We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2007

My husband and I just returned from the most fabulous 4 night honeymoon at the Four Seasons Tented Camp. If you are vacillating about whether or not to splurge on this super expensive resort, don't hesitate. It is completely and totally worth it!! You sleep under the clearest, star filled sky and wake up to the most incredible sunrises. You hear the beautiful sounds of nature (birds, elephants, river, wind, leaves rustling). This resort lets you experience nature while being pampered in 5 star fashion.

We were totally blown away by the level of detail that went into every aspect of the camp. From the well outfitted, luxurious tents that had leather bound furniture, dark wood and copper details to the delicious meals and cocktails and unique outdoor spa treatments. The staff knows everyone by name and is eager to cater to any request you have.

Since many details have already been covered by previous reviews, I will talk about the hightlights of our stay. Have breakfast at 8-8-30am and get to see elephants (and babies!!) returning from where they sleep in the jungle. If you want some free time to relax by the pool or book an extra excursion or activity such as a cooking class, you should book a 4 night stay. Take advantage of the sundowner snacks and cocktails at the Burma Bar every night. If you are interested in cooking, take a cooking class with the executive chef. He is so passionate and talented and will teach you how to recreate those delicious Thai flavors at home.

Tent #2, #13, #14 have the BEST views. Your preference will depend on if you'd rather be closer to the elephant camp/burma bar OR to the restaurant/pool. For us, #13 was IDEAL because we wanted to be further from the main restaurant area. #15 is the most private but it's right by the elephant camp and doesn't have river views.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank G-L-D-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2007

The Four Seasons Tented Camp is put simply an episode of Fantasy Island come to life. From the moment you step off the plane in Chiang Rai, till you sadly board the outboard skiff to return back down the Mekong from whence you came, I was completely blown away by the sublime caliber of the service and experience. To call this just a 'hotel' or 'resort' is really to miss the point altogether. Unless you are related to Ernest Hemingway or Isak Dinesen, this place is absolutely unlike anything you could ever imagine or experience. The pictures on both the 4 Seasons Website and on this blog (while certainly attractive and were helpful in making my decision to honeymoon here) cannot do the camp justice. It needs to be experienced in person to be fully realized or believed.

Imagine staying in the most authentic, luxurious & hospitable lodge smack in the middle of the jungle. This is what the Tented Camp is like. While the maximum capacity of guests is about 30 (there are 15 tents total and while I have heard they allow families there were thankfully only couples here during my stay) there are almost 150 staff members!!! This is not an exaggeration. You really cannot lift a finger here without someone immediately popping up to help you. Its not in any bit annoying either. Its almost as if the excellent and warm staff has a 6th sense attuned to your every need. Unlike so many other 'high end' resorts I have stayed in around the world, any kind of resentment or attitude toward the guests is utterly absent here. The people employed by the camp take a bona fide interest in hospitality and in making sure you have a wonderful time.

We arrived via a short flight from bangkok and were greeted at the airport right on time by a staff member of the camp. Upon arrival in Chiang Rai, you are instantly whisked into a range rover, graciously given cold lemon grass scented towels and cold water to drink. The drive to the mouth of the mekong where u pick up your skiff is about an hour and very pleasant. Once you get to your boat, your luggage stays in the car (the road up to the camp is purportedly very bumpy and arriving by boat is so much cooler and more fun anyway) and after a very brisk 15 minute trip up the river you arrive at a small dock with a steep stairway leading up to the many sublime pleasures awaiting you over the course of your next 3 days.

As the 'mysteries' of the camp slowly reveal themselves over your short but fulfilling stay, I hesistate to report on every detail. I think its more fun to experience things the way we did--slowly learning your way around the camp and enjoying and experiencing the myriad pleasures as a surprise. Nevertheless as reading the descriptions of others on what they did hear influenced me to give this place a shot, I do want to include some brief details and pictures of what you will find at this resort.

The tents are simply gorgeous and appointed with an incredible and tasteful attention to detail. They will remind you of a ralph lauren safari advertisement.

The food is fantastic, with the choice of a western and thai menu at every meal. Both menus change daily and everything we had was delicious.

I will say the elephant training (this is depicted on the website) was unbelievably memorable and executed with such a high level of intimacy and respect for the natural environoment I was just amazed. Everyone who works here will treat you wonderfully. Some point over your stay you will undoubtedly meet Jason Friedman, the camp manager, who is so charming you will feel as if you are an honored guest in his own home (which you sort of are).

Another really special aspect of the resort is their classy gift shop. I walked in expecting to find sundries, magazines and inexpensive souvenirs but this was not the case. Rather, the shop is stocked with beautiful one of a kind hand crafted homeware made by Lotus Arts De Vivre. Again, we were so blown away by the quality and beauty of what we found in the shop we ended up purchasing an incredible candy dish that I know we will treasure for years and will serve as a meaningful reminder of our wonderful experience at the tented camp.

I really am hardly the sort to get so excited over a resort or hotel and cannot even believe I am taking the time to actually post a review. But there is something so magical about this place and my wife and I were treated so royally I felt compelled to share my experience and rave about the tented camp online.

Is it expensive? Absolutely. At just over 2k/day the tented camp is by far the most expensive resort we have ever stayed at. Nevertheless, it is not overpriced. We beleived this place was worth every penny. Everything is included (with the exception of an optional trip to Burma, which with private guide, transportation, visas, etc. comes out to a reasonable $300 or so) and the elephant experiences alone will be worth the cost of admission for many. My advice is if you want one of the most unique and unforgettable hospitality and eco-tourist experiences of your life, forget about the money and book a 3 night stay at the camp. You will not regret it.

PS i tried to include more photos but for some reason they werent uploaded. i think they were too big. If u need any, please dont hesistate to email me and I will send them to you.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
27  Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Perhaps the most romantic hotel in the world. Your private limo wisks you from the Chiang Rai airport to a private long-tailed boat for a 10 minute trip to tented camp. Tented camp in name, but it's as if Ralph Lauren goes camping. The units are so incredibly furnished and laid out that you never want to leave them. But leave them you must because elephant driving lessons await, or perhaps a private boat trip down the Mekong, or Thai cooking lessons, or a massage in a spa where the rain forest music is, well, live. Food is sublime and available whenever you desire a meal, the staff is gracious beyond belief and the elephants are adorable. I am reluctant to rave about this spot because I want to return and there are only 15 units. If you ever wanted to experience the ultimate in tranquility this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank misdirected_baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

This place is exceedingly expensive, but the Four Seasons pulls it off and make its worthwhile! The tents are amazing - they have both aircon and heating (heating is needed in December) and a wonderful free standing bath where you can relax and take in the views. The experience with the elephants is fantastic - a bit daunting when you first get up close but you soon realise that these gently beasts have done it all before and completely ignore you and your commands! Word of warning - we did a mornings training on commands and an afternoon trek along the river with the elephants, but some guests were only given the opportunity to do one of these two things. Insist on doing both - they are the highlight of your stay, and you will really be missing otherwise. The half day river trip to the Golden Triangle was ok, but could really be improved upon. Jason, the camp host, I found to be too over the top for my tastes - lots of people like him - but for me he was too gushing and didn't quite know when to leave guests on their own! The food was amazing - the best vegetarian Thai food I have eaten. The chef was very flexible and professional and would cook anything that you like if you request in advance. There is a lot of walking between restaurants and tents and bars and the spa - if you are not relatively fit then you may struggle a little. Overall, I'm still dreaming about the place

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We have just finished four nights here, and it is a truly great place which is well worth a visit. Since other reviews cover pretty much everything, I'll discuss how long to come for. The consensus of talking to other guests is this:

2 nights is too short. There are four key 'arranged' events for you - a Mekong River and local towns tour, a free spa treatment (90 mins), elephant training and elephant trekking. These need half a day each, so you literally cannot do it with a 2 night stay - they chop out the elephant trekking and squeeze in the rest.

3 nights is OK if you are happy to have both of your days filled by the resort. The four things above will be scheduled AM / PM for you across both days.

4 nights (what we did) is good if you want some free time. You will be able to spend a morning in bed (activities can start as early as 9am and cannot be moved since you are often paired with another couple) and still have half a day free to do something of your choosing. I have to say that FS is very lax in giving you ideas of what to do locally - there is no information in the tents at all. However, if you turn up and say 'I want to visit the Royal Villa and garden today', a car and driver will magically appear (at, I have to say, the crazy cost of $60 per hour) and whisk you off.

5 nights is too much, I think. A couple there had done this and were a bit lost for the last day.

The resort really is not as remote as you may think, although they don't try to hide this as it is quite clear when you do your river cruise - there is a massive casino just round the corner on the Burmese side! But DO go, it is a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed at Four Seasons Golden Triangle over the New Year, with our children ages 21 and 24. What an absolutely incredible and unusual destination! The hotel is comprised of 15 luxurious tents set into a hillside overlooking the Ruak river which flows into and is about 1 mile West of the Mekong River, where Laos, Thailand and Myanmar all come together to form the Golden Triangle.

Entering and exiting is from a dock where you are taken in a long tail boat to the hotel. Once there, you truly get the sense of being in a secluded jungle setting, but one with the most spectacular accomodations and amenities. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgable and are happy to indulge your every desire. When you arrive, you are given a intinerary with activities including tours around the area and the most incredible 1/2 day training and trek with the hotel's elephants.

You need to be in reasonably decent shape to walk the path and bridge from the tents to either the elephant camp, or the bar and restaurant. The rooms are spead accross what is about 3/4 mile from one end to the other, which only adds to the sense of exclusiveness and privacy at this exotic destination. It is so beautiful and so much fun, that you don't mind walking through the jungle on the path to the public gathering spots.

The tents themselves are the epitome of luxury with wonderful comfort and amenities and great climate control They are well screened (never saw an insect in our room), and incredibly, the wireless internet worked perfectly (as did my blackberry, which I found quite amazing.

All in all, an incredible place, amazing desination in typical Four Seasons style. Recommended with the highest accolades to Four Seasons for creating this special place.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank jcheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I immediately wanted to go here when I saw the photo of one of the tents on the cover of Travel and Leisure magazine. So we booked a 3 night stay, and I can honestly say, that the resort went beyond our expectations. The view from the rooms of the morning mist over the mountains is breathtaking. The elephant mahout training and visits to local temples and markets was absolutely fun. We enjoyed the delicious food, the spa, and the friendly, highly professional staff. It was a happy and relaxing stay. My only criticism would be in the design of the tents themselves. Although they offered privacy, every comfort, and were well appointed, they weren't very Thai feeling. It was more of an Hemingway in Africa look. I wondered if whoever had designed the tents had bothered to research Thai architecture or design traditions. They did put some local crafts in the room, but they were overpowered by the heavy, bulky furniture and fixtures. It would have added a lot to the fantasy if it felt just a little more Thai, but I'd hardly say that this would be a reason not to visit. The overall experience is truly unforgetable, and is absolutely worth it.
Some tips: Tent 2 is closest to the restaurant and pool (the least amount of walking). Tents 6-15 are on the other side of the suspension bridge (more walking, but more privacy). Tent 15 is closest to the bar and the elephants(!).

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank designagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
7.9 mi away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
21.4 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Fortune River View Chiang Khong
0.4 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
6.2 mi away
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle

Address: | on the Ruak River, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $2,161 - $3,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the natural wonders of Northern Thailand, just south of Burma, west of Laos, for an unforgettable experience. On our unique min 2 nights stay excursions, you'll have the adventure of a lifetime trekking elephants through lush jungle and spectacular mountain trails. Unwind in our superb luxury tented accommodations, which feature stunning views and Four Seasons luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Four Seasons Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing