We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service”

Ranong Hideaway Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Ranong
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, International, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had dinner here with 6, and were by then used to the fact that every dish is served seperately, in Thailand, but in this case, we were actually able to eat together, more or less. The beer was served from big bottles, which were put on a side table, and every now and then waiters came to fill the glasses, very attentively.

After our meal we requested a taxi, but were instead dropped off by the people of the restaurant itself, who did not want to accept money for this service, at first.

All in all, it was a pleasant experience, nice atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food with OK service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant / bar on Friday night. Thai food was above average but service can be improved. Feel a bit run down and old.
No atmosphere for a bar or restaurant or I guess guest house. Big place at the middle of town.
Worth to stop by if you areup fordinner but I would not go out of my way to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food both western and Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Been visiting Sophons for a few years now and always enjoy a meal and beers here. The food is very good, home Fresh baked bread, Home made pizza and burgers, The best Tempura praws i have ever had, The menu is large and has a number of daily specials which change every few days and include things like pork chops, Chicken keiv, Pasta dishes.

You can get a very decent ozzie steak here cooked how you like it or sample the thai menu which eat a lot. Portions on the large side and prices not steep which is reflected in the amount of local thais who come to eat here. They spend there money well and they seems to like what they get at sophons.

The place also functions as a bar and has the full range of beers both thai and european. Bottle of leo or Chang i think was going for 70 bht so very cheap. They even had cans of English cider brought up from phucket and of course lots of wine and spirits if that your tipple.

I like it here and always return Mark the owner runs a tight little ship here and supports a large amount of staff and their familys the place is a meeting place for almost all types in ranong and is a great place to hang out day or night.

Also has sport on tv and free pool and snooker

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank smirky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Top food for bargain prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excellent food like the Fish Steak. Cozy atmosphere. Friendly staff. A special highlight in the town of many highlights.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyJohnny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRACKNELL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner in Ranong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Food was good, and reasonably priced but service can be a little slow.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranong Hideaway Restaurant also viewed

Ranong, Ranong Province
 
Ranong, Ranong Province
Ranong, Ranong Province
 
Ranong, Ranong Province
Ranong, Ranong Province
 

Been to Ranong Hideaway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing