our heavy bag there ourseves as porter was not interested in helping. rooms was uninspiring, there were dirty marks on the walls, tv wasn't tuned in properly - no loss though as all the chanels were in thai... there was no batteries in the remote for a/c but fortunately we had our own supply.
kept being woken up by shouting from the room next door - and stink of cigarettes as the thai guests were coming out onto the coridor outside our room to chain smoke. had to go and tell them off at 3 am as started to feel depressed from lack of sleep!
horrible experience - never again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ag_on_hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBK-HT, Public Relations Manager at Tinidee Hotel Ranong, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear ag_on_aol,

Thank you for choosing to stay in the economy class Tinidee Inn during your stay in Ranong. Tinidee Inn Ranong is designed for travellers who choose no-frill accommodations, providing basic rooms and facilities for travelers on a budget, highlighting simple amenities, 24-hour reception and daily housekeeping. The Tinidee Hotel Ranong is located adjacent Tinidee Inn and is a 3-star property providing guests with comfortable rooms and suites, guest elevators and full lifestyle facilities that include an all-day restaurant, swimming pool, hot spring pools, fitness centre and spa. Your comments concerning Tinidee Inn have been well noted and our team will look at them in more detail. Should you return to Ranong, we invite you to stay at Tinidee Hotel and experience full hospitality services.

Andrew Irwin | Marketing Manager | MBK Hotel and Tourism | Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ranong hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Wherever I travel I try to avoid the tourist throng in favour of more direct and unaffected communication with the culture. Ranong is a large township in southern Thailand and the hotel Tinidee is mainly frequented by Thai people. There is only a sprinkling of tourists in both the hotel and Ranong. Tinidee means "good place" in Thai and offers well-presented accommodation, a gymnasium, large swimming pool and four large pools full of hot mineral water that is brought from the natural mineral springs in the surrounding mountains. All this including breakfast is a bargain at A$45 per night or, depending on the time of year, open for negotiation. I've been here many times and enjoy being away from the rowdy tourist centres with their unavoidable commercial pressures. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The only downside is a noisy band that can play on until late at night. This can be avoided by getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erling44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

At the end of the day Ranong is not really a destination place but a stopover for Koh Payam or Koh Chang. The Tinidee was comfortable enough and definitely clean and at 1,800 baht a night including breakfast was fairly reasonable. I would say if you need somewhere pretty central and near the port and would appreciate aircon and a TV then it's worth staying here. Of course everyone is very pleasant and try hard to help you if you need anything.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank katiets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ranong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Galla Hotel
The Galla Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ranong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nalin Place
Nalin Place
#2 of 28 in Ranong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namsai Khaosuay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hidden Resort
The Hidden Resort
#1 of 28 in Ranong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Sky Resort Ranong
0.4 mi away
The Farm House Hotel Ranong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinidee Hotel Ranong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinidee Hotel Ranong

Property: Tinidee Hotel Ranong
Address: 41/144 Tamuang Road | Kao Nives Subdistrict, Ranong 85000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ranong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ranong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinidee Hotel Ranong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tinidee Hotel Ranong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing