We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Perhaps the most romantic hotel in the world. Your private limo wisks you from the Chiang Rai airport to a private long-tailed boat for a 10 minute trip to tented camp. Tented camp in name, but it's as if Ralph Lauren goes camping. The units are so incredibly furnished and laid out that you never want to leave them. But leave them you must because elephant driving lessons await, or perhaps a private boat trip down the Mekong, or Thai cooking lessons, or a massage in a spa where the rain forest music is, well, live. Food is sublime and available whenever you desire a meal, the staff is gracious beyond belief and the elephants are adorable. I am reluctant to rave about this spot because I want to return and there are only 15 units. If you ever wanted to experience the ultimate in tranquility this is the place.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — its a long walk from some units to either the bar, or restaurant, one needs to be in good shape.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank misdirected_baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
246
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

This place is exceedingly expensive, but the Four Seasons pulls it off and make its worthwhile! The tents are amazing - they have both aircon and heating (heating is needed in December) and a wonderful free standing bath where you can relax and take in the views. The experience with the elephants is fantastic - a bit daunting when you first get up close but you soon realise that these gently beasts have done it all before and completely ignore you and your commands! Word of warning - we did a mornings training on commands and an afternoon trek along the river with the elephants, but some guests were only given the opportunity to do one of these two things. Insist on doing both - they are the highlight of your stay, and you will really be missing otherwise. The half day river trip to the Golden Triangle was ok, but could really be improved upon. Jason, the camp host, I found to be too over the top for my tastes - lots of people like him - but for me he was too gushing and didn't quite know when to leave guests on their own! The food was amazing - the best vegetarian Thai food I have eaten. The chef was very flexible and professional and would cook anything that you like if you request in advance. There is a lot of walking between restaurants and tents and bars and the spa - if you are not relatively fit then you may struggle a little. Overall, I'm still dreaming about the place

  • Liked — They may be called tents, but they're like a 5 star 'out of Asia' experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We have just finished four nights here, and it is a truly great place which is well worth a visit. Since other reviews cover pretty much everything, I'll discuss how long to come for. The consensus of talking to other guests is this:

2 nights is too short. There are four key 'arranged' events for you - a Mekong River and local towns tour, a free spa treatment (90 mins), elephant training and elephant trekking. These need half a day each, so you literally cannot do it with a 2 night stay - they chop out the elephant trekking and squeeze in the rest.

3 nights is OK if you are happy to have both of your days filled by the resort. The four things above will be scheduled AM / PM for you across both days.

4 nights (what we did) is good if you want some free time. You will be able to spend a morning in bed (activities can start as early as 9am and cannot be moved since you are often paired with another couple) and still have half a day free to do something of your choosing. I have to say that FS is very lax in giving you ideas of what to do locally - there is no information in the tents at all. However, if you turn up and say 'I want to visit the Royal Villa and garden today', a car and driver will magically appear (at, I have to say, the crazy cost of $60 per hour) and whisk you off.

5 nights is too much, I think. A couple there had done this and were a bit lost for the last day.

The resort really is not as remote as you may think, although they don't try to hide this as it is quite clear when you do your river cruise - there is a massive casino just round the corner on the Burmese side! But DO go, it is a great experience.

  • Liked — The quality of everything is of the highest level
  • Disliked — The toiletries are too thick to pour easily - but thats all!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed at Four Seasons Golden Triangle over the New Year, with our children ages 21 and 24. What an absolutely incredible and unusual destination! The hotel is comprised of 15 luxurious tents set into a hillside overlooking the Ruak river which flows into and is about 1 mile West of the Mekong River, where Laos, Thailand and Myanmar all come together to form the Golden Triangle.

Entering and exiting is from a dock where you are taken in a long tail boat to the hotel. Once there, you truly get the sense of being in a secluded jungle setting, but one with the most spectacular accomodations and amenities. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgable and are happy to indulge your every desire. When you arrive, you are given a intinerary with activities including tours around the area and the most incredible 1/2 day training and trek with the hotel's elephants.

You need to be in reasonably decent shape to walk the path and bridge from the tents to either the elephant camp, or the bar and restaurant. The rooms are spead accross what is about 3/4 mile from one end to the other, which only adds to the sense of exclusiveness and privacy at this exotic destination. It is so beautiful and so much fun, that you don't mind walking through the jungle on the path to the public gathering spots.

The tents themselves are the epitome of luxury with wonderful comfort and amenities and great climate control They are well screened (never saw an insect in our room), and incredibly, the wireless internet worked perfectly (as did my blackberry, which I found quite amazing.

All in all, an incredible place, amazing desination in typical Four Seasons style. Recommended with the highest accolades to Four Seasons for creating this special place.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank jcheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I immediately wanted to go here when I saw the photo of one of the tents on the cover of Travel and Leisure magazine. So we booked a 3 night stay, and I can honestly say, that the resort went beyond our expectations. The view from the rooms of the morning mist over the mountains is breathtaking. The elephant mahout training and visits to local temples and markets was absolutely fun. We enjoyed the delicious food, the spa, and the friendly, highly professional staff. It was a happy and relaxing stay. My only criticism would be in the design of the tents themselves. Although they offered privacy, every comfort, and were well appointed, they weren't very Thai feeling. It was more of an Hemingway in Africa look. I wondered if whoever had designed the tents had bothered to research Thai architecture or design traditions. They did put some local crafts in the room, but they were overpowered by the heavy, bulky furniture and fixtures. It would have added a lot to the fantasy if it felt just a little more Thai, but I'd hardly say that this would be a reason not to visit. The overall experience is truly unforgetable, and is absolutely worth it.
Some tips: Tent 2 is closest to the restaurant and pool (the least amount of walking). Tents 6-15 are on the other side of the suspension bridge (more walking, but more privacy). Tent 15 is closest to the bar and the elephants(!).

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank designagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

The Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle is an experience I would recommend to anyone and everyone! Truly, its only drawback is the price...over the top expensive for Thailand. That said, we do not regret spending a one of the many pennies we dropped there! From pick-up at the airport with cold water and lemongrass-infused towels to the amazing day with the elephants, we enjoyed every single moment we were at the camp. We were there in early November and the weather was warm but dry. The tents were every bit as wonderful as they look on the Four Season's website, with the outdoor shower and brand new Four Seasons bed being highlights. We stayed in tent 14, the Burmese Tent...14 out of 15. Although our walk to meals and to the boats was long (about 15 minutes at a good clip) we were rewarded with a 60 second walk to the bar and just a few minutes more to the elephant camp. We would not have had it any other way. The staff was extremely attuned to our needs, extending our time with the elephants after hearing me go on and on about them at dinner on the first night...we didn't ask, they just did it. The service here is second to none, far beyond what we have come to expect from the Four Seasons. After leaving the camp, we stayed at the Four Seasons Chiang Mai and, although FSCM was beautiful, it pales in comparison to the tented camp. If you plan to stay at both, do yourself a favor and stay in Chiang Mai first and then make the trip (about 5 to 6 hours by car) to the tented camp. You'll be glad you did! I can't say enough about the tented camp and look forward to going back to see Jason, the camp manager, and his wonderful staff again!

  • Liked — Amazing staff, amazing location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank emjvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena, CA.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Where do you start. How about Wow!!!!!!!! What an experience .I can not put in to words how great a place it is. When we left my wife and I both had tears in our eyes. We are booked for next year for 5 nights.
O.K. here is my review. We were met at the Airport and after an hour and fifteen minute drive we pulled up to a boat dock and we were boated to the Camp. The ride was a lot of fun. The Tents are very nice, great views and a fully stocked complementary mini bar. Wakening up in the morning and drinking coffee on the deck is a wonderful experience. The wireless internet worked great. I really enjoyed the outdoor shower. As this is a tent it is a good idea to keep the shower running when using the Bathroom as it is very quite in the tent. The Burma bar is a lot of fun at sunset. We got to meet some other guests and share stories. Dinner is amazing and the service and food is as good as it gets. The Chef came from Four Seasons Chaing Mai. He will cook anything you want and likes to do special meals.
The Bridge is not a big deal. My wife and I are scared of heights and were very nervous about the bridge. It was not a walk in the park but by the second day we were both using it. There are steps down and up if it bothers you. At night they have a porter walking with you with a lamp as there are a lot of stairs on the path to your tent.
The Elephants, it is a life experience .They are very gentle. Wee,the head guy teaches you in the morning how to ride them. It looks daunting but by the end of the morning you are riding these gentle giants. After lunch you ride them in to the jungle Wow!!! This is very safe and there are people with you the whole time if you need help. We ended up adopting an Elephant and they are looking to do a rescue soon. More on that at http://--------/
The excursions are very well thought out and a lot of fun Our guide was very good. We learnt a lot. I do not want to give anything away as it will spoil your fun.
We meet and spent time with Jason and Gido the Camp management. They are two of the nicest people. Very knowledgeable and a lot of fun .Thanks to both of you and your staff for an experience we will never forget. See you next year.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can do some inner thigh exercise before you arrive ,it will help with the Elephant ride
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank perryb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
21.4 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
0.4 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
#1 of 17 in Chiang Saen
141 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle

Property: Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Address: | on the Ruak River, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the natural wonders of Northern Thailand, just south of Burma, west of Laos, for an unforgettable experience. On our unique min 2 nights stay excursions, you'll have the adventure of a lifetime trekking elephants through lush jungle and spectacular mountain trails. Unwind in our superb luxury tented accommodations, which feature stunning views and Four Seasons luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Four Seasons Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing