We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a very special and memorable experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

From the moment they picked us up from the airport, to the day we left, we were treated so well by the warm and friendly staff. It was all about the little details – the things I never even thought about or anticipated, like the refreshments, magazines, and iPad provided during the ride to the resort, the lemongrass tea and mini massage during registration and check-in. While Tuk was reviewing our itinerary with us, I mentioned that I was a bit disappointed that our scheduled morning Mahout Experience did not include the river bath. Apparently, the elephants bathe in the afternoons. She immediately offered to call the camp and find out if we can change our schedule to that afternoon so that I could participate in the river bath. I can’t even begin to describe how fantastic the Mahout Experience was. This was the part of our Thailand trip to which I looked forward the most and it was every bit as exhilarating and special as I imagined it would be. What made it even better for me was Anantara’s philosophy on rescuing elephants and caring for their mahouts and their families. To be that close the elephants was so amazing – so huge, but yet so gentle. I got Poonlap (don’t know if I have the correct spelling), and she took good care of me, except that she didn’t warn me that she liked to dunk her head in the water and caught me off guard. It made for a nice little swim in the Ruak River and her mahout got me right back on with no problem. Now I have a great story to tell!
I couldn’t wait for breakfast each day, and the chance to play with Om, the resident baby elephant who greeted us each morning by the breakfast buffet.
Our three-country suite was HUGE and at the top of the hill. It’s too bad we weren’t in it very much because it was definitely a great space in which to relax and soak in the luxury. Loved the peace and quiet.
The food was excellent. Breakfast buffet was my favorite. You really can’t go wrong with anything on the Thai menu. We skipped the Italian option because the second reason we chose Thailand for holiday was the Thai food!
Our second excursion was the Golden Triangle tour. Toy our guide, was friendly and knowledgeable and navigated us through the border crossing. The program was very well planned. As I mentioned earlier, Anantara is all about the details and this experience was no different. In fact, while we were on this outing, Tuk from the hotel desk called Toy to make sure she took us to the Mae Sai bus station to help us get our tickets on the VIP bus to Chiang Mai.
On our final morning, we said good bye to Om and the other elephants, we went to the Hall of Opium across the street courtesy of Anantara, then Tuk booked our car to the White Temple on the way to the Chiang Mai bus station.
I was very sad to leave this magical place and it will forever hold a special place in my heart and my memory. While the facilities were top notch, it was the staff and the elephants that made it a five-star experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear JojoRockville,

thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review with other travelers about your most recent visit at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort.

We are glad to hear that you had a memorable and very unique stay with us and especially enjoyed the Resort activities included in the Discovery Package and as well our very personalized Thai hospitality.

Thank you also for your compliments on the Elephant Mahout training which I already shared with the entire Elephant Camp Team!

Please come and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 984 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful resort! As we were checking in a baby elephant had come into the lobby to say hello and get fed. Too cute.
The hotel is gorgeous in a rustic way. Our room was small but well appointed. Not a lot of privacy for the bathroom though. Our friends upgraded to the suite and it was spectacular. All of our rooms had a 3 country view. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
The real highlight was our elephant walk/bath. Words cannot accurately describe what a truly wonderful experience that was! Sitting by the pool looking out over the valley with the elephants was pure bliss. They are magnificent!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Tracy K,

thank you very much for sharing your Feedback with other travelers about your recent stay at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you especially enjoyed the time with our wonderful Elephants and the bath in the river!

Thank you also to highlight our signature culinary experiences like the breakfast buffet and the wonderful view from our recently awarded infinity swimming pool.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to our Golden Triangle Hideaway!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a beautiful and luxurious resort. We had a blissful stay here. The entrance is beautifully set out with a long lily pond. The views are stunning as the resort is high over the Mekong. Our room was beautifully furnished, with a large balcony and gorgeous views. There are two excellent restaurants - Italian and Thai. There are lots of activities, the best of which involve interaction with the rescued elephants in the resort. We also had a great cookery lesson whilst here.

At night, the resort is lit by candles and flares along the paths and looks even more enchanting. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming and helpful staff. We had a problem with getting the right memory card for our camera and the staff went out of their way to make sure we got the right one, taking us to four different shops in the town. We felt totally relaxed during our stay,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryszarda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Ryszarda P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable Feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a memorabel and very relaxing stay with us and especially enjoyed the resort activities included in your Discovery Package as well your room facilities your dining in our two signature restaurants.

Thank you also for your compliments on the service of the Resort which I already shared with pride with my Team, especially in going out of their way to provide with your special request.

With Kind Regards and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the magical Golden Triangle and home of the Elelphants!

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is amazing. Beeing a frequent traveller both for work and leisure I have had an amazing time there.
Service is second to none. We had some problems in the toilet, called reception, I kid you not, 2 minutes after, it was fixed.
The place is absolutely breathtaking. In the morning, the mist still covers the valley and you are above this scene, watching the mist slowly dissipate while the sun rises on your right.
Then, its time for breakfast where you will have the chance to meet your first elephant! A baby one that is, but baby is already big. Then you can choose activities. Going with the elephants is one of the most amazing (and I have to say, initially scary) experiences I have done with my kids. My youngest one is 10 and got to ride a baby elephant. After a long ride, they head to the river and bathe... With you on their backs... Its a lot of fun and don't worry, the Mahouts (the elephant guardians) are with you all the time. Great fun.
Swimming pool is beautiful and the entire hotel is very well done.
Food is excellent, service is amazing and everyone will do their utmost to make sure you have a good time.
As I mentioned, if you are going to Chiang Rai, don't try and save those few pennies by going somewhere else, you know what people say, you get what you pay for. Just go for Anantara you will pay but you will get a lot in return, I (and my family) are looking forward to being able to go there one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Zion51,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great review and recommendations about your recent stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable vacation with your Family and that your children had a great time with the elephants even taking a bath with them which I am sure they will remember for a long time.

Thank you as well for your compliments on our exclusive cuisine which I already shared with our Executive Chef and his Team!

We hope deeply to welcome you and your Family back soon to enjoy some more exciting and relaxing dates at our magical resort in the Golden Triangle.

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I spent 3 nights here with my girl friend and Anantara provided me a great holiday.
The rooms are spacious and well furnished.
The hotel gardens are well maintained. The food and beverage quality is of a high standard.
One of the good things is the elephant experience is great! as well as The staff! they was so friendly and helpful at every turn.

Room Tip: weather in January is cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Johnnie m,

thank you very much for sharing your wonderful Feedback with other readers about your recent stay at the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Thai hospitality as well the unique activities and restaurants outlets.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to our Golden Triangle Hideaway!

Kind Regards

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 country view suite which was large and very well maintained with views over the plains with elephants in sight. In this area there really are two choices The Four Seasons or Anantara. Both resorts have the same owner and share the same elephants from what I understand. The elephants are all rescues and their well being as well as the the well being of their mahout (and his family) are top priority. Both resorts are expensive but the Four Seasons was about double the price of Anantara when we were booking our trip. While we were going to be staying in some uber luxury properties as we travelled around Thailand and Cambodia for us this destination is really about doing as much with the elephants as possible so we opted for Anantara.

The elephant experiences were amazing. We had the VIP Regal arrival where you arrive by boat and ride an elephant to the resort, very cool. We did the Mahout training, riding our elephant while it did different moves and then taking the elephant to the lagoon and having it bath while we rode on its back (truly amazing). We also did the Elephant Learning Experience which was more educational about the work they do here to rescue elephants from undesirable situations, also observing a vet check and then helping bath the elephant (no riding though). Our last activity was the cooking class which was also excellent.

We also did the Dining by Design baby elephant camp dinner which was amazing. Private dinner with butler and chef at elephant camp. Very unique.

We have stayed at many Four Seasons around the world and while Anantara doesn't really compare we loved our stay here. The staff were all amazing and couldn't do enough for you. The food at the Italian restaurant was excellent also.

If money is no object then stay at the Four Seasons Golden Triangle, it is just a few hundred metres away (although we never got a sight of it) but if Four Seasons rates give you "sticker shock" then stay at Anantara, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms have a similar view. Suites are double the size on regular rooms and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear ryzee,

thank you again for choosing our Hideaway and for taking the time to write this wonderful and so descriptive review of our property.

We are delighted that you had a memorable time with us. I have shared your Feedback with our team and thank them for making your stay so special.

Thank you also to highlight our signature experiences like the unique VIP Regal arrival and also our magical Dining by Design with your own chef, service and the elephants!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Sanctuary in the future.

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Crazy expensive. But worth every single penny. For me one of the closest places to heaven on earth. High spots? The people, the food, the views...oh and those elephants!
Stop thinking about it. Just do it :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BathtimeBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Christian_Zunk, General Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear BathtimeBabe,

thank you very much for your kind Feedback and encouraging message about your recent stay at our Elephant Sanctuary! We are delighted that you had a "heavenly" experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp and Resort!

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
7.5 mi away
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
21.3 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#25 of 108 in Chiang Rai
40 reviews
22.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Khong Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $964 - $1,647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing