We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Everything about this place is outstanding, especially the owners and workers. Everybody bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable. The accommodations are comfortable and aesthetically lovely. The food is great and made to order with our strange requests (vegetarian, diabetic). We left something's behind in our room and Ian went out of his way to drop it off for us at a pick up place. When we checked out, they even gave us gifts. You can't ask for more. This is more like a guest house than a hotel, so if you prefer the sterility of a Four Seasons, this may not be for you. But you'd be missing something great.

Room Tip: Lake side is lovely with beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hi sannettie,
Thank you very much for your great review and we're happy you enjoyed our friendly hotel. Sunsets over the lake are indeed superb at this time of year.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday in Thailand.
Best wishes
Ian, Vassana & Daeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 330 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is not your traditional 5-Star hotel and it does not pretend to be one. The Viang Yonok is a hotel owned by people who want to make you feel as being in a 5-Star place without the artificial cache. It is down to earth and you feel pampered by the owners as if you were part of the extended family. The location does the rest, settled at the shore of a beautiful lake - by the way; go out with a kayak 8:00am and experience the landscape. We stayed at the Viang Yonok for 3 days and truelly enjoyed the hospitality of Vassana and Ian, they know what it takes to be 5-Star hosts.

If you plan to travel to the Golden Triangle to visit the Opium Museum, spare this part and go the Hall of Opium, which is about half a mile up north out of town. A visit to Chiang Saen should also be on your list but Ian will tell you more when you arrive.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Hello Pete04129,
Thank you very much for your review. We're happy you enjoyed our family style of operation and had time to see some of the beautiful countryside around Chiang Rai.
We look forward to seeing you again, back in our little bit of paradise.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I enjoyed everything about this place from the special little touches on your arrival to the flourishing farewells. I received great advice on things to do, Chiang Saen is a beautiful town on the Mekong with amazing ruins dating back to 1100 with great shopping, massage by the river. There were bikes to rent, but I used scooter, beautiful pool, mix of Thai and western food, amazing garden, discreet layout of guest houses, with lovely view over Lake Saen, heaps of corners in the beautiful garden to relax in. Quiet, serene with heaps of bird life. Very reasonable priced. I will be returning!!

Room Tip: Do not miss spending time here in Vanessa and Ians' little corner of paradise. You won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi Molly W,
Thank you very much for your review. It's wonderful to be able to spread a little happiness. You were happy, we're happy. We look forward to seeing you back at Viang Yonok.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Viang Yonok after travelling by Shompoo slow boat from Luang Prababng, pick up at Chiang Kong was right on time and the scenic drive to Viang Yonok took only 1 hour. We stayed in Waterhen Room with it's fine views over the lake. Unfortunately Ian & Vassane were away on holiday so we never met, however Daeng looked after us extremely well, nothing was too much trouble. We ate all our meals in the restaurant and I would not have wished to eat anywhere else, the food was great and reasonably priced, in fact we would be happy with a dinner bed & breakfast option.. We went bird watching with Mick Davies and had a very successful trip; also we had a day trip with guide to see the White Temple and other sites at Chiang Rai. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_and_Chris-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi Ian_and_Chris-L,
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry we didn't get to meet you during your visit, but happy to hear that Daeng and all the staff looked after you well. That you enjoyed the birdwatching and beautiful location is also great. I know that my wife and mother-in-law prepare wonderful food and our guests reviews certainly back that up. The only problem they have really is understanding "small portions"....
If you get a chance to visit north Thailand again, we'd love to see you back at Viang Yonok.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a month traveling trough Asia in Oct./Nov 2012. It was my third trip to Thailand so obviously Im a fan. It was my first time traveling in the North and I highly recommend it.

We came across this little gem of a hotel on TripAdvisor. It is run by a super cool couple. He is a British national, she Thai (Ian and Vassana).

Our original plan was to spend one night as we made our way from Chiang Mai on our way to Laos. Well, one night turned into 6. Im not sure where to begin on how much we loved this place. We showed up tired from a long bus ride and really had no idea what to expect. We pulled up in a tuk tuk from the bus station and were immediately struck by the beauty of this place. It consists of pretty bungalows all with their own decks overlooking a gorgeous lake. The architecture blends in perfectly with the natural surrounds. The whole area is a bird sanctuary of which the owners are actively involved in. The bungalow was modernly equipped with all the usuals for higher end hotels (flat screen, fridge, safe, etc ). The bed was a very comfortable western style mattress (this is important in Asia as many hotels have very hard beds).

The restaurant is run my Vassana's Mom and she is a pretty awesome cook. Breakfast is huge with yummy, strong coffee. For lunch and dinner I strongly recommend allowing the staff to recommend what is fresh and in season. The manager goes to the market everyday and mom cooks whatever is delicious and fresh from the market.

The owners are incredibly kind, generous people. Ian (who also played guitar in a famous british rock band.. but thats another story!) took us on a tour of the countryside and to a local cooperative silk weaving center. Their manager (fluent in English) took us on a tour of the town and local markets. All was done free of charge.

Vassana organized our trip down the Mekong and did all of the paperwork for us.

Im not sure what was the most amazing part about the place, the beauty, the comfort, the hospitality, or the kindness of the hosts. All I know is that this place will go down in my memory as one of the best hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi M B,
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We are happy knowing you enjoyed you stay so much, you extended by 5 days....
If you get a chance to drop in and see us again, we'll show you some more of this lovely part of the world.
All the best to you both
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

In the middle of our holidays we enjoyd a six days stay with Vanessa, Ian and Co. They immediately realised our wished and made them come true.
A lovely region, excellent original Thai food (thank you M'am!), best breakfast in whole Thailand, funny gardener, ensured trips to everywhere, helpful hints for trips, bikes, caoes - we felt very happy and went away with tears in our eyes.
Just check it out and stay several days - best for recovery!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Claudia L,
Tears of happiness I'm glad to hear. Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review and good to hear we made your wishes come true.
Best wishes to you from Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I decided to stay here after reading the reviews on this site and was not disappointed! From the airport pickup by Deng and her son and the offer of a tour on the way to the hotel ( don't miss this if you get the opportunity ) to the drop off at my hotel in Chiang Rai, l was made to feel welcome and more of a friend than a client. The location is peaceful, picturesque and l can recommend kayaking around the lake, or just chilling in the pool or on the verandah - l had one of the lakefront bungalows. Mama's food was the best vegetarian that l've ever had in Thailand - don't miss the fruit pancake for breakfast. Thank you Ian, Jim, Deng, Mama and all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanaw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Hi Lanaw57,
Thank you indeed for taking the time to submit a review. We all need a friend sometimes when travelling solo, so we're happy you enjoyed our relaxed Viang Yonok style of welcome and hospitality. If you happen to be returning to this beautiful corner of Thailand, we'd be happy to show you some more wonderful sights.
Best wishes,
Ian, Jim, Daeng, Mama and everyone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
6.7 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
16.9 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
18.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
8.3 mi away
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
#5 of 9 in Chiang Saen
2 reviews
7.9 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $52 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing