We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, beautiful surroundings & excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My family and I along with another family recently stayed at this incredible property. After a short flight from Bangkok we were greeted by our hospitable and friendly driver who drove us (45 min) in an comfortable van fully stocked with beverages, cold towels, cookies and even wifi to our first stop Chiang Saen. We had opted for the VIP arrival to the hotel and we were delighted with the experience. From Chiang Saen we were taken by long tail boat up the river to the hotel pier. After disembarking at the pier we were offered a refreshing coconut milk drink and then boarded our elephants for the walk to the hotel. Upon arrival we were taken to the lobby lounge where we were offered lemongrass tea and a neck and shoulder massage!! What a great way to begin our stay. The service throughout our stay was attentive, warm and friendly. On the 2nd day of our stay we did the Mahout experience which I HIGHLY recommend for anyone staying at the hotel. We had young children with us (8 and 10 years old) who were also able to participate in this experience and loved it! It was truly the highlight of the trip - learning more about the elephants, the camp and their programs as well as riding the elephants like a mahout directly on their necks. In the afternoons we spent time relaxing and enjoying the peacefulness around the pool. During our time around the pool we were offered complimentary hand/arm massages, thai ice cream, fruit and cold towels. We truly felt pampered! The sincerity and genuine attention to service is evident in all the staff and is an indication of how passionate everyone from the GM to the Concierge to Front office and food and beverage care about their guests. We cannot wait to visit this property again in the future and if you want to have a once in a lifetime experience then this is the hotel and destination for you!

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite with a connecting room next door for our children (we have 4 kids) and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantara_Management, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear SiamFamily,

Thank you for your review of your recent trip to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort. We are pleased that you and your family had such a positive experience with us.
Our associates always aim to ensure your trip is as pleasant as possible and it is good to know this was the case when you visited - I have passed on your kind comments to them.
We thank you for your recommendation to take part in our Mahout Experience, which is one of the many opportunities we provide to give you a truly memorable time with us at the resort.
We hope to welcome you and your family here again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 964 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, overlooking the Thai, Burmese and Laos jungle! From the (amazing) pool you can see elephants roaming around and mountains in the background.

The cooking class is unlike any other, and the elephant training is a unique and exciting experience. The spa (poo-loey) was great as well.

Verrry recommended!!!

Room 205 is beautiful

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantara_Management, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Juan Pablo E,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and all the activities you took part in with us, especially out Signature Elephant Experience and spa treatment. Our three-country views make a stay at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort a unique experience for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Well we have just moved on from a 2 night stop at the Anatara Golden Triangle. The experience was fantastic and the place is defiantly worth a visit.

From our welcoming arrival to checking out we were treated exceptionally and staff remembered out names throughout out stay, some staff speak a lot better English than others but this was not a problem.

We were upgraded on arrival and given a suite WOW! It was stunning, beautifully decorated and although we did not see the other rooms, the balcony was twice the size. It had a huge stunning open bathroom, huge dressing area and gorgeous lounge.

We could not fault the room, the only comments I would make is that the room service did our turndown whilst we were out swimming in the evening and we would of preferred this to be whilst we were at dinner.

The swimming pool is great with breath taking views, you can lie in the shallow end of the Infiniti pool overlooking the greenery below and watching the elephants moving about- it really was amazing.

(Take Binoculars if you have them, we wish we had some ) Perhaps this is something the hotel could loan?

We took the day trip to Burma and Laos Island- I would defiantly reccomend this trip with the long tail boat ride at the end of the day back to the resort. Our guide was great and we learnt a lot.

The food was superb, every dish was stunning, we felt we didn't want to eat in the Italian as we wanted to embrace Thai food as much as possible and enjoy the hotels specialities. However on the last day at lunch we had some pasta and salads and the pasta was better than we had in Europe!
My only grumble was because we hadn't sat in the bar area until this point we didn't realise all the other free drinks included in the package. There is a huge list of drinks in the bar area but no where else in the hotel.
We had just been drinking beer, soft drinks and local wine and yet there is so much more available too.

Perhaps you could include menus in the rooms for people to look at so they are aware.

Saving the best till last- our elephant morning was the best experience me and my partner had! Everyone must do the Signature elephant experience! We had a ball lots of laughter and WATER!!!! I won't say anymore! You need to discover some things first hand! You will not regret this trip- worth every penny! We miss this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallerworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantara_Management, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Wallerworldtour,

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our swimming pool, which, with it’s panoramic three-country view, is one of the top 10 infinity pools in the world. We are also glad you appreciated the suite you were given.

The hotel does provide binoculars free for guest use - we are sorry that this was not made clear to you during your stay. They are available from the Sala Mae Naan restaurant or by asking any associate.

Our Signature Elephant Experience is a guest favourite. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit in the future, when you can enjoy the full range of experiences we have to offer.

Kind regards,

Your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am not a gushy reviewer. If anything, I am perhaps overly critical but when you travel as much as I do, it seems to become easier to find fault when hotels get it wrong even slightly.

But at Anantara everything was just perfect. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

We were met at Chiang Rai airport by their driver (appropriately named 'Van') and driven to the resort which is about 45 minutes away. The vehicle had WiFi which pleased my wife & kids! Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, escorted to reception while our bags were taken care of and quickly checked in. The rooms were very pretty - a sliding partition separated the bathroom from the main living area so it was possible (if you so desired) to sit in the large round bathtub & watch TV or see the view out of the balcony. The minibar was included in the room rate. The views reached to the Mekhong River, with Laos & Myanmar on the other bank. There was plenty of storage space in a sort of walk-in wardrobe area that included a dressing table & mirror.

The main restaurant opened out onto a verandah with lovely views across the fields, with water buffalo & an occasional elephant wandering about. Breakfast was a typical buffet including Asian and European foods all of which were very good quality. The evening meal was a choice of Thai food in this main restaurant, or Italian in a smaller air-conditioned space. Both were very good. Our all-inclusive rate covered lunch, too which was either by the pool or on the verandah and had a decent array of Asian & Western choices.

The ambience was very pleasant - the staff were universally friendly and many addressed us by our names and asked how we were enjoying our stay. The pool area in particular is a stand-out: not just the infinity pool, looking out across the plains, but the little details. The spa offers treatments by the pool too, which my wife took advantage of.

Obviously one of the main reasons for choosing this resort was the elephants.... and we were not disappointed. For each night of the stay we were offered one complimentary activity from a 'menu', and I think we managed to try most of them. Elephant Learning Experience started with a short talk about elephants (which was interesting) then some up-close-and-personal time with two elephants - our 14 year old loved hosing them down. Mahout training taught us how to ride the elephants and command them a little bit - then we took them for a walk that ended up in a watering hole for bath time. Great fun! The sunset trek offered a seat on the back which was a little more comfortable than riding on the elephant's neck, and the views from the peak were lovely at sunset. There were also some non-elephant activities such as Thai cookery lessons which were instructive and fun, and a "3 country" tour that took us across the border into Myanmar & Laos for the day.

Everything we did was well-organised and well-executed. The elephant camp was great, the mahouts all seemed happy, the elephants were playful and well-treated, it really was just very idyllic.

Go. Now!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantara_Management, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Rus N,

Thank you for taking this opportunity to review your visit to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort. We appreciate your comments and are especially pleased that you had a positive experience on your visit.

We take great pride in ensuring the options in our restaurant are of a good quality and appeal to many tastes, so we are delighted that you found the food to be enjoyable.

Our elephant experiences are highlights for many visitors and are part of what makes our resort unique.

We hope you find the opportunity to visit us again to enjoy the ambience of our beautiful views and the friendly atmosphere created by our associates, as well as the activities you did not have a chance to undertake on this trip.

Kind regards,

Your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better, more relaxing holiday. One filled with lots of different and unique experiences. We started off with a long boat ride along the Mekong River. Was greated by two very friendly staff with a fresh coconut drink each before taking the elephant ride to the Resort. Set in the jungle with all its wonderful noises. Our room was superb, roomy with very comfy beds and a view over Burma. We took a Thai Cooking class which is well worth the money. The cook Wit was hilarious and made us feel extremely special and welcomed through the whole class. Im off home to trial my new Thai dishes on my family. I highly recommend the Mahout Training session. This is where you learn to ride an elephant yourself, give it commands and also learn to get on and off it in about 4 different ways. We had a ball. While the Mahouts were very acommodating and polite, they must have had some good laughs afterwards. The sights we saw in our photos afterwards had us in stitches. We didnt do the elephant swim session in the afternoon, but the other guests who did were buzzing about it when they returned. While very expensive at about 50US dollars a cup, give the elephant poo coffee a try. We shared one cup between the 2 of us and that was enough. It is not too bad a taste but how they make it is the intersting bit. The manager and staff are very friendly and oh so accommodating. It is definitely a trip of a life time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anantara_Management, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Valerie M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our unique VIP Regal Arrival, as well as a variety of the many other experiences we provide guests here at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort.

We are glad you had a positive experience of our Thai cooking class and have passed on your comments to our chef, Wit.

The three-country view from our comfortable rooms provides guests with a fantastic panoramic view of our beautiful surroundings, and we are happy that you enjoyed them as much as we do.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again to enjoy the wide variety of experiences that we provide.

Kind regards,

Your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Two factors make this a special place. There is care for the elephants as well as the mahouts and their families. People and animals are both valued and have a chance to live and work together in surroundings compatible with their way of living. No elephants here with red tail lights attached. Rather, they are given regular time to roam in natural surrounding and limited use as "tourist vehicles". Their health is monitored and they are well taken care of. This facility is more a home to the elephant and a preservation of the national symbol rather than exploitation of man and beast.
Families are kept together rather than in separate accommodations. All in all, it is worth a visit.
Should you care to go for a ride, you will tour the area near the resort. The more adventurous may opt for riding on the elephant's neck rather than in the howdah provided on its back.

1  Thank Khunpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Khunpa,

thank you very much for your positive Feedback about your recent stay at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp and Resort especially in regards to our awarded Elephant Camp with their Mahouts and Families.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Hideaway for some more exciting adventures combined with a luxury Resort experience.

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I went to Chiang Rai earlier at the beginning of February for a mini honeymoon, stayed in Chiang Rai for three nights and spent another two nights at Golden Triangle. We stayed at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort for the two nights in Golden Triangle.

As the place is quite pricey, we had some second thoughts about going there, but they managed to beat all our expectations. The experience, the service, and the memory are well worth every penny spent there.

I booked with them by directly sending them an email. The response is very prompt and helpful, and the price they quoted is the same with what I could found on the internet.

The package they offered is an all-inclusive package, all foods, drinks, alcohol (except some "premier" wines and spirits) is all included in the room price. They also offer a wide variety of activities from which guests are entitled to participate (one activity per night stayed).

The resort itself is located on a hill near the tip of the Golden Triangle. Almost all the rooms have views of all three countries from the balcony. The hotel overlooks a piece of low land in which we could see elephants, water buffaloes, and other animals roam about freely. Then there is a small river that serves as the boundary between Thailand and Burma. You can see an orange-roofed complex in the Burmese land, which is a casino, and then the mountain ranges in the back drop belong to Laos.

We booked the deluxe three country view room, but the hotel graciously upgraded us to a three country view suite, which is double the size of the deluxe rooms. The room was very well furnished with elephants being the main theme. The room is very spacious, with a walk-in closet, big bathroom with dual sink, and an ample-sized balcony.

The food served there is amongst the best Thai and Italian food I've ever had, this is quite an achievement considering the remoteness of the resort. The highlight of the resort is obviously the elephant camp – you get to interact with the elephants and unlike other “commercial” elephant camps in Thailand, you can see that they are really taking good care of the elephants there. Every morning a 5-year old baby elephant “Um” will visit the breakfast terrace. The guests can interact and feed Um when he is around, and all of the guests are having a great time.

Upon check in the staff there reviewed the itinerary for our stay with us, we had to skip the mahout experience because my wife is pregnant and they advised against it for safety reason. Instead, we opted for the cooking class and the three-country excursion. As the cooking class on our preferred date is fully booked, they arranged for a private session in the evening. Our instructor Wit is very friendly and informative and is always available for a little chat whenever we see him in the property. Unfortunately we did not get to visit the market for the evening session, but the fact that you got the whole classroom all to yourselves more than makes up for that. Khun Tuk also offered to make adjustments to our three-country excursion as well soon as she learned that my wife is pregnant. She advised against riding the long-tail boat to Laos as the ride is very bumpy and can potentially be dangerous. As a result, we get to do the excursion privately, with just the two of us and the guide in a Mercedes car instead of the van used by other groups. Again, although we did not get to go to Laos (effectively making the excursion two-country only), but the fact that we get to do it privately with the freedom to go wherever we like as we go along more than makes up for that.

All in all, if you want an unforgettable experience and you are in northern Thailand, definitely put this place in your itinerary! It is pricey, but you get more than what you paid for!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skydownkuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
21.3 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
7.5 mi away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#26 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
22.4 mi away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $972 - $1,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing