We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$15
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Expedia.com
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Hotels.com
$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Booking.com$14
CheapTickets$14
Travelocity$14
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
31
65
64
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
65
64
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful breakfast the main road robinson mae outskirts makro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort is easy to find and very well located close to the town, the Burmese border and and Rim Moei Market. The reception area is grand and imposing, the rooms are well proportioned, with good quality, if a little worn and dated furniture. The bed/mattress and pillows are as good as you will get anywhere, I slept for nearly ten hours. The speedy internet service was also a pleasant surprise, after being told by the booking agent that there was no internet connection.

I have stayed at this hotel several times before, it puts me in mind of a fading film star. With every visit as each year passes, so does the grandeur of what was once a fine establishment. The carpet in the room has more stains than the glass in Canterbury cathedral, the windows were filthy, the swimming pool murky, the gardens becoming overgrown, and there are scuffs, scrapes and damaged or scratched paintwork everywhere you look. The remote control for the TV didn't work and the Air Con was noisy. I attempted to unplug the bedside lamp, in order to charge my laptop, unfortunately there was no socket just a maize of jumbled, bare wires. Very dangerous, (see attached photograph) particularly with an inquisitive two year old boy on hand eager to find something interesting to play with. It also has to be said that the hotel in every aspect is far from cheap compared to the plethora of surrounding hotels.

Would I stay again? Yes, for convenience, the bed, and some sort of misplaced nostalgia. 10/20

Room tip: All rooms are much of a muchness, take the non breakfast option, one can get a breakfast outside, of at least equal quality for around a third of the price.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somsak S, General Manager at Centra by Centara Hotel Mae Sot, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all I would like take this opportunity thank you very much for your stay with Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort During Period August 22, 2012

We are apologize to you and aception with your comment regarding our bedside lamp cable it not kept in good condition, look not safety during you stay, In order we are working to improved the system power cable, TV and Aircondition as per your comment

For carpet in room, Window flam as your mention we keep in our plan for changing and renovate

The garden at the moment our gardener still heard working on this

For your information all guest room we have 1 set of socket in each room it's on beside TV tabel

One again, we are thank you for your comment and we are looking to served you again at Centara Mae Sot Hill as of our special regular guest

Thank you and regards,

Somsak Saisawad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Having read through previous comments and knowing how bad Thai hotels can be I was surprised and pleased with what we found. On the outskirts of the the town, the hotel is not a resort, but you can see lots of hills in the near distance.

We stayed in room 406, and there was nothing to complain about at all.

Everything was clean & in good condition, with firm but comfortable beds, Coffee and tea making facilities, minibar, excellent bathroom with good shower and very hot water with a selection of shower gels an shampoos. There is a safe in the room and the towels and linen were new and in excellent condition.
The plumbing was unusually good, with excellent water pressure. The toilet worked perfectly as do all the drains.

The lift worked perfectly, the swimming pool was very clean and cool, the gardens lovely, with a team of gardeners working.

Breakfast was typical of this sort of hotel, but the omelettes were good, the small choice of cereals were fresh, the coffee passable, juice good and service willing if a little bit hesitant. The toaster makes good toast and there was very tasty bread.
Everyone from front desk to kitchen staff were shyly polite and friendly.
We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights and had good undisturbed sleep.

If this place was bad, it certainly isnt now and Im happy to give it 9.5 out of 10 & I will return with pleasure.

Room tip: top floor seems to be a good bet, 405 and 406 were fine. 406 is a twin.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Khun Panpdee

First of all, I would like to take this opprotunity to thank you for your comment during you stay with us on May 21. 2012, and we're will preserve what you have to copmpliment our hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back to Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort as of our VIP guest and please let us know for your next trip to Mae sot

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Even though one should accept the fact that there is a small market for good tourist hotels in Mae Sot, there is no excuse for a chain like Centara to offer such a terrible place, rundown appearance, dirty rooms, old and broken furnishings, and i could go on.
Even the service quality falls in line with these attributes. When asking for help to find a rental car, i was given a phone number and was asked to help myself. So much about service quality in this location!

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kphammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort is in Mae Sot which is in the hills but the 'resort' is nothing like what you might expect from the name or branding. Rooms are ok, decent size and nice enough bathroom but I would have been very disappointed if I had come here for a resort style holiday. Breakfast is ok but I would advise eating in town rather than the hotel the rest of the time. This is slightly more complicated that it might be as the resort is out of town so you'll either need to pay the hotel for a ride in to town or try to flag down a taxi. Swimming pool was closed when I was there. The reception staff were friendly and spoke decent English. Most people were unable to get a decent wireless connection in their rooms so tended to congregate in the lobby to email as the signal is better! I previously stayed in the Irawaddy Resort in town which I would stay in again if I go back.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Mae Sot is a fascinating town on the Burmese border. Much of the local population is Burmese, so be prepard to see lots of ladies in traditional Burmese dress, and faces daubed with "thanaka/tanaka". The erroneously named (where is the hill? where is the resort?) Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort used to be one of the few places for tourists to stay in Mae Sot. It is quite a way outside the town center, and is now showing its age, being a bit frayed around the edges. The resort rooms are very basic, but quite spacious and adequate.The tiny lifts shudder and shake but eventually deliver you to your floor.The swimming pool is great for the kids. Avoid the hotel restaurant and food, and get out and sample the local food, such as the huge bbq shrimp. There is a very interesting market down by the river, which forms the border with Myanmar/Burma. The "resort" is reasonable value for money, compared with others in the Centara chain, but there is more competition nowadays, and it no longer has a virtual monopoly. Hopefully it will be refurbished and recast, or dropped from Centara branding altogether. It feels a bit like a neglected outpost in the "wild west" of Thailand at present.

Room tip: Would suggest a high floor to escape the pitter-patter of little and big feet, and trundling suitcases, as long as you don't mind waiting for the geriatric lifts.
Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieExpatBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews